Customer Reviews for

The Lion's Game (John Corey Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(188)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 352 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    A Great Read!

    I read this book in one week - it was just too hard to put down. John Corey comes back as the character I fell in love with in Plum Island and is just as funny as he was in that book. If the book had been all from the perspective of Asad Khalil, or if John Corey wasn't a funny guy, I probably wouldn't have liked it because it would freak me out a little more than I like to be freaked out. Aside from the humor, the book has some disturbing features, outlining just how easy it might be for America to be attacked, and also delving into the mind of a terrorist. I read it in 2006, needless to say way after 9/11, and when Corey was looking out at the Towers, wondering if something else would happen . . . goosebumps. Really. Sometimes I wondered if Nelson DeMille had some kind of phychic ability . . All in all a wonderful book. DeMille is definitely my favorite author, and he does his job well.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Lion's Game

    This book is a little over 900 pages - I wished it was longer. It grabbed my attention for the begining and closley held it until the very last page. Another must read by DeMille.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    DeMille at his best. A MUST RERAD!

    This is one of the greatest Demille books I have ever read. I love them all but this was special. So true to reality. You will wonder how this book was written prior to 9-11-01. A must read for any DeMille fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ABSOLUTELY ONE OF MY ALL-TIME FAVORITES!

    Nelson DeMille must be prescient. Written long before 9/11, but after the 1993 bombing at the World Trade Center, his story of a foreign terrorist from the Middle East coming to American soil to seek vengeance for past wrongs done to him and his country is great, and a little creepy. John Corey is one of my favorite characters in modern literature: wise-ass, intuitive, smart, susceptible to romance--plus an Irish (former) cop from NYC. Who could ask for anything more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nelson DeMille is supurb at getting it right!

    From the first page to the last, Nelson DeMille had me. I loved his "Wild Fire", so I decided to go back and read this one. Amazing how DeMille is able to take a real life scenario, the US bombing of Lybia, and make such a fantastic story about it. Could it happen... let's hope not! An excellent read. You won't want to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Once again Nelson DeMille writes an awesome book!

    I could be very good friends with the main character John Corey. He is a wise-ass and a little irreverent. This is a very realistic book...
    I have enjoyed all of the John Corey series and look forward to more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent return of John Corey

    On April 15, 1986, American planes bombed Libya. Now, the infamous terrorist Asad ¿The Lion¿ Khalil is heading to New York allegedly to defect to the west. The FBI, including former NYPD now Fed John Corey, waits for Asad¿s arrival. However, when the plane lands, everyone inside is dead and Asad is missing. John thinks Asad killed everyone before escaping somewhere in America. <P>Asad has a personal agenda, vengeance on those who killed his family in the attack fourteen years ago. He begins a terrorist journey across the nation as John and his cohorts pursue him to stop him. John finds his quarry more cunning and dangerous than anything he has ever dealt with, even on the meanest streets of New York. He knows he must change the rules of THE LION¿S GAME if he is to survive let alone defeat his sly opponent. <P>THE LION¿S GAME marks the return of John Corey (see Plum Island) as a winner for fans of taut thrillers. John retains his street savvy, in your face personality, even when he wanders with a fast food-like romance that feels more like filler material. Still as solid and complete as his character is developed, he cannot compare to his incredibly perfected opponent. Though a dangerous assassin, readers will not only understand Asad and his personal Jihad, but, in spite his deadly activities, at times root for him to triumph. The tense story line is fast-paced and filled with action as expected from Nelson DeMille, who is a sure shot to return to the top of the New York Times best seller list. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Kaiboshman

    One heck of a great read. The downside.....I couldn't put it down. I stayed up way too late reading, I was tired at work all the following day. A really good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read... I love John Corey...

    I so love John Corey... In this book he does not disappoints, but left me wanting more, that is why I am so glad the Lion is coming out in 2010. Kudos. As to the overall story, very sad.. but what sold it for me what the characters and John Corey. Thanks for a great read...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My Favs

    Great thriller, right from the get go. This was my first introduction to DeMille and his leading character John Corey. The sarcastic humor is right down my alley. I would recommend any book in the Corey Series. It's a little creepy that this book was written before 9/11/01 but does make it more believable. Pick it up, you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    a REAL page turner

    The second book of a four novel series that will keep you entertained from the beginning to the end. The excitement will keep you engaged and you will fall in love with John Corey and Kate Mayfield.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    Excellent read. What Plum Island lacked, this book did not. Not

    Excellent read. What Plum Island lacked, this book did not. Not much mystery but fast paced and well written. It's all about the chase. I like the author's sense of humor and enjoy a chuckle when I read. I'm neither a scholar nor a literary person. I like to read and I like to be entertained. For those of you who seek deep meaning in what the read, try the Internal Revenue Code. I found the book entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great

    This is a excelent book , I enjoyed every page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    Great I enjoyed every page of the book

    Great I enjoyed every page of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Really good book. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Great Read, Do not miss it; Hello fans of Mr. DeMille, from th

    Great Read, Do not miss it;

    Hello fans of Mr. DeMille, from the begging to the end, this novel takes you on a ride of excitement, You will fall in love with his character John Corey. Hi wit, humor and keen eye for trouble was amazing. Enjoy yourself and the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended

    I enjoy Nelson De Mille's novels very much. He has a great sense of humor. He writes a police procedure novel. It's hard to put the book down when it,s time to do something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    ??????

    I really liked the first book of the John Corey series and the character and was looking forward to more. But this book was very disturbing. Still liked John Corey, but the book just seemed liked an instructional how-to for terrorists to come over here and kill us all. And also showed how inept our government branches of security are. If they are all going to be like this, I won't read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Dawnstone

    "Here I am."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 352 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18