Customer Reviews for

Lions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! (Entangled Covet)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    When heiress to the McLeon fortune, Ainsley McLeon realized som


    When heiress to the McLeon fortune, Ainsley McLeon realized someone is out to kill her, she made sure to get far away from Beverly Hills, California and fled for her life. No using credit cards or that massive bank account for Miss Ainsley. That would make it easy for the bad guys to track her down! So with just $50 in her pocket and a broken down truck, Ainsley walks into a bar and demands a job as a waitress.

    Luc needs a waitress as his last one just went into labor. But the last thing he needs is someone like Ainsley. In her fancy clothes and high heels, she is nothing but trouble and he wants nothing to do with her. But when Ainsley breaks down in tears and he hears her story, Luc can’t resist helping her.

    Ainsley just wants to make enough money waitressing to fix the truck and be on her way. But Luc is irresistible and she is really starting to fall for him. Unfortunately, Ainsley doesn’t know the truth about him and the other patrons of the bar. They’re not all what they seem to be.

    Will Ainsley find out who is trying to kill her and make it back home? Or will Montana forever change this heiress and show her what true love really feels like?

    LIONS, TIGERS, AND SEXY BEARS OH MY! Is a short story by author Candace Havens. This was a fun romantic read that kept me interested from the beginning. Ainsley and Luc had an undeniable chemistry even though they were such opposites. If you’re looking for something nice to read without violence this is a sweet story to curl up with and read before bedtime. Overall, I enjoyed reading about Ainsley and Luc and would love to revisit them in another story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book started out with a bang, almost literally.  Ainsley Mc

    This book started out with a bang, almost literally.  Ainsley McLeon is so cold while on the run from her extended family who she thinks is trying to kill her, that she skids on an icy road and runs right into a tree.  Of course, who can blame her for slamming on the brakes when she is sees a tiger standing in the middle of the road.  The middle of nowhere Montana is not the place for fully grown tigers to just be wandering around. To make matters worse, the tiger jumps up into the back of her pick up and laughs at her while she gives him a running commentary on how bad her life is at the moment.  Luckily for her, she is saved by a local deputy before she is eaten or freezes.  Of course, the deputy tries to persuade her that it was a hallucination, but she knows what she saw.

    With her truck out of commission and unable to access any funds for fear of the shooters tracking her down, Ainsley knows she is going to have to figure out a way to make some money.  When she hears that the local bar, the CubPub is newly short a server, she decides to go apply.  The owner of the CubPub, Luc, doesn't want to take on the problems that Ainsley could bring,  just being in the bar. (Her being full human and all.) He for sure knows that she smells too good and is stirring feelings he thought long dead.  But there is something about her that makes it hard for him to say no to her.  Especially when he finds out that she her family is dead too.  It's not long before Ainsley is getting under the skin of her "big ole' bear".

    I was captivated by this book from the beginning.  Ainsley and Luc make the perfect couple.  Both are scarred emotionally, yet are doing their best to keep going.  They each have some really funny idiosyncrasies that make them unique.  This is billed as a stand alone book, but I would totally read another book or three following up on the town and other characters in it.  The book flowed so quickly and easily, I didn't want to put it down. I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads and will keep my fingers crossed for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Yet Sexy Paranormal Read

    Ainsley McLeon comes from a wealthy family but is accustomed to heartache after the supposed murder of her parents and her current flight to save her life as her uncle's dirty deeds have put her in jeopardy and made her question he brother's loyalty too. Driving down a desolate road in a barely working pick-up in a blizzard leads her even further into danger as a tiger causes her to crash and introduces her to a community full of intriguing individuals who she quickly thinks of as family as the rally around her to keep her safe. That's not to say that Ainsley is defenseless, far from it. She's outspoken and her commanding demeanor wins over gruff bar owner Luc and earns her a waitressing job and a place to stay that's safe and warm with him cooking her all sorts of delectable dishes. Ainsley doesn't like handouts so she makes it her mission to wipe away the darkness and grief she sees surrounding Luc. Before she knows it she's fallen in love with him wholeheartedly. Even knowing what kind of creature he is doesn't turn her off, it's a turn on in fact as they start a relationship that they agree is just temporary. An event late in the story causes the annoying Big Misunderstanding that pulls them apart but ultimately makes them realize how important they are to one another in a quickly concluded HEA.

