Customer Reviews for

Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's a personal walk that won't allow any pretense.

Reviewed by Linda W. for Readers Favorite

Lisa Bevere, in "Lioness Arising", starts her book with a 'vision/dream' she experienced when she was pregnant with her fourth child. She was standing in some heavenly realm, a place of illumination without glare. The colors ...
Reviewed by Linda W. for Readers Favorite

Lisa Bevere, in "Lioness Arising", starts her book with a 'vision/dream' she experienced when she was pregnant with her fourth child. She was standing in some heavenly realm, a place of illumination without glare. The colors were so concentrated that she was unable to describe them with respect to our earthly colors. On a platform she saw a flawless, cream-colored stone on which a golden lioness reclined. When her eyes focused on the lioness's eyes, she heard a voice behind her saying, "With the birth of this son, you will awaken a lioness." She physically woke up not knowing what it all meant.

Using Scriptural references, Lisa compares the life, beauty, passion, and strength of this lioness to us as lionesses as we rise up in the strength of the Lord's power to change our world. Strength is for service to one another. Never act alone. She intricately incorporates how we 'lionesses' need to take lessons from the real lioness and do the same in protecting children and women caught in human sex trafficking, making Godly changes in the world, and caring for our families. To accomplish all this, we must learn to listen to the great Lion of Judah and be willing to do His will His way through His Spirit. You don't want to be mistaken for buff, as Lisa found out! It's a lesson learned the hard way! It's a personal walk that won't allow any pretense.

posted by ReadersFavorite on November 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lioness Arising- my thoughts

I have read a few books by Lisa Bevere and I think she is a great author like her husband John Bevere.

This is a book written to women on waking the sleeping lioness inside us all. There is a lot of comparison between the natural creature and who we are as women, wi...
I have read a few books by Lisa Bevere and I think she is a great author like her husband John Bevere.

This is a book written to women on waking the sleeping lioness inside us all. There is a lot of comparison between the natural creature and who we are as women, wives, mothers.

We can be strong and fierce like the lioness hunting her prey. Because God's spirit is withing us, we can truly be powerful women.


The principles in his book are good but seemed slow and never really grabbed my attention. If you are into the animal kingdom or are intrigued by watching shows on animal planet, this book may appeal to you more.

posted by staceb on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Wake Up and Change Your World

    Lisa Bevere, in Lioness Arising, starts her book put with a ¿vision/dream¿ she experienced when she was pregnant with her fourth child. She was standing in some heavenly realm, a place of illumination without glare. The colors were so concentrated, that she is unable to describe them to our earthly colors.

    On a platform of a flawless, cream-colored stone a golden lioness reclined. On the front of the pillar platform she saw: Number XXIII. ¿ When her eyes focused on the lioness¿ eyes, she heard a voice behind her saying, ¿With the birth of this son, you will awaken a lioness.¿ She physically awakens not knowing what it all meant.

    Using Scriptural references, Lisa continues her book by comparing the life, beauty, passion, and strength of this lioness to us as lionesses as we arise up in the strength of the Lord¿s power to change our world. It¿s not a world where women are stronger or better than men, or vise versa. Strength is for service to one another and others.

    Lionesses never act alone. She intricately incorporates how we ¿lionesses¿ need to take lessons from the real lioness and do the same in protecting children and women caught in human sex trafficking, making Godly changes in the world, and caring for our families.

    She describes how the lioness relates to her lion, empowering him to protect, while they do their part in protecting the pride. They work in groups and become a ferocious, strategic force to reckon with. The same is true in the lives of us women ¿lionesses¿ in today¿s world.

    They biggest question Lisa bring out is, ¿Are our ears awake? Listen. Listen to the Wind Words, the Spirit through the churches. Rev. 2:7¿ To accomplish all this, we must learn to listen to the great Lion of Judah and be willing to do His will His way through His Spirit. You need to question yourself as to whether you are willing to walk in His Light? You must be determined to quiet yourself to hear the Whisper of God¿s voice. Lisa¿s book challenges you to count the cost.

    And you don¿t want to be mistaken for buff, as Lisa found out! You can¿t miss this! It¿s a lesson learned the hard way! It¿s a personal walk that you can¿t won¿t allow pretense.

    In order to live in sync with God, Lisa gives us five objectives:

    Look up¿looking up to heaven
    Look around¿seeing ourselves, surrounding, and inhabitants in His eyes
    Look well¿shining light to expose areas of darkness
    Look ahead¿realizing our present choices affect us and those around us forever
    Tell the truth¿know the Truth and living and sharing it

    I have to admit I would never compare myself to the bold, strong, stealthy lioness. Yet Lisa, through her vision, compares us in a way that challenges us to stop living the status quo and move out into the will and leading of God¿s ways. It¿s time and He wants us ready. If you are ready to hear the Wind Words and Whispers of God, this is a book for you to pick up and apply by the grace of God!

