BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 384 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Lions of Lurcene

Brad Thor has just become my new "gotta read" author--I picked this up knowing I was going to be needing something to read while waiting for appointments.Well- it did not stay in my purse when I made it home- I ended up staying awake till I finished it. I am also so exc...
Brad Thor has just become my new "gotta read" author--I picked this up knowing I was going to be needing something to read while waiting for appointments.Well- it did not stay in my purse when I made it home- I ended up staying awake till I finished it. I am also so excited to see there are quite a few more books in this series to enjoy. This is a keeper and I know I will be re-reading it--a few times. This is not a book JUST for women or men- it is for those who like adventure and a bit of humor in their stories.

posted by Shamrocks on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Good Spring-board Into The Rest Of The Series

I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is ...
I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is interesting, it is also predictable and the ending is a bit anti-climatic. However, this book really develops Scot Harvath's character for the rest of the books and character development is one thing that Thor does and excellent job of executing. This really should be read in order to fully appreciate the other books.

posted by Silas_Dogood on August 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Spring-board Into The Rest Of The Series

    I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is interesting, it is also predictable and the ending is a bit anti-climatic. However, this book really develops Scot Harvath's character for the rest of the books and character development is one thing that Thor does and excellent job of executing. This really should be read in order to fully appreciate the other books.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    While it is a fiction book, it is a little too fictitious. The m

    While it is a fiction book, it is a little too fictitious. The main character is okay but the story line of trusting everyone and getting stabbed in the back is a little too old. Also how he kept avoiding being killed by two of the best assassin teams in the world is simply unconceivable.

    I did enjoy the book enough to give his second novel a try. If it is like this one I will be through with Mr. Thor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I have to agree with several of the reviews here stating that th

    I have to agree with several of the reviews here stating that this was not Thor's best work. I good read and springboard into the series, which gets better with each book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    a little too much detail

    This was my first Brad Thor novel... and I've already purchased another (still unread) but I'm hoping that the next in the Scot Harvath series won't be quite as detailed... I found myself scanning many of the paragraphs in this one.
    The plot and story line here are terrific with an interesting twist that you don't see coming. But unless you're familiar with Switzerland, all the street names and locations are an unnecessary distraction to the story. Also... poor Scot! It's a wonder he was still standing at the end... not sure many mere mortals could escape as many brushes with death as he did in such a short time... there were enough to last for at least another whole story!
    This author was recommended to me... I'll continue to follow Scot's escapades with hopes that sequels to Lions are easier reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Walk On By

    A brainless but action packed read. The author does not think much of his reader as there is a great deal of redundancy and a thought that could be conveyed in a paragraph often takes a chapter. On a long plane ride? Sleep is a better alternative.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    A Quick Read

    Well crafted suspense, for the most part moves along fairly well...does get a little wordy in sections (giving background information on main character).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lions and tigers and terrorists... oh my..

    Brad Thor's first book, he had a fair start. His writing style isn't well defined yet. Perspective wanes back and forth but overall it's a good story with a good ending. The main character goes through misery but because of his patriotism, is able to survive to tell the tale. It is enough of a read to want me to pick up his next book. 'Lions..' was recommended by a friend, who is big in conspiracy fiction and proclaims that Thor is one of the more well informed writers today and promises that Thor's later works show vast improvement. I look forward to them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    First book, a little rough around the edges

    This is Mr Thor's first book and the first one of his I have read. His hero appears like a teenager dealing with hormones rather than an experienced secret service agent. Too much unnecessary profanity. The story line is ok if not great. I will read another one of his books and hope he has matured as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    A Good Airplane Read

    If action is your form of entertainment, this is the book for you. I picked it up because of the reviews, but was disapointed. Too little story, too little character development, and too many narrow escapes. This reminded me of the old Westerns where where the hero got 20 to 30 shots from his 'Six-Gun'. The hired 'professional' asassians, and there were many, can't hit the broad side of a barn, but our hero's hit them in the center of the head/chest, with one shot, every time. A good way to kill some time, but I disagree that its on the level of Ludlum or Flynn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Is Robert Ludlam back?

    Fans of the late Robert Ludlam may be well pleased to see Brad Thor appear on the horizon. While his first novel has several weaknesses, he appears to be a worthy successor to the international thriller genre. <p> Certainly this novel is written to the Ludlam formula: A highly competent government agent finds himself disgraced as exactly the event he is supposed to prevent happens on his watch. Said agent goes outside the rules, travels to exotic European locales, and finds a beautiful but lethal counterpart with whom he falls in lvoe as together they work to bring down a coalition of some of the most powerful men on Earth. Thor even uses some of the same names and exact locations as Ludlam. <p> The lack of originality notwithstanding, Thor shows promise as a writer. He draws you into his characters well enough that you care about them. Even though his protagonist is something of Superman (surviving an avelanche, a gunshot wound, a swim in a sub-freezing river, and other various mishaps and hardships while still having the strength to climb a sheer ice wall towards the end of the book), the frustration he feels as his efforts so often fail brings him that third dimension necessary for a sympathetic character. <p> The plotline twists so often that the twists begin showing up on radar: i.e., 'This person appears to be a friend so he must be an enemy.' The characters too often think and speak in cliches, and the dialogue in many cases does not ring true. Still, the action is intense and the language very readable. <p> Thor has talent as a writer. Once he refines his style and learns to avoid the obvious cliches, his books should become some of the best thrillers ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3