    Luc is thought of by everyone in town as a gruff old bear which is a very accurate description early on. He's still dealing with the grief of losing his wife, son, and entire family in a flood and doesn't want to enter that darkness ever again so he keeps himself closed off. The moment Ainsley enters his bar he's completely overwhelmed as she easily wins over everyone including him. His protective instincts kick in as the emotional barriers he's worked hard to enact quickly crumble through her smiles and take no prisoners attitude. Luc's an immensely likable character who's strong, loyal, and caring even if his past does make him act irrational late in the story. He does numerous sweet things for her that completely belie what everyone thinks of him and I found myself completely smitten with him. Seeing him emerge from his emotional darkness brought a smile to my face and the connection between him and Ainsley made for a fun journey full of witty banter and sexual tension that led to some heavy sexual interludes.

    The town Ainsley's come to is full of shifters who have slight differences that set them apart from the usual shifters. Their emotions are intense but get stronger closer to the full moon. Warmth makes those who are bear shifters have difficulty staying awake so they keep their homes cold. Once they find their mates feelings of jealousy become more intense which can lead to bloody fights. Ainsley easily accepts the members of this community as they are since they've opened their hearts and homes to her making her feel like a member of their family. Along with a delightful main couple came a slew of memorable secondary characters that I'd love to see more of. Ian especially has me intrigued as grief drove him to lose himself in his tiger form. Meeting Ainsley on that deserted road was the catalyst for him to find his humanity as the latter part of the story dealt with his recovery and I long to see him get his well-deserved HEA. This was a fast-paced story that was sweet yet sexy and though some events were glossed over I still found this story immensely satisfying. Here's hoping Ms. Havens revisits this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of the funniest and most enjoyable books I have read

    This is one of the funniest and most enjoyable books I have read so far this year. I really just loved it and couldnt put it down until I finished.

    The characters are total opposites and watching them interact is pure enjoyment. Ainsley belongs in a city setting but after some pretty serious family drama ends up crashed in a small town in Montana. Luc has his own secrets as well as the secrets of the town. He doesnt want her to be there, but he cant get rid of her either. Both have pasts and even current issues and watching them deal with them and each other makes for an enjoyable evening.

    Its more of a novella than a full length novel in length, but there is plenty packed in to the pages. The action keeps moving and there are no lags in the story or progression. The only issue I had was I thought the ending seemed rushed. It felt like there was a page or two missing or a small section skipped to get to the resolution. However as I said the rest was impossible to put down.

    Im looking forward to more of her books and hope that one day we get to visit this interesting town again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    The Premise: A Montana town where no one is who they seem.... E

    The Premise:
    A Montana town where no one is who they seem....
    Everything about runaway heiress Ainsley McLeon screamed trouble—from her luscious midnight locks to her Louboutin-clad toes.
    Yet sexy, stoic bar owner Luc couldn’t deny the instant connection he felt to the tempting stranger…or the long-dead feelings she evoked. She could work in his pub until her truck was fixed but after that she had to leave town for good. Ainsley traveled with her own emotional baggage and there was no way she'd fall for the bear-tempered Luc...no matter how many passionate nights she spent in his bed or how safe she felt in his muscular arms. Can these two opposites find love in the middle of a blizzard, or will Luc's darker side and Ainsley's past catch up with them?

