Customer Reviews for

Lipstick Jungle

Average Rating 3.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

it was good, but...

I was on the beach when I picked this book up. It's a good book but it's kind of slow at the beginning. Granted, it does pick up, but not near as engaging as other books I've read. However, after reading it, I started watching the show!

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I rented Lipstick Jungle, the NBC show (I'm starting disc 2) and I fell in love with the characters and drama. My experience with books is that they are always better than their movies or TV shows. What happened here? This book was an endless rant about nothing. It ...
I rented Lipstick Jungle, the NBC show (I'm starting disc 2) and I fell in love with the characters and drama. My experience with books is that they are always better than their movies or TV shows. What happened here? This book was an endless rant about nothing. It was a day in the life of these three women and just when you thought a plot was about to develop, the author flashes into some side or back story about that character. I kept fighting to keep reading hoping there would be conflict or plot, but after 200+ pages of the 400+, I gave up. I guess I will keep enjoying the show (hopefully that will keep up the momentum).

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Disappointed

    I rented Lipstick Jungle, the NBC show (I'm starting disc 2) and I fell in love with the characters and drama. My experience with books is that they are always better than their movies or TV shows. What happened here? This book was an endless rant about nothing. It was a day in the life of these three women and just when you thought a plot was about to develop, the author flashes into some side or back story about that character. I kept fighting to keep reading hoping there would be conflict or plot, but after 200+ pages of the 400+, I gave up. I guess I will keep enjoying the show (hopefully that will keep up the momentum).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy to Read but Hard to Follow.

    I liked the book. I thought the this author would be a little like Barbara Taylor Bradford. She was a little. I liked her writing as far as it was easy to read, but I did not like so many flashback chapters. I have read reviews of other people who have read her work and they say she jumps around a lot. So I don't think I would be interested in her earlier work, but I would recommend checking out her recent bestseller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun Read

    Lipstick Jungle is written by the same woman who wrote Sex and the City so it has extremely similar themes. If you liked the show Sex and the City or the book, then you are guaranteed to like this one. This book focuses on women who are at the top of their careers but are having romantic troubles. It's funny, racy, and perfect for a rainy day or a day on the beach. It is not an intellectual book by any means and you can finish it in one day. It's not a bad book, just does not have anything of real weight or consequence to it.<BR/><BR/>It's an entertaining read but you are probably better off just grabbing a copy from your library instead of buying it. I bought my copy but I got it used so it was only a couple dollars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    it was good, but...

    I was on the beach when I picked this book up. It's a good book but it's kind of slow at the beginning. Granted, it does pick up, but not near as engaging as other books I've read. However, after reading it, I started watching the show!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    WAS OK, wanted more on each character

    I read this book, but I was disappointed with the structure and the way it was done. I wanted more on each character and did not like the way it was ended. So I guess, I am not disappointed in the plots or the characters, just wanted more on each.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    apallingly bad

    This is without a shadow of a doubt the worst book that I have ever had the misfortune to have had to endure. I was obliged to read cover to cover as it was a gift, and the giver was certain to ask my opinion of it (reader, I lied to him). Believe me under any other circumstances I would have used it as kindling before the end of page 1. It is dreadful contrived, silly and full of characters who don't even deserve the accolade of having two dimensions. This book is poorly written yet entirely predictable, full of clichés and characters so utterly self absorbed and out of touch with reality that they make the stereotypes who populate Bushnell's other novels look like paragons of selfless virtue. Lipstick Jungle had me reaching for the sick bucket at least once per page, right down to the closing lines: 'it's a jungle out there' says intolerable female character #1, 'no, girls' says self satisfied female character #2 'it's a Lipstick Jungle'. I can honestly say that I've seen superior work featuring more interesting characters and better executed plot-lines scrawled on the walls of public toilets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    How in the world did this earn itself four stars? This POS is a

    How in the world did this earn itself four stars? This POS is a mangled montage of cliches and inaccurate facts (ie. the statement that men have been disrespecting women for &quot;millions of years.&quot; Yes. MILLIONS of years). It is some of the poorest writing I have ever read from anyone, let alone an adult, and following up Sex and the City with this was not a good idea. SATC was at least creative. Every description of anything in this book is a complete stereotype you have to wonder if she's ever even set foot in New York. Just amateur. All over. I understand it's &quot;chick lit&quot; but that's a disgrace to both of those words. Typos. Syntax. Simple facts. A puddle of hideously fantasized keyboard-vomit. So disappointed! Can you tell?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    To Coal

    There was a cat named Gleamingpaw... why don't you talk to her???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Twilight

    He ran in panting. 'I feel really bad about how i acted toward coal. I should apoligize' he thought. Then he turned to his sister gleamingpaw. "Wheres coal?"~Twilight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Coal

    Hmm. Interesting. I wonder if... never mind. I am going for a walk. He then thought to himself 'if only twilgh liked me, then he ould clear my name'. He then turned and started walking off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    So-So

    Good but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Marker to Bluemist

    Star, is that you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Flickerkit

    (Ok. I will still be the mute Flickerkit. Can you be my momma for realsies? And I will wait for you to post before I do.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Kits

    (Bye)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Fun read

    This one jumps about a bit too much for my tastes but I enjoyed it on the whole. Very funny lines, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great read!

    This book is amazing!I wasnt quite sure what I would think of it at first, but as I continued on it grabbed my attention and is now one of my favorite books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Kritters RAmblings

    First, I must admit that I haven't had the pleasure of reading Sex and the City, so this is my first adventure with Candace Bushnell. I thoroughly enjoyed this book with three females as the center. I loved that each character was unique, but their friendships with each other were genuine and I could imagine how they became friends and why they stayed friends.

    A story of their adventures in New York and the trials that women face. I absolutely adored how the women in this story were successful and powerful. It was interesting to read how the men in their life reacted to their successes. I enjoy reading books were the men are put into a different position and how the dynamics of the family must change due to the role reversals.

    A great chick lit that made me want to continue reading Candace Bushnell. A must read for all chick lit fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    loved it!

    I loved the show when it was on a few years back and was icredibly sad when it was cancelled. I saw the book at BN and thought, if i liked the show why not the book? So i picked it up and fell in love all over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    can't put it down!

    i seldom sacrifice my sleep for anything else. This had killed one night of my beauty sleep. Though i wish the ending was more satisfying, it's nevertheless a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    Lipstick Jungle

    Since I never watched the show, I had no idea the background of this novel and the story. I have been told the show was great - good characters but nothing out of the ordinary of the story - typical TV producer, designer read if you know what I mean. Had some laughs in it and some things I could relate to as a 40+ year old woman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6