Customer Reviews for

The Lion's Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Awesome!

This is my first reading of a Julie Garwood novel and it was great! I bought it on Tuesday and finish reading it on Thursday. The story was captivating and the love scenes "hot" and descriptive. I have always read only Johanna Lindsey and Kathleen Woodiwiss books and...
This is my first reading of a Julie Garwood novel and it was great! I bought it on Tuesday and finish reading it on Thursday. The story was captivating and the love scenes "hot" and descriptive. I have always read only Johanna Lindsey and Kathleen Woodiwiss books and decided to branch out. Well, Julie Garwood is a great "branching out". I loved Christina. She is very endearing and the book gave us all a glimpse into how to be a loving spouse. All the characters were great and Lyon was exceptionally a supportive sexy husband. Since I do not re-read my novels, ever, this book is surely tempting me to break that rule!!!

posted by Magensbay on September 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have read several of Julie Garwoods books and this was definitely the most disappointing. The story of Lyon and Christina felt contrived and didn't flow well. I think the characters were underdeveloped and lacked any type of intensity.

The book opens with a very promising story but as the characters play out you feel as though the book trails off. You never really get attached to the characters. Lyon is a strong male but Christina is almost irriatating. She goes from being strong to weak to almost ...
The book opens with a very promising story but as the characters play out you feel as though the book trails off. You never really get attached to the characters. Lyon is a strong male but Christina is almost irriatating. She goes from being strong to weak to almost annoying. The romance and passion that you would expecct in this type of book was never really there as I read page after page. I honestly had to stop reading the book. I just didn't enjoy the story. It wasn't interesting or suspenseful. I read the other reviews so I was completely shocked because I was anticipating a great read yet I was very disappointed. If you have never read a Julie Garwood book skip this one. It's not worth it.

posted by 1611164 on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Awesome!

    This is my first reading of a Julie Garwood novel and it was great! I bought it on Tuesday and finish reading it on Thursday. The story was captivating and the love scenes "hot" and descriptive. I have always read only Johanna Lindsey and Kathleen Woodiwiss books and decided to branch out. Well, Julie Garwood is a great "branching out". I loved Christina. She is very endearing and the book gave us all a glimpse into how to be a loving spouse. All the characters were great and Lyon was exceptionally a supportive sexy husband. Since I do not re-read my novels, ever, this book is surely tempting me to break that rule!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Princess Christina is the main topic of gossip with everyone in

    Princess Christina is the main topic of gossip with everyone in London. The mysterious Princess is beautiful, warm and friendly. The people of London know virtually nothing about her. The love story is great, the sensuality is charmingly warm, and the various characters just seem to come alive on the page. The humor which constantly arises due the the contrasting cultures made me laugh all through the book. Christina and Lyon are both intelligent, likeable and strong. The lurking sense of danger which threads through the book makes the plot satisfying, and Christina's mother's journal entries (which start each chapter) are very poignant. I just love this book and would encourage anyone who loves the Regency genre to read it. Christina hides many secrets - particularly that she was raised by American Native Indians. At times, her presentation to and acceptance by London society seems a little stretched but it is such a great story that you overlook those little bits of non-reality.
    Lyon, The Marquis of Lyonwood, is a cynical and hard man. He has the usually rakish views of English historical romance in that he does not believe in love or even expect to meet a woman that could mean more to him than the physical side of a relationship.
    Christina is a very likable heroine. She is a little too sweet at times but I have found that this is typical for Garwood's heroines. But Christina was so ornery and stubborn to boot! She lied - constantly - to Lyon. Fortunately, he considered it endearing because he understood her reason for it. She is only attempting to cover up her background and I think she is mostly truthful at other times.
    It is so humorous how Lyon handles Christina's lies and her attempts to hide the truth by giving him vague answers to his specific questions. I love that Christina thinks of Lyon as a warrior. The relationship is certainly unusual for romance writing. There is none of the misunderstandings and bitter words so common in this type of book. We get to see their relationship from the beginning with an unusual twist. From the first moment, they both realize that their attraction to each other is strong and shared. They both attempt to avoid this mutual attraction in their own ways.
    As Christina and Lyon's relationship develops, we get to experience many wonderful scenes in which they live out, day to day, their love for each other. It is refreshing to not have fighting and disturbances between the romance leads up until the end of the book. We are given time to relish their relationship. Amazing read!    

