Customer Reviews for

The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 374 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Lions of Lurcene

Brad Thor has just become my new "gotta read" author--I picked this up knowing I was going to be needing something to read while waiting for appointments.Well- it did not stay in my purse when I made it home- I ended up staying awake till I finished it. I am also so exc...
Brad Thor has just become my new "gotta read" author--I picked this up knowing I was going to be needing something to read while waiting for appointments.Well- it did not stay in my purse when I made it home- I ended up staying awake till I finished it. I am also so excited to see there are quite a few more books in this series to enjoy. This is a keeper and I know I will be re-reading it--a few times. This is not a book JUST for women or men- it is for those who like adventure and a bit of humor in their stories.

posted by Shamrocks on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good Spring-board Into The Rest Of The Series

I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is ...
I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is interesting, it is also predictable and the ending is a bit anti-climatic. However, this book really develops Scot Harvath's character for the rest of the books and character development is one thing that Thor does and excellent job of executing. This really should be read in order to fully appreciate the other books.

posted by Silas_Dogood on August 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    A Quick Read

    Well crafted suspense, for the most part moves along fairly well...does get a little wordy in sections (giving background information on main character).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Once you get into this book, (past the first couple of chapters) you can't put it down. The mystery spins in many directions and now has me interested in reading the other books in the Scot Harvath series. It's a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Started with the last book in the Scot Harvath Series. So good t

    Started with the last book in the Scot Harvath Series. So good that I have started reading entire series. The Lions of Lucerne was so good I could not put it down. Kept me up late at night reading when I should have been sleeping. Outstanding book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    While it is a fiction book, it is a little too fictitious. The m

    While it is a fiction book, it is a little too fictitious. The main character is okay but the story line of trusting everyone and getting stabbed in the back is a little too old. Also how he kept avoiding being killed by two of the best assassin teams in the world is simply unconceivable.

    I did enjoy the book enough to give his second novel a try. If it is like this one I will be through with Mr. Thor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I have to agree with several of the reviews here stating that th

    I have to agree with several of the reviews here stating that this was not Thor's best work. I good read and springboard into the series, which gets better with each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Great Thriller

    This was a suspense filled, thriller of a ride. Hard to put down, enjoyable from start to finish! Get this book, and read Thor's other books too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Exciting Thriller

    Fast paced action with twists and turns you don't see coming. I'm reading the whole series now and have been disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    On to book 2!

    If you love Vince Flynn like I do, this author is well worth the read! The lead character, Scott Harvath, is growing on me. Not quite the bad ass Mitch Rapp is, but since I'm just starting book two, he has time to grow on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Enjoyed

    I read Black List first and loved it, wanted to read more so I started at the beginning ~ now on to book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Really exciting

    I had never heard of this author before for some reason, but I am glad I found him. The book has non-stop action and suspense. Not too gory, though, which I appreciate. And this is the first book in the series, so I think his writing skills will probably even improve with later iterations. Quite a page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Willowkit

    She smiles and heads bac to camp. Just in case we need to meet again remember this spot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Lionkit

    I will.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great Story

    One of my favorites! It's a must read and clearly a keeper! It will keep you up all night. In short, you will find this one addictive! Enjoy the ride!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    another page turner

    I enjoyed this spy thriller it was fast moving and had enough twists to keep it going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Like the other reviews I have read this is a very interesting an

    Like the other reviews I have read this is a very interesting and certainly exciting story. I am not much of a writer so this review may sound less than professional. While the plot is great, the action is great, the ending is great, only one thing keeps from giving this book five stars. I just found it somewhat difficult to believe that one human being could take so much physical abuse what with being beat up and shot, and still come back as though it were day one. While I give great credit to the physical condition of our Navy Seals, there is just so much the human body can take in the way of physical trauma and not need sufficient down time to recover to the level our hearo does in this read. Would I buy the next in the series, of course, and am looking forward to reading it. Great job. Keep it up Mr. Thor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    wow!

    You can shot him, try to drown him, beat him, stab him. You can kill this guy. I love it!!! Way to go Brad Thor!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Action

    Lots of action. Unbelievable. Is it really like this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    This was the first book I read by this author - found it to be v

    This was the first book I read by this author - found it to be very well written, entertaining, hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Excellent read!!

    If you love Vince Flynn, and I do, you will love this book. I am now reading all of his books and haven't been disappointed yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19