Customer Reviews for

The Lion's Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Excellent Read

I do enjoy reading a good historical romance novel and this one is very very good. The prologue sets the story and completely pulls you in. I loved how Christina never let go of her roots. Her character and personality is quite charming. This story is enthralling and...
I do enjoy reading a good historical romance novel and this one is very very good. The prologue sets the story and completely pulls you in. I loved how Christina never let go of her roots. Her character and personality is quite charming. This story is enthralling and not disappointing.

posted by DelightedNovela on October 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have read several of Julie Garwoods books and this was definitely the most disappointing. The story of Lyon and Christina felt contrived and didn't flow well. I think the characters were underdeveloped and lacked any type of intensity.

The book opens with a very promising story but as the characters play out you feel as though the book trails off. You never really get attached to the characters. Lyon is a strong male but Christina is almost irriatating. She goes from being strong to weak to almost ...
The book opens with a very promising story but as the characters play out you feel as though the book trails off. You never really get attached to the characters. Lyon is a strong male but Christina is almost irriatating. She goes from being strong to weak to almost annoying. The romance and passion that you would expecct in this type of book was never really there as I read page after page. I honestly had to stop reading the book. I just didn't enjoy the story. It wasn't interesting or suspenseful. I read the other reviews so I was completely shocked because I was anticipating a great read yet I was very disappointed. If you have never read a Julie Garwood book skip this one. It's not worth it.

posted by 1611164 on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Excellent Read

    I do enjoy reading a good historical romance novel and this one is very very good. The prologue sets the story and completely pulls you in. I loved how Christina never let go of her roots. Her character and personality is quite charming. This story is enthralling and not disappointing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Awesome!

    This is my first reading of a Julie Garwood novel and it was great! I bought it on Tuesday and finish reading it on Thursday. The story was captivating and the love scenes "hot" and descriptive. I have always read only Johanna Lindsey and Kathleen Woodiwiss books and decided to branch out. Well, Julie Garwood is a great "branching out". I loved Christina. She is very endearing and the book gave us all a glimpse into how to be a loving spouse. All the characters were great and Lyon was exceptionally a supportive sexy husband. Since I do not re-read my novels, ever, this book is surely tempting me to break that rule!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE JULIE GARWOOD!!

    I think I've read all of Garwood's books and intend to read every one she writes! Another author I recently discovered has knocked me off my feet! EXPLOSION IN PARIS by Linda Masemore Pirrung is just about the most rewarding, fascinating, charming, and suspenseful book I've read in a while! I can't wait for her next one and am hoping as her reviewers are, that there is a sequel to this one!!! Check out her reviews!!! They HOOKED me big time!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Love, Love, Love It!

    This book is Great! Christina claims the Dakota people as her family even though she has Blue eyes and Blonde hair. Anyway she is going on the biggest adventur of her life, returning to England and facing the Evil that murdered her mother and countless others. While she is adjusting to her new role she finds Lion a man after her own heart. Together they face her father and fall in love (Of course :))

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    Lucille, a reader, April 7, 2005

    I have read many romance novels, mysteries, etc. over the years. But Julie Garwood is the best. Her stories have made me sad and glad, actually laughing out loud. Whenever I'm a little down, I re-re-re-read 'The Lion's Lady'. It has so many laughs, it just brightens up the whole world. Keep on doing what your doing Julie Garwood, your the best. Of all her books, I love the old stories the best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Julie Garwood Is A Master

    Lyon, Marquis of Lyonwood is one of those near-perfect heros, a memorable character to be sure. He was great and the story was great, but I did expect to meet Christina's family. I think the author intended for Christina to be a strong woman, but honestly, she didn't quite live up to it. All in all, though, this was a GREAT book. And, ladies, if you really want to read a GREAT book, try THE ROSE OF ENCHANTMENT by Kathryn Bender. This one book is better than all Ms Garwoods books put together! And I love Ms Garwood!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    *Amazing!*

    This is one of Julie Garwood's finest novels. I couldn't put it down. It was funny and enchanting, i won't ever forget this one. Christina and Lyon make this story of intrigue and deception memorable. A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Great characters

    Loved both of the main characters. Interesting plot take on a standard romance novel storyline, with some very cute and funny moments throughout. This is one of my staples I go to again and again when I want a quick fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great!!

    This is my absolute favorite book by this author. I think I have read it at least 20 times and am still not tired of it. She is normally a good author but not one of my favorites. But she did very, very well with this one. It is definitely worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    I have read several of Julie Garwoods books and this was definitely the most disappointing. The story of Lyon and Christina felt contrived and didn't flow well. I think the characters were underdeveloped and lacked any type of intensity.

    The book opens with a very promising story but as the characters play out you feel as though the book trails off. You never really get attached to the characters. Lyon is a strong male but Christina is almost irriatating. She goes from being strong to weak to almost annoying. The romance and passion that you would expecct in this type of book was never really there as I read page after page. I honestly had to stop reading the book. I just didn't enjoy the story. It wasn't interesting or suspenseful. I read the other reviews so I was completely shocked because I was anticipating a great read yet I was very disappointed. If you have never read a Julie Garwood book skip this one. It's not worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    Good, I Recommend It.

    O.k., first let me start off by saying that Julie Garwood cannot write a bad novel. I have read almost all of them and have enjoyed every single one. This book was no exception. But, (you knew this was coming) this book was not at the top of my list. I just couldn't connect with these characters like I have with other characters of Julie's. I did not relate to Christina at all, but that is more my problem than the character's. I also felt as if the ending was very rushed. It went so fast, I had a hard time keeping up and wished for the sake of the characters, we could have had more conversation and interacting rather than just a quick third-person, matter-of-fact narrative. I don't want anyone to think I disliked the book. I enjoyed reading it, but just wished I had gotten more involved with the story-line as I have with almost all of Garwood's books. In the end, I do recommend this book. If you buy it, you won't be disapointed. I also HIGHLY recommned any of Garwood's mid-evil novels. Those are my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    If you like a book that makes you laugh, cry and sweeps you off your feet this one is for you!!!

    THIS WAS MY FIRST JULIE GARWOOD NOVEL. I FELL IN LOVE WITH HER AND THIS BOOK. BUT I MUST SAY EVEN THOUGH I HAVE READ MANY OF HER BOOKS THIS ONE TOPS THEM ALL. THE CHARACTERS HAVE THE MOST HUMORING CONVERSATIONS AND JULIE REALLY CAPTURES THE SPARKS THAT FLY BETWEEN THEM. READ THIS BOOK AND YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    One of her less entertaining books.

    A very bland book with highly improbable plot. Good for bedtime reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    another great Julie Garwood novel

    another great Julie Garwood novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Another Garwood Favorite

    I recently discovered Julie Garwood and am reading everything I can get my hands on by her! This was one of her Regency books and I totally enjoyed it. A familiar story with a different twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Great

    What a great author I love her books highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    I'm always a sucker for historical romance novels.  And I haven'

    I'm always a sucker for historical romance novels.  And I haven't come across one with a different story line in ages.  Until now, this book truly had a unique spin.  The main character began her life as a child being raised in the Americas by the Dakota Indians before returning to London's high society.  This background gave the story many amazing and moving twists and turns.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Hannah

    Hey john.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Good Read

    Enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    John

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12