Customer Reviews for

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(839)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

This book is AWSOME

This book is a great book full of imagination. Although the first chapter is a little boring, once you read the second chapter you won't be able to put it down. This book was written by an author (C.S. Lewis) from England, so there will be a few unfamiliar words if your...
This book is a great book full of imagination. Although the first chapter is a little boring, once you read the second chapter you won't be able to put it down. This book was written by an author (C.S. Lewis) from England, so there will be a few unfamiliar words if your not from that area. This book is #2 of the series, but if you go by the order that they were written this book would be the first. There is a total of seven books in the series. These books are The Magician's Nephew, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, The Horse and His Boy, Prince Caspian, The Voyage of The Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair, and The Last Battle. That was my review of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.

posted by JimJam11 on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

54 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Fraudulent Advertising

I LOVE Chronicles of Narnia and I was THRILLED to find a version allegedly featuring color illustrations. This Nookbook does not feature color illustrations despite this claim in the synopsis: "Includes 19 new full-color plates by Pauline Baynes, the original illustra...
I LOVE Chronicles of Narnia and I was THRILLED to find a version allegedly featuring color illustrations. This Nookbook does not feature color illustrations despite this claim in the synopsis: "Includes 19 new full-color plates by Pauline Baynes, the original illustrator of The Chronicles of Narnia."

The traditional black-and-white illustrations are present, but no color plates.

To Barnes and Noble: It is EXTREMELY frustrating to purchase a non-refundable product only to discover after the fact the product is not what was advertised. Please stop misleading ebook shoppers with inaccurate information.

posted by The_Most_Happy on November 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Confusing

    I thought that this book was alright. It wasn't the best book I've ever read and it wasn't the worst. The reason I liked this book is because it had interesting parts but in the middle it went really slow and I got lost quite often. This is a book about four children named Lucy, Edmund , Peter, and Susan. The littlest one, Lucy discovers a wardrobe with a magical land inside called Narnia. The land is filled with talking animals, an evil witch, and a great king, Aslan. When Lucy finally gets her siblings there with her, Edmund is lured into the hands of the White Witch and her friend Mr. Tumnus is gone. Now Lucy , Susan, Peter, and two talking beavers have to make a journey all the way to king Aslan to save Edmund, Mr. Tumnus, and all of Narnia. This book is filled with magic and that's why I recommend this book to all fantasy lovers.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Book rating

    It was okay I guess. I enjoyed some parts of it not all

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Eh

    Not even close to as good as the first one

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    C.S Lewis wrote this book because he was kind of obsessed wi

    C.S Lewis wrote this book because he was kind of obsessed with animals and fairytales. He really liked animals when he was a child. He would read fairytale books and play with animals. This book is written in third person point of view. C.S Lewis was trying to teach a biblical understanding. It really wasn’t to give a different point of view to other people. He indeed was trying to create an allusion with the characters in it. The genre was fairytale but also had some Christian fiction because of "Chronicles" which is a book from the bible. The intended audience was for children, it was mainly for them to understand it better and get a better view of all the characters. He’s writing was formal and humorous and it did go with the intended audience.
    This book kind of just affected me by learning more of how evil and good can always come together, but good will always be stronger somehow. No ideas were changed they stayed the same. This book really had nothing to do with my agenda it was different from what I live like. My personal experiences have been nothing like Narnia. Yes I have dreamed or imagined of always going into a new world and just exploring something magical. In my opinion my book really did achieve its goal and had a good connection with other people. I would definitely recommend this book to other people, because you can learn a lot of things from it. Especially the part where it teaches Christian views and about God and his new world that is about to come soon.
    The setting for this book is mainly in Narnia so yes of course it would play a significant role in this kind of work. There was some sense of atmosphere evoked which was evil from the witch against the Narnians. This subject is organized in a chronological order. This type of work was not documented it was just a film. C.S Lewis compares to other authors in a very different way because he expresses more about God than any other authors. He usually shows us more details and more pictures so we can understand more his stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Ok

    Overall is okay but why a wardobe?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    This english classic is not for those with b/w nook

    Suggest hard cover for those who want to indroduce kids to this morality tale. Very english and may not appeal to usa modern taste in fantasy as no vampires. m.a.@sparta

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Narnia

    Almost as good as the harry potter series,except it has talking animals instead of witches and wizards.


