Customer Reviews for

Lion's Heat (Breeds Series #21)

Average Rating 4.5
( 446 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Breeds, Book 21: Lion's Heat -- Five Blue Ribbons from Romance Junkies

A busy and powerful man must have an efficient personal assistant, and the problem Jonas is encountering is the fact that most of his secretaries quit within one week. Rumor has it that he is so demanding he can bring even the most hardened breed female to tears. It is...
A busy and powerful man must have an efficient personal assistant, and the problem Jonas is encountering is the fact that most of his secretaries quit within one week. Rumor has it that he is so demanding he can bring even the most hardened breed female to tears. It is because of this knowledge that Merinus, devoted wife to Callan and Prima of the feline breeds, decides that enough is enough. Jonas needs a new PA that he won't be able to fire, and she knows exactly who it is going to be - one of her closet friends, Rachel Broen. Gritting his teeth and trying not to bellow, Jonas has no choice but to accept his new assistant. His new pregnant assistant. However, with one subtle sniff of the woman in front of him, Jonas confirms what tests later prove - Rachel is his mate. Jonas refuses to even think about touching her no matter how much he aches for the feel of her hands and the softness of her lips. His Rachel will never go through mating heat.

Jonas should never say never. With one man's quest for answers to mating heat and all that it entails, the people Jonas cares about the most are placed in danger. His control is barely hanging on as it is, and when he sees tears in his mate's eyes, Jonas knows he will do anything to keep her and her baby safe - even if it means exposing Rachel to the powerful heat that Jonas has strived so hard to keep from her.

I knew with every ounce of my being that LION'S HEAT would need to be written in such a way as to set it apart from the other books in Lora Leigh's BREEDS series. LION'S HEAT does this and so much more. Readers will be given a chance to look inside the heart of a lion and see the wonderful man underneath. LION'S HEAT made me realize that the outer shell of a person may not always be the correct condition of their soul. Jonas Wyatt wears a mask day in and day out while his inner thoughts, yearnings, and desires are vividly hidden. Until Rachel.

There is nothing simple or boring about LION'S HEAT. Jonas carefully plans his machinations, but rest assured, his mate Rachel knows exactly what he is doing and her anticipation of his needs is what endeared her to me. She isn't a wimpy mate by any means - Rachel isn't afraid to give Jonas what for, but she does it in such a way that makes her strong, intelligent, and gutsy to the bone. Jonas may be her mate, but she will stand on her own two feet and become the woman that Jonas needs in his life.

LION'S HEAT is without a doubt my favorite Lora Leigh release to date. This novel flows very easily with plot twists and turns, old and new questions are solved and asked, and Jonas finds the other half of his heart. I couldn't have asked for anything more for this beautiful man. Unable to mention the love scenes without blushing, know that they are heady, soul-stirring, and mesmerizing. Jonas' ability as a master manipulator is over the top; his ability as a lover and mate is something worth watching and relishing with every breath.

If I had not been in love with Jonas before, I would definitely be in love with him now. LION'S HEAT will caress you senses, open your eyes to new possibilities, and make you purr with sweet satisfaction. I still haven't recovered!

Natalie S. Courtesy of Romance Junkies

posted by Natalie_RomanceJunkies on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

OMG!

Where is the electronic version for my ^#%@& NOOK!?!?!?!?

posted by Cherlea on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 452 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Japan to lily

    Stop postin in het fisrt result

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Leafclaw

    Hi *a tabby tom with broad shoulders padded in. His eyes a gleaming amber* i brought a robin *dropped the robin at her paws. Sat down*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Cedarheart

    Cedarheart purred and twined his tail with hers. (You can meet me at der third result!!!!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So-So Story

    Bad boy Jonas Wyatt knows it is fate that Rachel becomes his mate. He can sense it. He can also sense her reluctance. But she has little power over the mating heat of the Breeds. It is Jonas's destiny to claim her. And nothing will stop him from having his way.

    Jonas Wyatt, the Director of the Bureau of Breed Affairs (aka The Bogeyman of the Breeds), meets his mate, Rachel Broen, who also happens to be his new personal assistant. Unfortunately, Rachel is also pregnant with her ex-boyfriend's child, but that does nothing to affect Jonas' love. Jump forward several months, and Brandenmore, a geneticist (aka evil scientist) who has tortured and experimented on Breeds, threatens Amber, Rachel's daughter.

    If you read the series, you know the spill . . . the Breeds are half-human, half-animal experiments who escaped captivity and are now building a world they can live & work in all while finding mates. Yet, upon mating, the pairs become partially immortal with extended life spans. With more government/secret agencies discovering that fact, the Breeds suffer from prejudices, death threats, and more. The series contains a complicated storyline and the time-line seems to grow generations as each book is released and more Breed members are introduced. Most readers are prepared for the 'been-there-done-that' romantic plot, but they still come back for more since they are HOT reads. This was another so-so tale, but it passed the time and was somewhat enjoyable . . . if not predictable.

    Likes: Jonas wasn't really my favorite character out of the series, but it was nice to catch up with other pairs throughout Lion's Heat and see the families growing.

    Dislikes: The negative attitude always given toward mates who shy away from mating, gets rather boring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Is she a virgin?

    Would like to know before buying!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Good..

    Its a good read. Its kind of predictable...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great Story!

    This is one of my favorite books in the breed series! Great story that kept my attention! I could not put it down and in fact, have read it through more than once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Awesome reading!!

    One of the best writers ive ever read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Lora Leigh certainly knows how to heat up the pages. Moreover, she writes well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    What happened?

    Jonas is such a baby in this book! He was such a badass in all the other stories, and now in his own book all he does is whine! He pretty much begs to be loved. All that talk of being primal was wasted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    Absolutely loved this book! This is the first book in the breed series that I have read.. I will read all there others just from the impression I got from this book. The characters blended will together and the story line flowed so smoothly. I am already a big fan of Lora Leigh and my opinion has not changed one bit.. a true page turner, I read this book in one sitting! well done~LL~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    A wonderful story!

    This book was my introduction to the Breeds and paranormal world...now I am hooked. I have since gone back and read the entire series in the order listed on LL's web site. Recommend this series to anyone who loves a hot storyline with good character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    great series!

    Be sure to read from the beginning as the characters recur in subsequent books. You can google/search for lora leigh breeds reading order to get the list in the order they were released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Amazing book! A must read!

    This is the first Lora Leigh Breeds Series I have read and I am now a great fan. I couldn't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Positive

    Hot and worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Fabulous

    One of the best romance books I've read in a long time! The tension between the two main characters is intense. I've read other Lora Leigh books from the Breed Series but this is by far the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Awesome book by Lora Leigh

    This book is just awesome. I am really glad Jonas finally gets his own book. Jonas and Rachel are complex characters and I am looking foward to the next in line of the breed series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I was expecting...

    Throughout the breed series I was so looking forward to reading Jonas's story but I have to say I was a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's a really good book, it's always nice to see a bad boy come to his knees all because of a female, I just felt like it lacked some ooomph! Whenever I'm in the mood to read a steamy novel I always turn to Lora Leigh but this felt a little bland in that department. Other than that, I would still recommend this book to anybody and I'm looking forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    A Bit Disappointing

    I've been waiting for Jonas's story since the beginning and I have to say I don't think he was given a fair telling. There's so much to him that you read about - that is on the page but also implied, I felt that none of this was transferred. Perhaps, I read too much into Jonas's character in the other books where he is featured.

    I had hoped for something more akin to 'Elisabeth's Wolf'. Its a fair read but didn't satisfy my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 452 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23