Customer Reviews for

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(797)

4 Star

(209)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

This book is AWSOME

This book is a great book full of imagination. Although the first chapter is a little boring, once you read the second chapter you won't be able to put it down. This book was written by an author (C.S. Lewis) from England, so there will be a few unfamiliar words if your...
This book is a great book full of imagination. Although the first chapter is a little boring, once you read the second chapter you won't be able to put it down. This book was written by an author (C.S. Lewis) from England, so there will be a few unfamiliar words if your not from that area. This book is #2 of the series, but if you go by the order that they were written this book would be the first. There is a total of seven books in the series. These books are The Magician's Nephew, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, The Horse and His Boy, Prince Caspian, The Voyage of The Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair, and The Last Battle. That was my review of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.

posted by JimJam11 on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Fraudulent Advertising

I LOVE Chronicles of Narnia and I was THRILLED to find a version allegedly featuring color illustrations. This Nookbook does not feature color illustrations despite this claim in the synopsis: "Includes 19 new full-color plates by Pauline Baynes, the original illustra...
I LOVE Chronicles of Narnia and I was THRILLED to find a version allegedly featuring color illustrations. This Nookbook does not feature color illustrations despite this claim in the synopsis: "Includes 19 new full-color plates by Pauline Baynes, the original illustrator of The Chronicles of Narnia."

The traditional black-and-white illustrations are present, but no color plates.

To Barnes and Noble: It is EXTREMELY frustrating to purchase a non-refundable product only to discover after the fact the product is not what was advertised. Please stop misleading ebook shoppers with inaccurate information.

posted by The_Most_Happy on November 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 209 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Lucy to Rill and guy who wants girlfriend.

    Maybe i will. Or maybe i wont. @below YOURE TRYIN TO LOOK FOR A GF ON SOME RANDOM BOOK ON A RATE AND REVIEW WEBSITE????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT IF THEYRE REALLY A BOY PRETENDING TO BE A GIRL????!!!!!!! AND YOU GUYS MEET IN RL AND YOU THINK HES SPOSED TO BE A GIRL????!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Madison

    Ok:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Way betterthan the movie

    A must

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Good

    Vary good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    SOO COOL!

    For people who love to read fiction books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    to people who like adventures

    Narnia...A land frozen in eternal winter. A country for adventure step step thought a wardrobe door and into the land of Narnia.A land enslaved by the power of the white which. but when almost all hope is lost.the return of the great lion alsan signal a great change...and and a great sacrifice.I I liked the book because they went on a lot of adventures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Great book

    I am about to get this book because i need it for a book report. Hope its good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Good

    Very good like the movie. Great job. Exepct the movie i think was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    im still reading it now

    its really good but, sobfar the movie is better.... weird huh? a movie is better than a book. well, in my opion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    a good book

    The book I finished is The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. The author is C.S. Lewis. He is a great author. In his book it's like he has his own world.
    This story is about a world named Narnia. There are four kids named Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy. Lucy is the one who found Narnia. In Narnia is a faun named Mr. Tumnus, the White Witch, the lion named Aslan, and the two beavers called Mr. and Mis. Beaver. In this story the lion is God and the witch is Satan.
    If I had to relate on who I am like in this story it would be Lucy. The reason is she is curious and can wonder off. She is mostly happy and sometimes sad. She is the one who found Narnia. Also Mr.Tumnus.
    My favorite part was when the lion and the witch went to war. The reason it is my favorite is because there's a lot more action. One thing about this part is how the witch has a thing that stones animals. So she can stone everything that gets in her way. The lion attacks the witch and I am not going to tell you the rest.
    I think who ever is a Christian should read this. But if you are not you can read it too. The person who would like this book would like things talking when in real life they can't talk. I think the girls would like it more. But some guys might like it too.
    My feeling for this book is good. I like how detailed it is. Some of it is funny. Some of it is sad. But I love how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    cool

    this sounds like a very good book just my type i will ask my dad for it right now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Turns Bad Reviews to Stone!

