Customer Reviews for

Lipstick Jungle: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

it was good, but...

I was on the beach when I picked this book up. It's a good book but it's kind of slow at the beginning. Granted, it does pick up, but not near as engaging as other books I've read. However, after reading it, I started watching the show!

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I rented Lipstick Jungle, the NBC show (I'm starting disc 2) and I fell in love with the characters and drama. My experience with books is that they are always better than their movies or TV shows. What happened here? This book was an endless rant about nothing. It ...
I rented Lipstick Jungle, the NBC show (I'm starting disc 2) and I fell in love with the characters and drama. My experience with books is that they are always better than their movies or TV shows. What happened here? This book was an endless rant about nothing. It was a day in the life of these three women and just when you thought a plot was about to develop, the author flashes into some side or back story about that character. I kept fighting to keep reading hoping there would be conflict or plot, but after 200+ pages of the 400+, I gave up. I guess I will keep enjoying the show (hopefully that will keep up the momentum).

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun Read

    Lipstick Jungle is written by the same woman who wrote Sex and the City so it has extremely similar themes. If you liked the show Sex and the City or the book, then you are guaranteed to like this one. This book focuses on women who are at the top of their careers but are having romantic troubles. It's funny, racy, and perfect for a rainy day or a day on the beach. It is not an intellectual book by any means and you can finish it in one day. It's not a bad book, just does not have anything of real weight or consequence to it.<BR/><BR/>It's an entertaining read but you are probably better off just grabbing a copy from your library instead of buying it. I bought my copy but I got it used so it was only a couple dollars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    it was good, but...

    I was on the beach when I picked this book up. It's a good book but it's kind of slow at the beginning. Granted, it does pick up, but not near as engaging as other books I've read. However, after reading it, I started watching the show!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    So-So

    Good but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Fun read

    This one jumps about a bit too much for my tastes but I enjoyed it on the whole. Very funny lines, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Kritters RAmblings

    First, I must admit that I haven't had the pleasure of reading Sex and the City, so this is my first adventure with Candace Bushnell. I thoroughly enjoyed this book with three females as the center. I loved that each character was unique, but their friendships with each other were genuine and I could imagine how they became friends and why they stayed friends.

    A story of their adventures in New York and the trials that women face. I absolutely adored how the women in this story were successful and powerful. It was interesting to read how the men in their life reacted to their successes. I enjoy reading books were the men are put into a different position and how the dynamics of the family must change due to the role reversals.

    A great chick lit that made me want to continue reading Candace Bushnell. A must read for all chick lit fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    loved it!

    I loved the show when it was on a few years back and was icredibly sad when it was cancelled. I saw the book at BN and thought, if i liked the show why not the book? So i picked it up and fell in love all over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    can't put it down!

    i seldom sacrifice my sleep for anything else. This had killed one night of my beauty sleep. Though i wish the ending was more satisfying, it's nevertheless a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    Lipstick Jungle

    Since I never watched the show, I had no idea the background of this novel and the story. I have been told the show was great - good characters but nothing out of the ordinary of the story - typical TV producer, designer read if you know what I mean. Had some laughs in it and some things I could relate to as a 40+ year old woman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I couldn't put this book down it was highly entertaining. I did have a problem at times when the book switched back and forth between the different women and their families. The author kept my interest, but I felt some items I would have approached differently. But isn't that the option of each of us to have our own ideas and opinions?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Give this one a chance!

    Another entertaining novel from Candace Bushnell. To enjoy this novel, you really need to put yourself in the right mindset. In Bushnell¿s world, characters are partly (and at times, fully) judged by their outfits...the more expensive and exclusive, the better. In other words, if you want to be successful, smarts will only take you so far¿you need the right outfit to seal the deal. The references to luxury fashion houses, cars and vacation spots may make your head spin at first, but you get used to it after the first chapter or so. And while most women may not live in West Side brownstones or take private plans to Cannes, we know what it¿s like to want it all and feel pulled in a million different directions. I think people tend to take Bushnell¿s novels too seriously, but she¿s in the business of writing satires¿not true-to-life novels. Her inclusion of clothing labels, table numbers at exclusive restaurants other ridiculously frivolous details are Bushnell¿s way of discreetly poking fun of her characters and their actions. The humor is in the excesses. Bushnell¿s no idiot...she realizes how self-absorbed and materialistic her characters are, but that¿s all part of the fun! I plowed through this book, and it was very enjoyable. Not quite as good as Trading Up though. I do wish Bushnell had explained more about how the three women in this book became such close friends. Most of the time their friendship seemed kind of random. The emotional connection that forms the basis of most female friendships was missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    Liked This One, but Deeper Characters can be Found in Little Kingdoms by Michael Lubarsky

    I really like this book, but then I'm also a fan of Sex and the City. I travel a lot and found myself reading this book whenever I got the chance which is always a good sign. I found the characters a little shallow in terms of development and scope so if you want deeper writing and a more compelling story then checkout Little Kingdoms by Michael Lubarsky. I've read it three times now, but I still like Bushnell's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2