Customer Reviews for

Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr (Abhorsen Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the series

    I like this book very much, as well as the complete series. They are young adult books, but please don't be deterred by this. These books are very interesting reading and I am not a "young adult".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's not too shabby

    This book is a good read for summer or for a rainy day, not the best of plots but it is memorable. The characters is what draws you in. I loved the previous title Sabriel, and when Abhorsen came out, I went out and got it just to finish the storyline, it was nice to see Lirael come into her own. Not bad, but definitely one to give to a younger sibling as a hand-me-down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    intriguing reprint of a young adult quest fantasy

    In the Old Kingdom, the daughters of Clayr all have the gift all except one. Lirael is ¿Sightless' while all the other women have the ¿Sight¿. Already feeling like an outsider as her mother deserted her years ago, her difference leaves her even lonelier as she believes everyone seems to look down on her since she failed to move on two years ago like they all did. --- Now fourteen years old, Lirael releases a Stilken (female human crustacean from a glass- coffin). That kindness leads Lirael to meet her great-great-grandmother, a renowned healer. The elderly woman encourages her descendent to befriend the insolent 'Disreputable Dog'. She and her disrespectful companion meet tense Prince Sameth, son of Sabriel (title star of the first book not yet read by me). This trio of alienated outcasts soon uncovers a plot to destroy the Old Kingdom. --- This is an intriguing reprint of a young adult quest fantasy that grips readers from the moment Lirael meets her ancestor and never slows down in fact nothing critical is resolved by the end leaving the audience disappointed yet anxious for ABHORSEN. The lead trio is solid fully developed characters with the two humans having anxiety issues and the dog remaining an unresolved enigma. Newcomers and those who read the first tale will feel spellbound by the Old Kingdom¿s magical realm in which the paranormal seems normal. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    S--l--o--w!!!!

    Horribly slow but written very well.... ummm, sabriel is better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    way cool

    i LOVE this book it was so good and i felt like i was there the caracters where so belivable and everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    Good Book A Must read for all fantasy fans

    I loved this series by Nix he does a great job makeing his own little world with diverse and new charicters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Good

    This book was really good. However I didn't like how some parts just seem to drag on forever. But as always when you get towards the end everything heats up. And Prince Sameth is my favorite character in the Lirael 'cause he is the greatest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    Not As Good As The First One, But Still Worth The Read

    I like how Lirael keeps the old characters from Sabriel, but brings a new main characters. I really like Lirael, maybe a bit more than I liked Sabriel, and I deffinently like the Disreputable Dog more than Mogget, but Sameth needs to get some guts. Lirael doesn't have as quick moving a plot as Sabriel, but it does keep you interested. It's a good book and the cliff-hanger ending will have you rushing to buy the next one in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    Great book

    This book has an awesome plot. It is quite interesting how Nix combined all the different aspects of Sabriel, the first book, into an interesing new plot. I liked this book, though admitedly I found quite a few characters annoying at first, even the main ones. After a while they're not as annoying, but Prince Sameth will never cease to be a friggin' woos!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    An awesome page-turner!!!

    this book was so fantastic i could not put it down. Lirael is such a believeable character, and the story is so creative and thrilling. but i disliked how Nix didn't immediately continue with Sabriel in this book...i really wanted to know what followed afterwards. also, it was terrible to leave us readers hanging by a thread at the end of Lirael! i was DYING to know what happened! otherwise, it's still a fabulous book, and i CAN'T wait to read Abhorsen! Keep writing, Nix!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous epic fantasy

    In the Old Kingdom, Lirael feels like a freak as the only person among the Clayr sisterhood who cannot see into the future. Being ¿blind¿ shames the teenager making her wonder just who she. By her nineteenth birthday, Lirael knows she has no one to help her except her Disreputable Dog. However, her time of hiding in the library ends, when the Clayr foresees her involvement in a war against evil with a world at stake. She is sent forth to do great things despite her own fear of shortcomings. <P>Feeling incompetent, Prince Sameth can no longer handle his role as the heir apparent to his mother Queen Sabriel. Rather then continue his education and preparation, Sameth decides he is no hero and will not be the key focus of the fight against the Dead. Sameth meets Lirael and her canine meets his acerbic cat Mogget as they journey together to save the world. <P> LIRAEL, the sequel to the fabulous SABRIEL is as good as the first novel. The prime theme centers on the Good vs. Evil epic fantasy. However, the deep lead couple with their flaws, fears, and lack of confidence turns the story line into an exciting adventure where the malevolent forces seem ready to win. Though many threads remain loose for hopefully the next novel to tie up, fans of epic fantasy, especially the Potter crowd, will fully enjoy Garth Nix¿s fantastic spin. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    Good Book!

    i loved this book, but i don't know when the next one is coming out. (abhorsen) write me if you know, please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2