Customer Reviews for

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(792)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

This book is AWSOME

This book is a great book full of imagination. Although the first chapter is a little boring, once you read the second chapter you won't be able to put it down. This book was written by an author (C.S. Lewis) from England, so there will be a few unfamiliar words if your...
This book is a great book full of imagination. Although the first chapter is a little boring, once you read the second chapter you won't be able to put it down. This book was written by an author (C.S. Lewis) from England, so there will be a few unfamiliar words if your not from that area. This book is #2 of the series, but if you go by the order that they were written this book would be the first. There is a total of seven books in the series. These books are The Magician's Nephew, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, The Horse and His Boy, Prince Caspian, The Voyage of The Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair, and The Last Battle. That was my review of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.

posted by JimJam11 on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Fraudulent Advertising

I LOVE Chronicles of Narnia and I was THRILLED to find a version allegedly featuring color illustrations. This Nookbook does not feature color illustrations despite this claim in the synopsis: "Includes 19 new full-color plates by Pauline Baynes, the original illustra...
I LOVE Chronicles of Narnia and I was THRILLED to find a version allegedly featuring color illustrations. This Nookbook does not feature color illustrations despite this claim in the synopsis: "Includes 19 new full-color plates by Pauline Baynes, the original illustrator of The Chronicles of Narnia."

The traditional black-and-white illustrations are present, but no color plates.

To Barnes and Noble: It is EXTREMELY frustrating to purchase a non-refundable product only to discover after the fact the product is not what was advertised. Please stop misleading ebook shoppers with inaccurate information.

posted by The_Most_Happy on November 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 58
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is AWSOME

    This book is a great book full of imagination. Although the first chapter is a little boring, once you read the second chapter you won't be able to put it down. This book was written by an author (C.S. Lewis) from England, so there will be a few unfamiliar words if your not from that area. This book is #2 of the series, but if you go by the order that they were written this book would be the first. There is a total of seven books in the series. These books are The Magician's Nephew, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, The Horse and His Boy, Prince Caspian, The Voyage of The Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair, and The Last Battle. That was my review of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.

    59 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    Fraudulent Advertising

    I LOVE Chronicles of Narnia and I was THRILLED to find a version allegedly featuring color illustrations. This Nookbook does not feature color illustrations despite this claim in the synopsis: "Includes 19 new full-color plates by Pauline Baynes, the original illustrator of The Chronicles of Narnia."

    The traditional black-and-white illustrations are present, but no color plates.

    To Barnes and Noble: It is EXTREMELY frustrating to purchase a non-refundable product only to discover after the fact the product is not what was advertised. Please stop misleading ebook shoppers with inaccurate information.

    32 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Well written

    This is a well written classic that is entertaining, easy to follow, and has lovely color illustrations. I reccomend this book to everyone and especially anyone who enjoyed "Half Magic". (Also: to the person who did not have colored pictures; maybe you dont have a nook color but it worked fine for me. To the person who thought that this was abridged; I'm sure it is not, so have a please give a reason for why you think it is that way so we can understand you better.) I hope this helped, and if it did, please click the "yes" button for if this was helpful. :)

    31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    I just finished reading this book and did so as the second book

    I just finished reading this book and did so as the second book in the series. I only later found out that The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe was actually published first and that many fans recommended reading them in the order in which they were published. This would be something to consider as you decide which book to begin with.

    Not only is this an enjoyable read for children, as I have been reading these aloud to mine, but it is enjoyable for adults. The language and the way C.S. Lewis writes is very accessible and feels like you entering his world from the first few sentences. My children’s interest has not waned as it has with other kids books.

    Another attractive aspect of these books is the underlying Christian themes. They help one understand some significant events in the Bible as well as access the teachings of Jesus in a unique way that makes kids think.

