BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 385 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Lions of Lurcene

Brad Thor has just become my new "gotta read" author--I picked this up knowing I was going to be needing something to read while waiting for appointments.Well- it did not stay in my purse when I made it home- I ended up staying awake till I finished it. I am also so exc...
Brad Thor has just become my new "gotta read" author--I picked this up knowing I was going to be needing something to read while waiting for appointments.Well- it did not stay in my purse when I made it home- I ended up staying awake till I finished it. I am also so excited to see there are quite a few more books in this series to enjoy. This is a keeper and I know I will be re-reading it--a few times. This is not a book JUST for women or men- it is for those who like adventure and a bit of humor in their stories.

posted by Shamrocks on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Good Spring-board Into The Rest Of The Series

I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is ...
I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is interesting, it is also predictable and the ending is a bit anti-climatic. However, this book really develops Scot Harvath's character for the rest of the books and character development is one thing that Thor does and excellent job of executing. This really should be read in order to fully appreciate the other books.

posted by Silas_Dogood on August 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 386 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Spring-board Into The Rest Of The Series

    I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is interesting, it is also predictable and the ending is a bit anti-climatic. However, this book really develops Scot Harvath's character for the rest of the books and character development is one thing that Thor does and excellent job of executing. This really should be read in order to fully appreciate the other books.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lions of Lurcene

    Brad Thor has just become my new "gotta read" author--I picked this up knowing I was going to be needing something to read while waiting for appointments.Well- it did not stay in my purse when I made it home- I ended up staying awake till I finished it. I am also so excited to see there are quite a few more books in this series to enjoy. This is a keeper and I know I will be re-reading it--a few times. This is not a book JUST for women or men- it is for those who like adventure and a bit of humor in their stories.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Picture "The Bourne Identity" meets "Air Force One"

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were enjoyable and the plot was interesting. There could have been a little more character development, but then again, this was the abridged version so perhaps that was a part that was skimmed down.

    I found myself being able to get into the action as the main character continues to search for clues as to who kidnapped the President and how to get him back alive.

    While aspects of the plot might have seemed a little farfetched at times, it was still believable enough in the world of conspiracies and spies. If you are someone who likes action and adventure, this book makes a good "read", especially while commuting to work!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    One of Brad Thor's BEST books!

    I've read a few of Brad's books (Scot Harvath Series) until I decided to read all his Scot Harvath stories in date written order, which #1 is "The Lions of Lucerne". What a rollercoaster ride--excitement, thrills, adventure, and an amazing journey through the eyes of a special ops warrior as he experiences danger and threats. I'd say this is my No. 1 favorite, although all his books are amazing. Great story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    It's written well enough but just a bit too much

    My first read of Brad Thor. I like authors like Deaver, Flynn, Connelly etc and a friend said "give Thor a try, he's good".

    I will agree the book was entertaining I found it a bit to much for me. Fiction is just that but to me it needs to be somewhat believable however this book was not. Everything lined up too well, all the key players were of course folks Scot would be the first to trust only to turn out to be in on it, really?

    Another thing that just made me shake my head was there was a little too much extra fill writing in places there did not need to be. Something to be said in 2 pages would drag on for 10 - I have never seen this before in any of my other favorite authors but having said that I will continue book 2 just see how that one fair in comparison to this... I can only hope things get a little better..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Not My Cup of Tea

    Good plot & story. Not well written & immature.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Ebook read

    This was a good book to start using my Nook. It was a fast and exciting read. Liked most of the plot, but thought that the author wrote Scot to be a really super hero type character, yet he sure made some stupid mistakes. Still liked the idea. I have travelled in Europe and it was fun to recognize places I have seen.
    Good overall book.
    Enjoy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Action Series!

    This series is action packed and will keep you guessing. If you love spy novels, then this series is for you! Excellent read, a real page turner!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    While it is a fiction book, it is a little too fictitious. The m

    While it is a fiction book, it is a little too fictitious. The main character is okay but the story line of trusting everyone and getting stabbed in the back is a little too old. Also how he kept avoiding being killed by two of the best assassin teams in the world is simply unconceivable.

    I did enjoy the book enough to give his second novel a try. If it is like this one I will be through with Mr. Thor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I have to agree with several of the reviews here stating that th

    I have to agree with several of the reviews here stating that this was not Thor's best work. I good read and springboard into the series, which gets better with each book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I love Scot & Brad Thor.

    I just thought I would try one of Brad Thor's books to see how I liked him, I am love with another author. I just finished my third one. I toyed with the idea of reading someone else now or Brad again. Brad just won out. I am buying the fourth novel tonight!! He is a good read and though I don't see one Pulitzer after another with this series, I CANNOT put Scot away just yet. Brad, please keep writing about my boy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very fast reading with a lot of action and adventure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Good quick tead

    Read all in one day-enjoyed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    a little too much detail

    This was my first Brad Thor novel... and I've already purchased another (still unread) but I'm hoping that the next in the Scot Harvath series won't be quite as detailed... I found myself scanning many of the paragraphs in this one.
    The plot and story line here are terrific with an interesting twist that you don't see coming. But unless you're familiar with Switzerland, all the street names and locations are an unnecessary distraction to the story. Also... poor Scot! It's a wonder he was still standing at the end... not sure many mere mortals could escape as many brushes with death as he did in such a short time... there were enough to last for at least another whole story!
    This author was recommended to me... I'll continue to follow Scot's escapades with hopes that sequels to Lions are easier reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    I'm listening to the audiobook, which makes it difficult to skip

    I'm listening to the audiobook, which makes it difficult to skip the tedious detail in many sections of the book - sometimes heroes are too wise-cracking and too hard-ass. Very frustrating to listen to - seems the editor has done a poor job here.

    This is my first Brad Thor book, and his first too, so maybe we can both get better

    Will be keen test book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Brad Thor is an excellent writer!

    I've enjoyed each and every one of the Scott Harvath thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Lionkit

    Why! Why! Why?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Girls here

    Emmas the name

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Excellent, well crafted

    As always, excellent ensemble of characters, complex but understandable story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 386 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20