Customer Reviews for

Lip Service

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    A Sensitive Subject

    In Lip Service, MJ Rose has beautifully written about an all-too-common situation in American society. Her characters are realistic, as too is the emotion we feel, being brought into a world from which, seemingly there is no escape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I've read M.J. Rose's Reincarnationist series, so when I was giv

    I've read M.J. Rose's Reincarnationist series, so when I was given the chance to read Lip Service, I jumped at it. This book is totally different from what fans of that series expect.




    It deals with the phone sex industry and how Julia is drawn into it.




    Most of M.J. Rose's books are thrillers or at least suspenseful. This book can only be described as psychological erotica.




    The parts of the books when Julia is taking calls will leave you hot and bothered. M.J. Rose really knows how to write the steamy stuff. She does it better than a lot of romance authors putting out erotica.




    But this story is more than just the phone sex. Julia has a history of mental illness, but her therapist husband is overprotective of her, when it's obvious that it isn't necessary. We don't know a lot about Paul, and I think that's what makes it hard to figure out what is up with him. There are definitely some holes in the plot around her relationship with her husband. The whole part of the IRS checking out his non-profit didn't get finished in the way I thought it would, plus there were so many issues in his relationship with Julia that didn't get addressed.




    I couldn't quite understand why Julia stayed in her oppressed relationship. She was smarter and had the support of many people. It didn't make much sense to me, but her staying did help the story along, because you know there would be some climactic thing once Paul knew about her and the phone sex.  I really liked Sam Butterfield's take on role playing and phone sex. It gave a different perspective to something that seems really sleazy.








    Overall Lip Service was an enjoyable read. Not at all what I was expecting, but a good read, that kept me turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lip Service Deserves Your Reading Service

    "Certain eastern cultures see sexuality not as a fall from grace but as a way to ascend to a state of grace, to a state of self-realization." ~ pg. 33

    Lip Service is a sensual erotic book by international bestselling author M.J. Rose. Main character Julia Sterling is a married 38-year-old woman living in Manhattan, working as a journalist. To the public eye, she has a decent career and is loyal to her stepson, friends and husband of 14 years. Secretly, she is an accomplice to sexual refunctioning—helping people to realize their full sexual potential. Julia accepted an opportunity to co-author a book on sexual role-playing therapy. This out-of-the-ordinary writing job introduces her to the daring world of phone sex. It stirs up passion and fantasies in Julia that were long-forgotten.

    The story takes place in 1996 and was originally self-published in 1999. In fact, M.J. Rose's Lip Service made history as the first self-published eBook. Atria Books chose the perfect time to re-release Lip Service, 13 years later at the peak of the erotic fiction Fifty Shades era. This sexual coming-of-age (pun intended) book is ideal for book clubs and mature women. M.J. Rose's writing is descriptive and enticing. There is an unexpected twist and ending that will satisfy readers.

    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I received this book from the publisher for review. I really en

    I received this book from the publisher for review.

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Julia grew up with a father who was a therapist so she was always analyzed. When she struck out on her own in college she realized that she didn't really know who she was and that all of the decisions she had made up to that point were made to make her parents happy. She became sexually promiscuous and finally had a mental breakdown and ended up back home.

    There, she met Paul at a party at her parent's house. He was a colleague of her father's and her father fully supported her dating and eventually marrying Paul. Paul is a single widowed father. His wife died in a tragic horse riding accident. He constantly treats Julia as though she is a patient instead of his wife. Julia does have a very good relationship with Paul's son Max though.

    She is also very close to an old college friend, Jack. She still keeps in touch with him over the phone.

    Paul is very conscience of appearances and Julia fits into this world well because she has been a people pleaser all of her life. She puts on a mask to the world when she is at his side at parties and events. At one specific event she runs into Sam Butterfield of the Butterfield institute and he approaches her to write a book with him about a new sex therapy that he is working on at the institute. She agrees, but Paul is completely against her doing this. She keeps everything from him and actually becomes a phone sex therapist behind his back. She begins to realize who the real Julia is and realizes that her marriage is doomed.

    This story is so good. There is so much suspense and there's a little twist that I didn't see coming. I really enjoyed it. If you're looking for a suspenseful page turner with some sexy scenes, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    Great book

    I'm most intrested in romanace novels.This was one with both erotic and emotional forms of divercity. I loved it, and would recomend it. I didnt like the ending as well as it could have been , but over all it was excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    Intelligent Erotica - What A Concept!

    Since I run a very popular site on sexuality and publish several adult newsletters, I read lots of erotica. This is the first that I have ever recommended without any hesitation. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down! This book doesn't insult its readers the way so many erotic stories do. It has a well developed plot that leads the reader to question their own sexual identities and expand their horizons. This book says loud and clear that sexuality is a healthy part of our lives. A lesson that so many Americans need to hear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    PHONE SEX IS BETTER THAN NO SEX!

    LIP SERVICE, an erotic novel by M.J.Rose(a pseudonym), had an unusual beginning. After Ms.Rose wrote her book, she tried to get it published with no results. Being the kind of writer who doesn't give up, she decided to publish the novel herself and sell it on the Internet. She did so with a certain degree of success. Eventually--through word of mouth--the novel caught the attention of Simon & Schuster, and the rest is history. Such trivia makes for a more interesting read. Anyway, LIP SERVICE, is the story of Julia Sterling, a housewife who is at the crossroads of her life. While in college she suffered a nervous breakdown due to the stressful demands placed on her by her father, a successful psychiatrist. She then married a renowned psychiatrist, Paul Sterling,who had just lost his wife in a riding accident. From then on, Paul treated his new wife as if she were a patient, or even worse, like his personal property. Years later, Julia finally reaches the breaking point. Uphappy with her life and wanting to start a career as a journalist, she takes on a writing assignment to do a book on an Institute which deals in human sexuality. In order to do research on the subject, she agrees to take on a part-time job as a 'phone sex' operator. This leads her to discover certain things about her own sexuality and about the lack of sex in her sterile marriage. Julia has several encounters with strangers on the phone, and the dialogue is quite arousing. One stranger admits to having sex with his young daughter and causes Julia to go to police in an effort to find this man and stop him. This in turn leads the police to use Julia as a means of finding out if the Institute is actually a front for prostitution. Will Julia's marriage end due to her sexual activities, or will it survive? How will her husband handle the secrets she is hiding from him? What about Jack Griffin, an old flame from college who still loves her, will she end up having an affair with him? There are a number of twists and turns in this novel which lead to answers to the above questions. Some of the twists,or subplots, work and some don't. Ms. Rose writes extremely well, and I suspect her next novel will be even better. She has a good character in Julia Sterling, and the erotic content of the novel is definitely hot. My feeling is that she should have stayed directly with the main character and not have veered off into the other subplots. They take away from the story and its natural flow. Still,I recommend this novel and look forward to reading her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2000

    This is definitely a good Adult read.

    Although fiction, this book was very thought-provoking for me. If you can get through the first chapter and understand that the book just wouldn't be 'the book' without the 'adult language', it is a really fine story. Just when you think you have it figured out, there is another twist. You will see Julia become a much stronger person through her experiences. It's always good to see people grow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1