    Due to the accessibility of the writing and the creative way teachings of the Bible have been woven in, I have found myself becoming interested in who C.S. Lewis was as a man as well as reading his other works. I would highly recommend these wonderful books written by such an interesting man.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Out of the City and into the country to avid the bombings, the f

    Out of the City and into the country to avid the bombings, the four siblings; Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy, find their way through a magical wardrobe into the mystical world of Narnia. They meet the white witch, the evil ruler of Narnia and through bribery of Turkish delight wins over the heart of Edmund. They work with other mystical creatures to help bring about the downfall of the White Witch. Although the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe is thought of as a children’s book, it has the magic and heart-warming story to attract people of all ages. C.S. Lewis once said "...a book worth reading ONLY in childhood is not worth reading even then." I read The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe for the first time as an adult and loved it. I feel that this book fits exactly what C.S. Lewis was talking about. This book is worth reading over and over again, whether an adult or child. C.S. Lewis creates an exquisite world that helps one’s imagination to take them deep into Narnia where the reader feels they are part of the adventure. This story definitely shows the author’s deep Christian beliefs. It has a classic battle between good and evil and helps children see the importance of good leaders. I would recommend this book to anyone of any age who wants a good uplifting story.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Good

    I really want u to buy it i would rate 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 stars!

    14 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    GREAT

    Narnia is a GREAT series to read, especially for LDS readers.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    fantastic

    i think that the series the chroniclas of narnia, is the best series out there. and the lion, the witch, and the wardrobe is the best book out of all of them. i also like other books for the series, such as prince caspian, and the voyage of the dawn treader. in conclusion, i think it doesnt matter if your under 10 years old, or over 50, you will enjoy this book very much.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Confusing

    I thought that this book was alright. It wasn't the best book I've ever read and it wasn't the worst. The reason I liked this book is because it had interesting parts but in the middle it went really slow and I got lost quite often. This is a book about four children named Lucy, Edmund , Peter, and Susan. The littlest one, Lucy discovers a wardrobe with a magical land inside called Narnia. The land is filled with talking animals, an evil witch, and a great king, Aslan. When Lucy finally gets her siblings there with her, Edmund is lured into the hands of the White Witch and her friend Mr. Tumnus is gone. Now Lucy , Susan, Peter, and two talking beavers have to make a journey all the way to king Aslan to save Edmund, Mr. Tumnus, and all of Narnia. This book is filled with magic and that's why I recommend this book to all fantasy lovers.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Charming

    One of my favorite books. This edition has the original illustrations in color.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    The lion, thewitch, and the wardrobe

    What a great book! It's about four kids, Lucy, Edmund, Peter, and Susan, who when entering a wardrobe enyering a magical word. On a quest to save, their brother, Edmund, a lion named Aslan, and Narnia. I really like this book because it talks about how they try to figure out who or what to save first or how to save every thing at tha same time and whats more inportant to them because they have to save aslan, their brother, narnia, kill the white witch, and get home.

    Thank you for reading my reveiw. :)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    When World War II strikes England. Lucy, Edmund, Peter, and Susa

    When World War II strikes England. Lucy, Edmund, Peter, and Susan Pevensie have to leave their mother and go to the country side of England where its more safer. Where they stay with Professor Digory Kirke. While playing Hide-and-seek, Lucy finds a wardobe and goes inside, she finds another world which has been enslaved by the evil White Witch. After, Lucy finds the place and a new friend, no one believes her. But, when Edmund find the world he meets the White Witch. The next day, all the children hid in the wardobe to find that Lucy was telling the truth. A new adventure starts. This classic i love because the author made Aslan (the lion) like Jesus. Also, the professor is Digory from the first book, all grown up. Ages 7- 100 This book can never gets old.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Kitkat101

    Awesome book full of fantasy and adventure nothing bad to say about it

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Awesome

    It was so awesome I read it again and again.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Nr Narnia

    Its cool

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great book for all ages

    I have read this series with both of my kids for their school Accelerated Reading programs. They are entertaining for adults as well.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Peacebean

    DO NOT BUY i only got 118 pages it was soposed to 227 IT WAS SO DISSAPIONTING i was really mad i paid $8 for this book and i wanted the hole book it was a good book it was the publishers fault

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    By Connor Icard

    This book rocks

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    U know

    Aslan rocks

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the books

    Nice story well written. I loved the movie and loved reading the book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 58