Customer Reviews for

Liquid Smoke

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Liquid Smoke", by Jeff Shelby A Great Suspenseful Novel

    "Liquid Smoke", by Jeff Shelby, is a suspenseful novel with a Private Investigator by the name of Noah Braddock, as it's main character. Braddock is approached by Darcy Gill an attorney representing a soon to be executed Death Row Inmate in San Quentin. She, Darcy, is attempting to recruit Braddock into assisting her, but Braddock is not overly committed to helping a man convicted of murdering two men.
    What Braddock finally learns after turning down the case several times is that this convicted killer is his father. A man he never knew nor had any inclination of finding. Russell Simington, the convicted killer is scheduled to be executed within the month and Darcy Gill is trying to have his execution overturn and set to a life sentence.
    Once Noah Braddock is convinced to at least meet with Simington, there are many turn of events, he then decides to meet with his alcoholic mother to get some long overdue answers to questions that Braddock didn't even know he had. Braddock must also try to find the answers to many questions in his own mind, as he tries to unravel the mysteries that have been placed before him.
    "Liquid Smoke", also has many twists and turns. There is also Braddock's sidekick Carter who assists him along the way in this case, and there is also Braddock's love interest Liz Santagelo, a Police Detective. You will not be disappointed with this story. Once you open this novel, "Liquid Smoke", by Jeff Shelby will have you in it's grip and you will not want to put the book down until the last page has been read.
    I'd like to take the opportunity to thank FSB Media for the opportunity to read and review this wonderful and suspenseful novel. "Liquid Smoke", is sure to be a Best Seller. Thank you to Jeff Shelby for writing such a compelling novel. You have definitely got a way with words.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    amazing author

    This is actually the third book of this series. His writing style reminds me a bit of Harlan Coben with short chapters that leave you hanging like James Patterson. Love this series. This book is a bit more emotional and dark then the previous books. I hated to finish it because I am not sure when or if another addition to this series will be. The characters were like friends of mine and I will miss them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mystery and Suspense

    Noah Braddock is a P.I. who is finally enjoying some quiet time in his life and relationships. Things seem to be going well enough for him to do some fun things, like surfing, until a case is dropped into his lap. This is no ordinary case. A lawyer, Darcy, wants him to investigate a killer. Normally, Noah could put off getting into the case, but then he finds out the killer is his father - a father he had never known. As his peace comes unraveled, Noah grapples with what to do with the request. Should he help Darcy uncover the "truth"? Should Noah go talk to this man he has never met? Can Noah walk away? The twists and turns will keep you guessing and glued to the page.

    I enjoyed this book very much and was totally attracted to it because of the title. I had to know what it meant. Noah is a complex, likeable character, and I found myself rooting for him. This book will keep mystery and suspense readers happy. Thank you to FSB Media for the free copy I was given. I highly recommend the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Great read

    Kept my interest with the unexpected. 224 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    ?

    Good story but the way the conversations were written were hard to follow. I had to go back and reread several times in order to get straight who said what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Fast, well paced read. Good, unique storyline

    I think I'm going to like Noah Bradock as a character. In many ways, he reminds me of Robert B. Parker's Spenser character in that he's extremely independent and has a strong sense of justice which may or may not coincide with right and wrong. The storyline is very unique and clever and quickly grabs your interest. I highly recommend this book and will read the earlier installments of this series.

    A note to the reviewer who complained about the quotes changing speakers within the same paragraph...I don' t think this is the author's fault. It would have to get past the author, editor, and typesetter to be published in this form. I think this came about from the conversion to an ebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Dramatic mystery

    Noah is a little "rough" around the edges but it was a good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Pretty good

    It was a fast read. Kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Surprisingly good read!

    I am normally not a fan of this genre, but I really enjoyed this book. I like books that grab me from the first chapter and are hard to put down. This book did that. There are enough twists and surprises to keep even me interested. The short chapters reminded me of James Patterson's style, and this author is every bit as good a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Is This Author Blowing Smoke?

    I read the book and thought it was pretty good story, in spite of one glaring grammatical error carried through the entire book that makes it difficult to read. One character speaks and the author includes a second character's response in the same paragraph.

    Before submission of this review, there were four Customer Reviews and one Editorial Review. One of those Customer Reviews appears to be legitimate. The other four reviews, including the Editorial Review, all appear to be written by the same person. I invite others to read the reviews and compare them. In an interesting coincidence, the name used for one of the characters in this book is 'Santangelo'. The same as the name of a main character in books by successful author Jackie Collins. Any other coincidences? I wonder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging psychological mystery

    In San Diego, private investigator surfer Noah Braddock feels pretty good about his life. His two relationships that matter to him are going well for a change. First he and Detective Liz Santangelo have moved pass their latest war though Noah expects future combat and he and his alcoholic mom Carolina seemed to have reached an accord though he expects that will pass as always.

    Lawyer Darcy Gill demands Noah look into a San Quentin death row case, which the sleuth insists will interrupt his catching the waves and devastate his mellowness. Darcy informs the detective this is one case he does not want to let ride as the man convicted of killing two people is his biological father whom Noah never met nor wants to meet. Unable to remain neutral Noah surfs the streets of San Diego seeking to understand what happened while no longer mellow he alienates everyone in his path even his roomie Carter.

    The key to this excellent suspense laden twisting thriller is Noah's bewildered shocked first person viewpoint. His stunning reactions to what is going on make for an engaging psychological mystery as Gill's revelation surfs away his mellow (see Killer Swell and Wicked Break).

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2