Customer Reviews for

Lip Service (Lone Star Sisters Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Kat ro angle

    Tell ur bro to com on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Josh

    I smile and sit on the egde of the bed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    This was a book with lots and lots of drama! WOW - one drama on

    This was a book with lots and lots of drama! WOW - one drama on top of the others! With three sisters and a close girlfriend who is like a sister this is quite a feast of drama. It does not help the the father is the most unbelievable cold hearted jerk who would rather respect and admire his bastard son vs keeping his daughters safe. A father who is so totalitarian that he would sacrifice his daughters if they do not do what he asked of them.

    Oh wait, there is also a wounded amputee who has lost for many years and found and about to loose again the love of his life. Who struggles to find himself in his new situation with the ranch in different state then what he had left before he shipped out.

    Can't wait for the the next book in the series to see how the fight with "dad" plays out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I love Susan Mallery, but found this book to be a difficult read. I read the first book in the series and loved how the characters seemed like strong women willing to do some work to get their man. I bought this book thinking that it would be as good (or better) than the first, but I was disappointed by how Skye was portrayed as a weak and whiny woman. Between the arranged marriage and riding off into the sunset (Does anyone really do that anymore?) I had a very hard time finishing this book. I am hoping that the third book in this series is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing

    I rarely give books five stars - but this one absolutely deserves them. I was enthralled at page 1 and couldn't put the book down until the story ended -- I only wished it was longer to spend more time with the male and female main characters. The sister this book centers on, Skye, is an amazing woman on an amazing journey. The male character, Mitch, has some demons and issues to work out and the journey he is on is both heart breaking and heart warming. The fact that the plot/drama began in the first book, continued in this book, and continues further in the third book makes it all enticing and endearing. Susan Mallery allowed herself the time to really develop the characters and the plot and create an amazingly enjoyable reading experience. This is a definite re-read and I cannot wait to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second in the series

    They just keep getting better. I enjoyed this book very much. It was very romantic, and it makes you fantasize how romance should be. Anyway the story was great to. I love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book!

    This is the 2nt in the series and just as good as the first.I must say that the Titan sisters stick together and fight the good fight. Skye is the meddle sister and broken hearted and like her two other sisters fighting there rich and powerful father,but for Skye he wanted to control everything in her life specialy her love life. Also like the first the sisters crazy world sucks you in and before you know it the books done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!!

    What a powerful story about first loves......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!!

    I loved this book - and the whole series!! In fact, I read the 2nd book first, not knowing it was a series, as Susan Mallery is new to me. And I had to immediately go and by the first and third installments!! And now I can't wait to read the final book when it comes out in December. The 3 sisters' characters are so well written. A thoroughly enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Entertaining, easy read!

    Love a quick, easy entertainment? Better than average story line, Susan Mallory adds a funny wit, believable characters in an understandable (albiet fantasy, ie super-wealthy) setting. Doesn't matter what she writes, if her name is on the book, I usually pick it up knowing I'll enjoy it--and I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love is the common theme!

    New York Times best selling author Susan Mallery continues to amaze with her second in the Long Star Sisters series, Lip Service which is Skye's story, the middle Titan sister. The reader was introduced in May to all three sisters who share a father in Under Her Skin. One also learned they had an illegitimate brother Garth who has only revenge on his mind and has vowed to take the entire family down. To use adjectives like amazing or brilliant don't even describe how wonderful the second book is and waiting until July for Straight from the Hip is going to be torture.

    Skye is the dutiful daughter of Jed Titan and she hopes one day to inherit the family home and have her father finally tell her he loves her. Nine years earlier instead of marrying the boy next door, who she loved deeply, she married a much older man her father arranged for his own selfish reasons and a sweet daughter Erin came from that marriage. Now she's a widow, hosting her father's business parties and again, Jed wants to marry and threatens her because he's aware that her exlover is back in town and he'll destroy Mitch and his ranch if need be; trust me you'll want to strangle Jed Titan and take him down yourself.

