Customer Reviews for

Lips Touch: Three Times

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Mistical

    I absolutly loved reading this book. It makes you remeber and think about all the little tales and stories that are told about creatures. I woukd reccomend this book to anybody who lives with a pure imagination of anything that could happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lips Touch Three Times: A wonderfully unique and marvelous read!

    Lips Touch Three Times is a collection of three short stories which all revolve around the bond two people share, and wish to share; the wish for 'lips touch'. Despite the shorter length of the book as a whole, I found it a most remarkable read. The author Laini Taylor has taken the concept of romance into a whole new spectrum with marvelous new stories and settings, characters and creatures, which are both familiar and at the same time widely unknown, giving her stories an air of refreshing mystery. Her love of fairy tales, dead languages, weird folk beliefs, fascinating languages and much more, have been spun together to create a most wonderful and engaging work for this open-minded and inspiring author, and I personally look forward to any more stories she wishes to share with the world. A must read work for anyone who wishes to taste a new and mysterious fruit which now grows in the garden of literature and storytelling. A truly wonderful fruit indeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    no

    GAY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Leaves you wanting more ¿

    I only heard of Laini Taylor this year, and the first book I read was Daughter of Smoke and Bones - which I loved. When I saw Lips Touch in the bookstore I thought I¿d give it a try. I¿m so happy I did!

    Written in usual Laini style, Lips Touch Three Times is an anthology of three short stories, all dealing with that scary yet wonderful thing - the first kiss. Each story is completely different from the next. Each story takes you to a different part of the world, to a different time and to a different myth.

    The first story is about Kizzy, a girl whose loneliness seeps through the pages and makes you feel sadness for her, a girl whose longing attracts the worse kind of fae. While this one was my least favourite - I didn¿t like the abrupt ending - Laini¿s descriptive writing allows the reader to feel all that Kizzy feels and, in a way, understand why she does the things she does.

    The second takes the reader to India and the underworld and introduces an Englishwoman, Estelle, who is working with a demon - bartering for the souls of children. This short story has complex, three dimensional characters and was intriguing from the beginning - when Estelle delivers a curse on a baby - to the end - when that baby, now a young girl, wonders if she should push the limits of the curse. In my opinion, the ending was wonderfully thought out and executed.

    The final story - and my personal favourite - introduces you to the dark world of the Druj, where human feelings are longed for, but never understood. This is the longest story in the collection; it is also the darkest. Mab, a prisoner of the Druj from childhood, manages to escape with her daughter and has been hiding from the Druj since. When a Druj she trusted enters her life again and tries to take her daughter away, the reason isn¿t what Mab - or the reader - expects.

    Lips Touch Three Times is just a sampling of Laini¿s beautiful writing and promises to leave the reader wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved it

    this book was another in between series type book, it has three different stories but they are all really good somtimes i got kinda lost but i came to understand whats going on. the art work in this book was amazing i loved it so much, and just so everyone knows it shows the pictures first and in the story after they show them at some point they ikinda explain them so you have to remember them and know where they are coming from...sorry if thats confusing. great read tough lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    3 delicious stories

    I really liked this book. It had lovely illustrations (even on Nook). The stories were very different from one another but equally delightful.
    Tales of love and kisses intertwined with myths, legends, curses, and fairy tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    Do you remember your first kiss?

    Three supernatural tales of first love (or lust) and that first kiss that can change you or overpower you. In "Goblin Fruit" goblins prey on young girls - and not the pretty popular ones - the ones that want to be them. In "Spicy Little Curses" a young woman is cursed with a voice that will kill anyone who is nearby to hear it. Can she risk telling her love the one thing he wants to hear? In "Hatchling" a young girl finds her fate intertwined with demons and secrets kept by her mother.

    Dark, dangerous, and delicious! This collection is an amazing work of fiction - and it's addicting. You won't want to put this one down! I don't always enjoy short stories, but this collection blew me away.

    Each story is wonderfully written and the characters are well-developed. I was transported to each new world and it's hard for me to pick which one I enjoyed the best - they were all fantastic. The artwork by Jim Di Bartolo is gorgeous - I would love to have prints of these pictures framed. (And the red dress in the first picture for "Spicy Little Curses" - I want that dress!)

    Even if you typically shy away from fantasy or paranormal romances, give this one a try. It's compulsively readable and the fantasy elements are weaved in to the stories in such a way that you won't even realize you're reading fantasy. (And I mean that in a good way.) These are stunning stories that will stick with you long after you finish reading.

    Laini Taylor is an author to watch for. I will be picking up her DREAMDARK series after reading LIPS TOUCH. I need more of her storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Amazing!

    I am not usually a fantasy reader but I absolutely loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Three Stories Where One Kiss Changes Everything

    While this is not my typical fodder, I was glad that Lips Touch Three Times was recommended to me. Three characters, three styles and three very different backgrounds that cover everything from urban fantasy with a twisted sense of humor, British Colonial India and Zoroastrian demonology. Now that sounds like a handful but Laini's style is easily transferrable across all of these with both humor, grace and poignancy. In addition each story is lead off with a series of beautiful illustrations. When you are looking for something unique to enjoy or gift- choose Lips Touch Three Times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    Not like other teen books

    Lips Touch Three Times is not anything like I expected it to be. It is three short stories that are wonderfully written, and end in the exact opposite way you thought it would. Also, the pictures before each short story are wonderful. Each picture has a meaning and tells a story in itself.

    Very good book if you are looking for something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2