Customer Reviews for

The Lion & the Mouse

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful

Jerry Pinkney is one of the most cherished children's book illustrators of all time. Having received four NY Times Best Illustrator Awards, nominated for the Hans Christian Andersen Award, he is a five-time recipient of the Caldecott Honor and the Coretta Scott King Awa...
Jerry Pinkney is one of the most cherished children's book illustrators of all time. Having received four NY Times Best Illustrator Awards, nominated for the Hans Christian Andersen Award, he is a five-time recipient of the Caldecott Honor and the Coretta Scott King Award. He resides in New York with his wife.
In this wordless adaptation of a classic Aesop fable, The Lion & The Mouse shows this unlikely pair of friends and how no good deed of kindness is ever wasted.
We all know the tale of The Lion & The Mouse, but seeing this story told through illustration only, with no text, puts a unique and creative spin on an old classic. It allows children to tell their own version and engages conversation. As always, Jerry Pinkney delivers a stunning and beautifully illustrated story. Highly recommended!

Kelly Moran,
Author and Reviewer

posted by AuthorKellyMoran on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing artwork

Although the art is truly amazing, for first time readers it is difficult to determine how the story should be. At times it is difficult to see the mouse, making it difficult to keep the story going. I have five children, only one appreciated the art as much as I did, t...
Although the art is truly amazing, for first time readers it is difficult to determine how the story should be. At times it is difficult to see the mouse, making it difficult to keep the story going. I have five children, only one appreciated the art as much as I did, the others would have liked to enjoy the actual story.

posted by 5_ltlbrats on March 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wordless but breathtaking

    Jerry Pinkney is one of my favorite illustrators, and this book is one of his finest, in my opinion. The watercolors bring this Aesop's tale to life without a single word of print! Wordless books are made to be shared and discussed, so I bought this to add to my collection of other wordless books, which I use in my 2cd grade classroom. Without words, literature is not dependent on the adjectives and descriptions found in the text, but can be as complex as the vocabulary of the "reader".Finally, the message of this fable has many levels and meaning depending on personal experience. For me, I grew up with the traditional message: you don't have to be strong and powerful to make a difference in someone's life. How many words of virtue can you find in this book? Courage, humility, forgiveness, mercy, sympathy, gratitude...
    Here are some other wordless books for children:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT'S SO GREAT ABOUT WORD-LESS BOOKS?

    The great thing about wordless picture books like The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney and Good Dog Carl by Alexandra Day is that they engage the imagination in ways that books with text cannot. The reader is challenged to tell the story in his own words using the author's illustrations as inspiration. There's nothing to "read" so you must "tell" instead and that makes for a very different storytime experience for both the teller and the listener.

    Another great thing? You don't have to be old enough to read to enjoy the book. Try this - - after you've told the story to your child, hand over the book and have her "tell" it back to you. You'll be surprised at the whimsical interpretations she'll come up with. Perhaps the mouse is a wizard and the lion is a princess under a spell?

    Try this - - tell the story backwards. There's no set narrative, so why not? Start with the final picture and start the story there. Then page by page go backwards to the first picture, making up a story as you go along. Then have your child give it a try.

    Who needs printed words!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spend time with your little one creating your own fable

    This is one of the best illustrated picture books to come out in a long time!
    It is the retelling of the Aesop fable about the lion who spares a mouse only to find himself needing the mouse's help later on when he is caught in a net. Jerry Pinkney's illustrations allow the reader to create his own version of the fable - there are very few words. This book was a big hit at storytime and gave my young audience a chance to help me tell the story.
    A wonderful story of friendship and trust to be enjoyed by the child in all of us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Gift

    We bought this for our grandkids for Valentine's Day. They love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Beautiful book!

    I normally don't enjoy wordless books, but this is wonderful. Beautiful illustrations and a simple story we all know about love and caring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Beautifully illustrated

    Book relies completely on illustration as no text is printed. A parent or child would need to know the story to be able to tell it while viewing the illustrations. But the illustrations are evident enough that the reader can understand all but maybe Aesop's moral -- would depend on the age of the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You never know when you will need a Friend

    This beautifully illustrated book by Jerry Pinkney is an excellent choice of a story to share with preschoolers. There are very few words so the adult must know Aesop's fable "The Lion and the Mouse." The few words are very well chosen and the young listener will participate because the words are onomatopoetic, they say themselves. For example "whooo, screeech, grrrr, squeek, scratch and roarrrr are fun to say and the pictures give many clues The young "reader" will be able to repeat the story and add to it just by looking at the illustrations.

    The book earned the Caldecott Medal which says a lot about its quality.
    Also the lesson learned about the little mouse helping the big lion is a good lesson for all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Great art

    I love this book. The artwork is just so beautiful. I bought it on-line and did not, apparently, read the other reviews etc. so I did not know that there are no words, just pictures. The Lion and the mouse is a great story but, unless you've heard it before, you would not get it by looking at the pictures alone as in the book. I have since bought a simple word version of the story. My kids are two and a half. I think I will wait until they are four or more to share this and the word version books with them. I think it would make a great inspirational gift book for anyone old enough to already know the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1