    My Thoughts:
    I love humor ... especially when dealing with off-the-wall situations such as the one Ainsley finds herself in. I also loved her take-charge-and-do-what-I-say attitude and hold of the customer's in Luc's bar. If I could have changed anything at all about this story, it would have been to ask for more ... more pages, more insight into the characters, and more development of all the subplots. However, as quick read it was thoroughly entertaining. If you enjoy supernatural shape shifters, you'll find an abundance of them here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Ainsley is running for her life. She has left everything behind

    Ainsley is running for her life. She has left everything behind and now the truck she bought has left her stranded in a small town in Montana. She finds work in a local bar and even if the boss man says she can't have a job she goes to work waiting on tables anyway. Luc knows she is trouble but can't help be drawn to her anyway. What Ainsley is soon to find out is this isn't a normal town or people. You would think she would run screaming but she just stays and learns to like the people. Even the growling bar owner Luc. While they heat up the nights there just may be to many differences between them for things to work out.




    Ainsley is rich but far from spoiled. She doesn't want anyone to pave her way. I really liked her. She seems like the type of person you would enjoy being around. She has a temper and lets it out on occasion and can be very hard headed. Luc is a man you wouldn't mind being snowed in with. While he is strong he tries his best to control his strength. He is sexy, can be very moody and hard headed as well. These two bump heads more than once but it is so fun to watch them together.




    From the first page I really liked this book. It kept my attention, I liked the characters and I liked how the story flows. From sexy scenes to funny scenes it all fits perfectly within this book. I enjoyed getting to know both the main characters as well as the secondary ones. Ainsley is so much fun to read about. She doesn't care to stand up to anyone or anything and at times doesn't think before she charges in. It's funny to see people cower around her and really listen. I really hope to see more of the other characters some day and see what their story ends up being. This book is full of love, lust, danger, shifters and two very stubborn people. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good paranormal romance book with fantastic characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Actually, I would give this book 4.5 stars if I could.  It drew

    Actually, I would give this book 4.5 stars if I could.  It drew me in from the first line and kept me until the end.




    The characters are straight forward and say what they are thinking.  There is a wonderful cast of secondary characters that I loved.  There is humor.  And there is chemistry.  All of the characters came alive for me and I was hooked.




    The side story with Ainsley's family issues (won't spoil it) was kind of brushed over.  It had the potential to be more.




    I really enjoyed this book.  And I am really hoping that Ian gets his own story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "LOL Funny" Laugh out loud hilario

    booksbysteph says "LOL Funny"


    Laugh out loud hilarious!

    I feel in love with the character of Ainsley. Even though she practically owns half the world, she does dirty and hard work through the pain from the accident just to make money to fix her truck. While she is not your typical size 2 heiress, she is more like a size 12, she has spunk and charm that is irresistible. And the way she can handle a crowd of rowdy animals will have you in hysterics. You will fall in love with Ainsley as fast as the town did!

    I could not and did not put this book down. Tigers in Montana, humans shifting into animals, lots of emotional eating and love...what more can you ask for? A murder? You got it! This book will leave you pleasantly surprised.

    Until next time, live life one page at a time! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ainsley McLeon is running from trouble of the life threatening k

    Ainsley McLeon is running from trouble of the life threatening kind and where better for a girl from Beverly Hills to hide out than in the wilds of Montana. Nobody in their right minds would think she would head there. Let’s just say that Ainsley is not your outdoorsy type and leave it at that. When events land her cold, hungry and stranded on the doorstep of the Cub Club Ainsley is immediately distracted by the big bear of a man that owns it. Luc is always grumpy in the winter and having Ainsley show up hungry and hurting isn't something he wants to deal with. But she smells so good and he can hardly turn down a lady in distress. As their association grows so do their feelings for one another but they both have issues in their pasts that conspire to keep them apart. Can they overcome their issues and find love or will events conspire to keep them apart? 




    Candace Havens sucks you into her world of reclusive shifters, mystery and mayhem with a sweet sense of humor and a dash of spice. This is a story that once you pick it up you won’t want to put down. 




    I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first time for me reading Candace Havens but it won'

    This is the first time for me reading Candace Havens but it won't be the last. I loved this book and found it to be a great story, with wonderful character that left me wanting more. I found the humor to be just right and on more then one occasion couldn't help but laughing. From the very beginning the story grabs you, and pulls you in.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    As soon as I read the title for this book I knew I had to sign u

    As soon as I read the title for this book I knew I had to sign up for an ARC copy and I'm glad I did.