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Excellent Read

    I do enjoy reading a good historical romance novel and this one is very very good. The prologue sets the story and completely pulls you in. I loved how Christina never let go of her roots. Her character and personality is quite charming. This story is enthralling and not disappointing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE JULIE GARWOOD!!

    I think I've read all of Garwood's books and intend to read every one she writes! Another author I recently discovered has knocked me off my feet! EXPLOSION IN PARIS by Linda Masemore Pirrung is just about the most rewarding, fascinating, charming, and suspenseful book I've read in a while! I can't wait for her next one and am hoping as her reviewers are, that there is a sequel to this one!!! Check out her reviews!!! They HOOKED me big time!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Love, Love, Love It!

    This book is Great! Christina claims the Dakota people as her family even though she has Blue eyes and Blonde hair. Anyway she is going on the biggest adventur of her life, returning to England and facing the Evil that murdered her mother and countless others. While she is adjusting to her new role she finds Lion a man after her own heart. Together they face her father and fall in love (Of course :))

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    Lucille, a reader, April 7, 2005

    I have read many romance novels, mysteries, etc. over the years. But Julie Garwood is the best. Her stories have made me sad and glad, actually laughing out loud. Whenever I'm a little down, I re-re-re-read 'The Lion's Lady'. It has so many laughs, it just brightens up the whole world. Keep on doing what your doing Julie Garwood, your the best. Of all her books, I love the old stories the best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Julie Garwood Is A Master

    Lyon, Marquis of Lyonwood is one of those near-perfect heros, a memorable character to be sure. He was great and the story was great, but I did expect to meet Christina's family. I think the author intended for Christina to be a strong woman, but honestly, she didn't quite live up to it. All in all, though, this was a GREAT book. And, ladies, if you really want to read a GREAT book, try THE ROSE OF ENCHANTMENT by Kathryn Bender. This one book is better than all Ms Garwoods books put together! And I love Ms Garwood!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    *Amazing!*

    This is one of Julie Garwood's finest novels. I couldn't put it down. It was funny and enchanting, i won't ever forget this one. Christina and Lyon make this story of intrigue and deception memorable. A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Great characters

    Loved both of the main characters. Interesting plot take on a standard romance novel storyline, with some very cute and funny moments throughout. This is one of my staples I go to again and again when I want a quick fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great!!

    This is my absolute favorite book by this author. I think I have read it at least 20 times and am still not tired of it. She is normally a good author but not one of my favorites. But she did very, very well with this one. It is definitely worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    If you like a book that makes you laugh, cry and sweeps you off your feet this one is for you!!!

    THIS WAS MY FIRST JULIE GARWOOD NOVEL. I FELL IN LOVE WITH HER AND THIS BOOK. BUT I MUST SAY EVEN THOUGH I HAVE READ MANY OF HER BOOKS THIS ONE TOPS THEM ALL. THE CHARACTERS HAVE THE MOST HUMORING CONVERSATIONS AND JULIE REALLY CAPTURES THE SPARKS THAT FLY BETWEEN THEM. READ THIS BOOK AND YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    This is a Goldilocks book...everything is just right!

    This book had elements of all the things I don't like: prologue, dream sequence, tandem storyline from the past, - and it was all woven flawlessly into a magnificent story! Thought provoking, humorous, sexy, it's all here, just enough angst, just enough intrigue, just enough tears. All of this wrapped around characters you will love, love, love...and hate to leave when the last page is turned.

    If you believe as I do that good writing equals good reading: enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Goto

    Cops

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Very good read.

    This is my first book by Ms. Garwood. It is about 900 pages. The story is intriguing. The male is titled and Alpha male. The female is determined. Great love story and the lead people are smart and work together well. The story held my interest throughout. The romance will not disappoint. I enjoy stories where the male is Alpha, smart, and wealthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Great

    What a great author I love her books highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Hannah

    Hey john.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    John

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    The girl

    Ok. /)_(\ >>>> (\*_*/)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Charming different plot.

    Funny dialogue at times kept the situation humerous. Can't miss a good read with a Julie Garwood book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Haven't read a bad Julie Garwood book. This book had it all his

    Haven't read a bad Julie Garwood book. This book had it all history, mystery and of course romance. I felt the characters were interesting and likeable. I like a book that i can get lost in, take me away from the everyday worries and this book does that. I would have loved to know more about Christina's childhood, i think that would have been a great addition to the book. I gave this 5 stars because it was a joy to read. Thanks for a great book Julie, i have the hard copy and now i can read it on my nook. Love it!! Please Julie, need some more historicals from you....been waiting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7