    This book was provided by Debra Gaynor of Reader¿s Favorites in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Recommend it - good book

    This book is a call to women to wake up and change the world. Lisa Bevere uses the lioness as a symbol for women to follow. She shows many of the lioness's characteristics and then uses scripture to demonstrate that women should take on many of the lioness's qualities for the betterment of the world. For example, lionesses are fiercely protective of their young - but not just their young - all young. She calls women to be passionate about children being abused and to rise up to fight against it.

    I really enjoyed her look at the lioness. It gave me an insight into the role of women that I hadn't thought about before. She does question the role of the wife in regards to submission - and she talks to what God really wants that to look like by quoting scripture. She challenges the notion that women can't hold positions of leadership within the church. She says that "gender alone does not qualify a man to lead, just as gender alone should not disqualify a woman. Virtue qualifies both male and female." (p. 97) She gave me alot to think about and all of her points she backs up with scripture. I can see both sides of this issue though and can see where some Christians will take issue with her conclusions. Our church has walked this line by allowing women in many positions of leadership including serving communion. We just do not have women pastors. Only men fill the role of pastor in our church. Again, there is much disagreement in the church community on this issue --- I can see all sides but I personally am most comfortable with the stance our church has taken on this.

    The book is very well written and very engaging. I do hope you will read it. It was very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Recommend

    Eye opening view point.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Awaken And Change Your World!!

    This is an interesting,encouraging and an eye opening book.I am very privilege to read a book as such.....Women wear many caps and has been succumbed by society to a certain standard.I appreciate this book been written to women to arise and not sit and cry but to realize the lioness called after their king.She talks about how women are empowered to raise productivity and they multiplies and bring Goodness. In the beginning chapters , i was provoked and charged, value of a strong woman and that God has placed us here for reasons.We should rise to the standard that God has placed us. If for a reason one can not find their place in the church,the rest of the world is out there waiting for your manifestation. The middle chapters were dull for me , I enjoy some of the illustration and enlightment but am glad for the ending chapters.This book is not a how to book but a book that is meant to stir up that inner strength that has been given to us as a woman. Through prayer one can answer the call and rise above limitations. If you think your gender is a barrier for you in fulfilling your destiny, I definitely recommend this book. You will be greatly charged. I received this book for free from waterbrook multnomah pulishing for review, the opinion express are mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Gives Women a New Perspective on Their Roles in God's World

    As a woman, I often think of myself as many things-wife, mother, daughter, shoe-tier, cook, maid, story reader, taxi driver....the list goes on and on, doesn't it? Until I read the book, Lioness Arising, by Lisa Bevere, I didn't think of myself as a lioness. Now, I have a whole new perspective on my role as a woman in God's world.

    Bevere has traveled to desolate, sad, remote, and crippling villages in the world. In these, she sees women who have been sold as sex slaves, prostitutes, and disrespected. She encourages those women, and us, that there is a better life as a woman of God. She tells her readers that women should speak up, be proud caretakers of their families and households, and yet hold a gentle fierceness about them.

    Lionesses are strong, fierce protectors. As women, we should be strong, fierce protectors of those who have been silenced. If women would rise up in strength and numbers, we can rise as a gentle lioness, ready to be a reckoned force to change the world.

    I consider her novel an excellent resource for feminism-in it's most gentle, strong, passionate Christian format. With courage and the unleashing of God's directions to us, we can effectively impact the world in a wonderful, gentle, fierce way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    a must read for all women wanting to change their world!!

    Never before have I been so excited and proud to be a daughter of the King. Lioness Arising openend new ideas for me as a woman longing to serve God. Her comparison of Godly women to lionesses is right on--I see myself in a new way--strong, strategic, caring, protective--desiring to move beyond my "safe" Christian life to walk boldly in God's light and hunt the evil that plagues this world. I love that Lisa discusses women/people in bondage to sin all over the world but reminds us throughtout the book that our hunts can take place in our own backyard. I also appreciate her take on respecting women as leaders in our church and providing plenty of scripture to prove her point.

    Lioness Arising should certianly be on the reading list of every woman who desires to walk with God by serving others! LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lioness Arising

    Lioness Arising- Wake Up and Change Your World by Lisa Bevere, is an empowering motivational book which is sure to help women tap into their inner strength for the greater good. The author ties in the symbolism of the power and might of a lioness with key biblical verses. In true motivational speaker fashion, Bevere's book is sure to encourage its readers. Through the use of personal anecdotes and biblical verses- the author pinpoints common misconceptions of women, and challanges the sterotypical views of women, portraying the dangers of outdated views which only serve to diminish the power and roles of women.

    There is only one concern with the book. On the surface, this metaphor, of the lioness, is very effective. Yet the origins of this private vision are somewhat questionable. The image of the lioness and its symbolism is taken from a vision that the author had within a dream. She attaches supernatural/ spiritual significance to her dream. In my opinion, the metaphor of the lioness need not be based on a dream to be inspiring and empowering. In fact, the suggestion that it is possibly a divine or supernatural vision through a dream adds an element of question. As a Blogger for Water Brook publishers I recieved a copy of this book for the purpose of writing this review and the opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1