    I loved the characters and laughed out loud so many times. I found it so refreshing to read a romance that had the characters feel the attraction and follow through with it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Assuming there will be another book, I will be buying it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Advanced copy. I really liked the premise for this book. Did I m

    Advanced copy. I really liked the premise for this book. Did I miss who the Lion was? I got the tiger and the sexy bear. I was impressed with the heroine in this book, rich but willing to do what it takes to survive. She could put any man in line with a smile. Tough too. It was cool that she liked to eat when stressed (like most of us do) and not a size 0 (just add ten to that for some of us). Nice touch with him being a cook and going to write a cook book. Loved the small town setting where everyone looks out for another. Some parts seemed rushed and not given enough detail but it was a short book so maybe that's why some things were not covered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I must say this was my first shifter book, have never read any

    I must say this was my first shifter book, have never read anything like this before, not my typical genre, but I really enjoyed it. Read it in two sittings. It kept my mind going, very different. An easy fun read, take me away read.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was able to finish Lions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! by Can

    I was able to finish Lions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! by Candace Havens. I found this story really cute. I know that's not something you hear to often when you think of paranormal romance. Paranormal romances conjure up words like action-pack, hot, and danger. Not words like cute and sweet. However, there is a first for everything, right? Right.
    What drew me to Lions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! was the title itself. I mean come on the title alone sounds like a lot of fun. Plus, who wouldn't want a sexy bear keeping you warm at night, especially up in Montana. Trust me it gets cold up there.
    Well, Ainsley McLeon kind of stumbled upon some really bad stuff and figured she needed to get herself out of dodge. Smart girl. Anyways, she wasn't really dress for the area she made her escape. I mean who wears Louboutin in the middle of winter in Montana. Fortunately, she's able to hideout in the middle of nowhere Montana and she was able to get a job at the only bar in town, which happens to be own by Luc, oh are sexy bear. He even has a bears temperament at times. 
    I honestly thought Lions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! was cute and fun read. I mean I really like how Ainsley pushes herself into Luc's life and the town. I mean it's not always easy to win over shifters, but she manages just fine. Plus, she doesn't take any guff from nobody. Yes, Luc can be thick headed bear at times, even when he lets past events kind of dictate his life. 
    My favorite line has to be: "If you ever fight in here again, I will personally hang your balls from the rafters." 
    Seriously, who doesn't love girl who can stand on her own two feet and talk that way to some shifters. The bottom line: fun cute read. So, if you are looking for tigers bears that aren't too dangerous, you might want to give Lions, Tigers, and Sexy Bears Oh My! a try.

    Copy provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    This was such a fun read. Once I picked it up, I couldn't stop u

    This was such a fun read. Once I picked it up, I couldn't stop until I had finished it. It was a real page turner filled with humor, suspense and sexy romance. So if you like a book filled with surprises, then this is one book you should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really loved this book and am already planning a re-read. The

    I really loved this book and am already planning a re-read. The characters were great and Luc...dear god that man was hot
    and I could not get enough of him.  The story was well written and the plot/world building was fun to read. It also had a great amount of steam 
    (for me anyways) and the right amount of humor.  The author really made this book come alive and I hope we get a chance in the future
    to see more about this shifter community.  Ian needs to find his mate, after all! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Received an ARC for an honest review. A very sweet and sexy sha

    Received an ARC for an honest review. A very sweet and sexy shape shifter story. Ainsley is in trouble, guys with guns are after her, so what's a girl to do? She catches a plane to the last place anyone would think to find her. She ends up stranded in a small town in Montana, crashing her truck during a blizzard after she sees a tiger (Ian). She ends up working in a bar for a grumpy BEAR of a man named Luc, to pay for the truck repairs and ends up falling for him. She soon learns the town is full of shape shifters, including the man she is falling in love with and her new protector from the bad guys. I loved Ainsley, she is eating a pan of brownies one minute and punching troublesome bar customers the next. Lots of super hot alpha males and sweet story about finding a family where you least expect it. I loved it and would love to see Ian find some happiness as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Montana town where no one is who they seem.... Everything abo