    P.S., ASLAN RULES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Click here

    Im not sher that i like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Yo man hear me out!

    I love this book but serously after i read it a relizied it wasnt really second it was first!!! Get your facts strait PEOPLE!!! STILL A AWESOME BOOK THOUGH!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Half and half

    I have read ever book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    The lion the witch and the wardrobe

    I think this the best book out of the chronicles of narnia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    ???-???-???-&??

    I'om readiin first one. Old language =COOL BEANZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Loved It!

    By: Maddy Shea
    I loved "The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe". I loved it because it was a great length, level and storyline. You might especially love this book if you read "Harry Potter", or "Lord of the Rings". This book is so full of detail; I couldn't tear my eyes away from it. This book is so full of and imagination. It is a great holiday gift for your 8+ year old. It is a book about the world of Narnia, a land where wonderful creatures live. I advise you to read this!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Okay

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is the second installment in the chronicles of Narnia. The story is about four kids, a lion, a witch, and a wardrobe and their adventures in another world. The story takes place around WWI Britain and then carries over into the fantasy world of Narnia, which is currently under the spell of the evil White Witch. The kids Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy embark on a "quest" to steal back the land from the icy clutches of the witch with the help of the Lion. The Witch and Lion form two armies who must wage war against each other while the four children fulfill an ancient, mysterious prophecy while in Narnia. The reason I liked this book is because it had interesting parts, but on the other hand, it did slow down quite often. The main flaw in the book is how Lewis condenses pages of details and events into nothing more than a paragraph or two, while this does make the reader use their imagination it does not do well for expressing the world he sees. Overall, the story is a great children's book for reasons such as the biblical symbolism (original sin and sacrifice of one to erase it), moral values and life lessons to be learned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    Chronicles

    Good book for younger readers

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    Decent Book

    This is the second book in book in the series The Chronicles of Narnia does it live up to its legendary name.

    The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe is a book about four children who have to go to live in London to get away from war but got involved in one themselves. They discover a whole new world inside a wardrobe while playing hide in seek.

    This was neither the best book nor the worst book I have ever read. It was kind of boring at the start and in the middle I feel they rambled on a little too much during those parts. The end was filled with action though.

    This story is okay overall interesting sometime but will sometimes almost put you asleep at some points.

    If your into adventure/fantasy stories I would probably recommend it but if your not I probably would not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    What I think about this book

    Right now I am reading this book. I did not finish it yet but so far I think I read enough to write a review about it. Well, first of all this book is great. I say the movie but, I just wanted to see how is by reading the book. Well what i got to say is that somethings that they said in the book did not happen in the movie and what happend in the movie did not happen in the book.... but anyways it is so far wonderful and I can't wait to read more of the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    A Mediocre Work

    Overall I felt that this was a fair book, deserving a rating of about six out of ten. I enjoyed the elements of fantasy that it involved, however, the underlying writing style seemed a bit too childish. I would mainly like to recommend this book to persons under thirteen years of age. The word usage and vocabulary were easy to comprehend, which made things simple to follow for the most part, and I did enjoy how the various creatures of Narnia were brought to life through an abundance of vivid descriptions. On the other hand, a drastic flaw in my mind was the lack of a developed plot. It seemed as though Aslan and the children having to rescue Narnia from the witch was not well developed enough in that Aslan simply showed up, a few little events occurred, a final battle took place, and then that basically concluded the story. A more complex plot would clearly better interest the reader. For these reasons, I would suggest reading this book if you enjoy other selections from the Chronicles of Narnia or if you are thirteen years of age or younger. If not, then you might as well pass on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    melinda

    Hmmm....this is tough. The book is good. The movie is better. I think the movie made me a lot more in to it...but the book also had a lot of detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    Incredible!!!

    This book is a incredible fairy tale story. It has so much imagination and life that would make any age enjoy it. They are remaking the movie which I look forward to later this year!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4