    Skye's and Mitch's story was lovely to read because in the end as only Susan Mallery can pen it's about what's important in life and that's family, love and a real home, not one like Jed Titan is dangling and manipulating his daughters to believe they want. The reader literally watches Skye become stronger and realize that she and Erin can have a happy life with Mitch and their love story was incredibly beautiful.

    Susan Mallery has written wonderful family stories which I've read throughout the years and some of them have sincere patriotisms as she relates tales of honour and valour for the men and women who serve in our Armed Forces and who give up their lives or come home injured fighting for our Country. That was the case with Mitch Cassidy who has returned nine years later missing part of his leg and with a real chip on his shoulder. It's the people who assisted raising him and maintaining the ranch and Skye's daughter Erin who help him to heal. It was sad to read about his ordeal and his final acceptance through therapy, group sessions and finally forgiving Skye and realizing he still loved her and her daughter. In the end, I was cheering for both Mitch and Skye because they stood up to Jed Titan.

    The Titan sisters Lexi, Skye and Izzy have one common thread they love and are devoted to each other and the fact they all want their father's affection. Love is the common theme in both books, how it can heal and how much stronger the three sisters are because of it!

    Reviewed by: Marilyn's Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    LOVE THE LONE STAR SISTERS SERIES!!!

    LOVED THE CHARACTERS AND STORY OF THESE SISTERS. SUSAN MALLERY HAS DONE IT AGAIN WITH ANOTHER GREAT ROMANTIC SERIES OF THESE TIMES. I CAN NOT WAIT FOR THE LAST BOOK IN THE SERIES!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mallery as always is awesome!

    Jane and Poppy's stories were fantastic, can't wait for Ava,s. I have all of Susan Mallery's books and have reread several.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lone Star Sister Series

    Book number 3 was as good as 1 and 2, now we just need #4 to know what happens to this dynamic family! Once you pick it up you cant put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Very good reading

    Susan Mallery always put a good deal of thought into her books. This book and series are great and worth the rainy day to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What has happened to Susan Mallery?

    I was first introduced to Susan Mallery's work with her series dealing with the Buchanan's (Delicious, Sizzling, Tempting & Irresistible). They were funny, well-written stories that had characters you could relate to and root for. However, her work since then has been such a big disappointment! The "Sweet" series (Sweet Spot, Sweet Trouble, Sweet Talk) featured characters that were irritating and dysfunctional, and this Lone Star series has just been plain brutal! The female lead in this book is a whinny, simpering mess, and the male lead is bitter and cruel. I'm a hopeless romantic, and yet I found myself not caring at all what happens to these people because they are ridiculously appalling!

    I listen to these books in audio format, and I find my mind wandering often because they storyline and characters are just that bad. However, in addition to being a hopeless romantic, I am also eternally optimistic and am hoping each new book will be better, at least containing a hint of the wit, humor and appeal that first drew me to Susan Mallery's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging second chance at love romance

    She obeyed her tyrannical father once and married his choice of a mate instead of her beloved Mitch Cassidy who left town joining the Navy SEALs. Skye Titan regretted her decision. When her spouse died, she vowed never again as she raises their daughter. Yet her father Jed demands she marry again for business purposes TJ Boone who is more interested in her sister Izzy.

    A veteran with war related injuries Mitch has come home. He still loves Skye, but has not forgotten her betrayal when she acquiesced to her dad. Jed is pressuring her again, but she holds him off hoping for a second chance with Mitch even as she worries about how he and her daughter will relate. Finally, there is another new man in her life, an angry half-brother who wants to destroy the Titan clan.

    The second Titan family romance (see UNDER HER SKIN) is an engaging second chance at love romance, but first Skye must find courage to accept her failure to stand up to her father and Mitch must find his lost heart to learn to forgive. Neither seems to have that particular trait in their arsenal as Mitch remains angry while Skye struggles with disobedience especially with her beloved family in trouble. Fans will enjoy Susan Mallory's engaging character driven contemporary.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5