    A Montana town where no one is who they seem.... Everything about runaway heiress Ainsley McLeon screamed trouble—from her luscious midnight locks to her Louboutin-clad toes. Yet sexy, stoic bar owner Luc couldn’t deny the instant connection he felt to the tempting stranger…or the long-dead feelings she evoked. She could work in his pub until her truck was fixed but after that she had to leave town for good. Ainsley traveled with her own emotional baggage and there was no way she'd fall for the bear-tempered Luc...no matter how many passionate nights she spent in his bed or how safe she felt in his muscular arms. Can these two opposites find love in the middle of a blizzard, or will Luc's darker side and Ainsley's past catch up with them?


    Review:


    I don't think there are enough bear shifter books, that is my opinion anyway, so if you feel like me you should read this book.


    I have only read one of Ms. Havens other books and that was not a paranormal, so I was happy to find such a fun, sexy paranormal read.


    Ainsley is on the run for her life, from a member of family. Not knowing who to trust she runs and unlike a lot of books this character actually does the smart thing and does not use credit cards or phones that can be traced back to her (thank you!). Ainsley is a great heroine, though she maybe a heiress she is not afraid to work and not the "poor little rich girl" we get in a lot of stories.

    Because she is trying to be smart and only use cash, she buys a hunk of junk and in a snow storm nearly misses a tiger and crashes. Ainsley is found by the local Deputy and brought to a community of shifters. Needing money she goes into the local pub and asks for a job from the sexy, grumpy, bear shifter Luc. The sparks fly from there when he does not want her there and she goes and starts working for him anyway...lol

    Luc lost his family long ago and still has trouble getting past that hurt though soon, Ainsley gets under Luc's skin and soon the sexual tension is too over powering and they give in to the lust. Luc is protective and definitely all alpha male, but I just wanted to snuggle up to him.

    We also get some good action and mystery when Ainsley's past catches up to her.


    In the end you get a great story with two characters who are flawed, but are both smart and strong. This was a smart, fun, exciting and sexy paranormal read. Thank you for writing such a smart, flawed, strong heroine.


    4 licks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Good Book! Oh My! What an original and entertaining book. The

    Good Book!

    Oh My! What an original and entertaining book. The cover is eye-catching and dares you to open up the book and take a peek inside, while the title itself makes you wonder with curiosity about the storyline. This is a fast-paced paranormal romance about an heiress, an area populated by animal shifters and love.

    Wealthy and smart Ainsley McLeon is on the run because someone is trying to kill her. She recently discovered her family's two sets of financial books and overheard a conversation between her uncle and her brother about embezzlement. Paying cash so that she cannot be traced, Ainsley ends up in the wilderness of Montana, after surviving a tiger citing, an SUV accident and hypothermia. She is rescued by the local deputy and realizes that she needs to find a job quickly, in order to get her vehicle fixed so she can move on as soon as possible.

    Due to Patty going into labor much earlier than expected, The Cub Club needs a new waitress. Lucas immediately noticed Ainsley the minute she walked into his bar. When their eyes met, there was an instant attraction and spark. Ainsley, drawing upon her business acumen and people skills, convinces Lucas to hire her for the job. Her spunky personality and good looks instantly charm him and his customers, even though she is hurting from the accident. Lucas ends up taking care of her while she recuperates from her injuries and overtime, they get to know each other intimately. As a former FBI agent, Lucas is also looking into Ainsley's predicament.

    A potential volatile incident occurs in the bar, which causes Lucas to shift partly into his animal form of a bear, which of course surprises Ainsley. None of the other patrons are concerned because they are shifters as well. However, Lucas' intimidating stance instantly quiets everyone down. Ainsley doesn't freakout, she just hides out in the kitchen closet. Lucas finds her and explains a few things about himself and the community she temporarily calls home.

    Their relationship continues to grow and they fall in love. However, a few events occur that may jeopardize their future together. Luckily, love does conquer all.

    I received this ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2