    I love this book because Lewis's writing style puts you right into the world of Narnia with Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy. The book starts when Lucy is hiding in a large wardrobe and decides to go deeper. As she advances, the coats and hangers are replaced with tree branches and snow. When she reaches a clearing, she sees movement. She finds that it is a creature that is half man, half goat. His name is Mr. Tumnus. He tells Lucy about the White Witch who rules the land and cursed it to be winter all the time. Lucy then leaves and tells Susan, Peter, and Edmund about what happened. After a while, the four head into the wardrobe and wind up in Narnia. While there, they encounter a talking beaver who tells them of a prophecy that says four humans will save Narnia from the icy grip of winter. The four set out on their journey and encounter many foes that want to stop them. If you want to know what exactly happens, you'll have to read the book. I would buy it, because you will want to read it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Very Good Book

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, seems like it will be a very good book. I will be reading it for one of my college courses based on C.S.Lewis. This will be my first time ever reading anything that has been printed by the author. So far the things that my professor has made us read are very good and quite interesting. I am hoping to find that with this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    This is a good book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book was about 4 kids it is a good book because it was an adventure getting lost in a wardrobe . They kill the queen. And they get back home. I think it is a good book because families can read it together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    School Read

    We bought this book to enable my daughter to read independently of the class directed book chapters. My little bookworm thoroughly enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe

    The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe
    By. C.S Lewis
    One day Lucy the youngest sister of the four found a wardrobe but it wasn't no ordinary wardrobe. She walked through the wardrobe and it started getting colder and colder. Then there was snow on the ground and she fell into a pile of snow. She got up and found a half goat half man looking at her and he said this is Narnia. A couple days later she goes back but the younger brother followed her in. He was amazed but then the witch came over to him. Edmund was his name. The Witch already knew who he was but Edmund didn't know who she was and she was a bad witch. She tricked them into bringing his other sister and brother to her and he said ok. He went and got Peter and Susan the older brother and sister. They all found out about Edmund and the witch so they didn't go with him but Edmund did and he got locked up by the witch. So the brother and the sisters go and find Asland the mighty lion to save Edmund. Asland ends up sparing his life for Edmund.
    The witch kills Asland so Asland can't save Narnia, but the witch forgot about the magic deep down and Asland comes back to life to try to stop the witch. The witch gets her army together and Asland get all of his army together and they go to war. Asland wins the war and there is no more evil in Narnia. The kids go back home. In a matter of a few minutes they were back home.
    I think the book is awesome. I would recommend this book to anybody that likes fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Review on The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

    This is a review to the book The Chronicles of Narnia: The lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S.Lewis. I that it was a great fantasy story I reconmend it to all. I like it because it has it all from Witches to talking beavers, from great battles to drama. C.S.Lewis`s style in the book is he likes to kind of stop the story and make things clear to the reader in parenthesis. I really enjoy this because it lets you in to the smallest details. Also Lewis`s mood in this story is for you to be under standing. Lewis even has a certin diction he likes to use in this story. The whole time i ready the story i was anxious to see what will happen next in line. If you liked the movie you shall love this book because its the movie and then some. This is a great sequel to the first book in this series called The Chronicles of Narnia: The magicians Nephew by C.S.Lewis which I also reconmend. The begining of this story starts a bit slow but all stories realy do. The meat of the story is when you start getting anxious for the ending. The ending which is the best part is finshed with a grand slam finale. That will make you want to read all the others in the series. I give a strong opinion to this story saying that it is one of the best fantasy stories I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Magical and action packed

    This book was beautifully written and will keep you reading. There is never a boring moment. I couldn't put the book down when I read it.The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobeis a must read for every kid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    My review on the chronicles of narnia the lion the witch and the wardrobe

    The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe<BR/><BR/> The Chronicals of Narnia¿s: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, written by C.S. Lewis is a good book in my opinion. The book is set during the time of World War II. It tells a story about four siblings who find a whole other world inside a wardrobe. When they arrive here they run into many adventures and learn that they are apart of a prophecy, and find themselevs in the middle of a battle, which may alter the future of this world. This book demonstrates the themes of trust, greed, loyalty, and good versus evil.<BR/> Overall I liked this book. I like this book because, for the most part, the book was entertaining and interesting. My favorite part of the book was the final battle. This was my favorite part because, it is the most action-intense scene in the book, and because it shows who will have control of Narnia once and for all. The only thing I disliked about the book is that there wasn¿t enough action throughout the book. Overall, this was a good and entertaing book and I would reccomend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 209 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11