Customer Reviews for

Lisey's Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I believe this is one of Stephen King's best

This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and cou...
This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and couldn't wait to keep reading it. It left me wanting more, which King is really good at anyway, but with this book I felt Lisey's pain and her love so deeply I would love it if he wrote another with her as the main character. I am so shocked by the negative feedback. For a man to create such a wonderful female cast of characters - not just Lisey but her sisters. I think he did it brilliantly. Great Job Mr. King!!!

posted by kat_bran on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worst Stephen King Book I've EVER Read

I've been an avid fan of Stephen King for many years. I bought this book and I was so excited. After starting the book, it just became like a chore. It was boring, and I couldn't get into it no matter how hard I tried. I basically finished it just becase I've never not ...
I've been an avid fan of Stephen King for many years. I bought this book and I was so excited. After starting the book, it just became like a chore. It was boring, and I couldn't get into it no matter how hard I tried. I basically finished it just becase I've never not finished a book. Horrible. Period.

posted by thisismyalias on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Worst Stephen King Book I've EVER Read

    I've been an avid fan of Stephen King for many years. I bought this book and I was so excited. After starting the book, it just became like a chore. It was boring, and I couldn't get into it no matter how hard I tried. I basically finished it just becase I've never not finished a book. Horrible. Period.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Disappointed

    I just canno't get onto this book it drags along way too slow to keep readers interested and entertained it should stsrt out with action not boring u to death jumping around! My best fav book by SK was carrie that couldnt be put down! But this one i find myself getting too tired n falling asleep lisey story sux

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Could not get into this book.

    Was disappointed to say the least. Didn't feel like a King story. Didn't seem like his style of writing at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Not so great

    I read this book and unlike his latest, "Full Dark, No Stars,( Which I thought was great)
    This one I found almost unreadable. The storyline is so confusing
    as it jumps back and forth into some sort of Fantasy Land.
    Sorry Mr. King, usually I'm a big fan, but just did not get this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Come on now

    Ive been a fan for a long time, but this is nothing but verbal diarrhea. I mean, I could put up with the long tangents back in the old days when there was a plot, but this book has no plot, only a bunch of stuff flying out of Mr. King's head. Come on, man, you have to do better than this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I just could not go any further!

    Well let me tell you I really tried to read this book. This is the most boring story I have ever read. I had to to quit at page 100. Maybe it gets better but I just could not take it any more. I could not connect with the character at all. When it takes a whole page to talk about how hot it is and how bad of a wedge somebody has I have to just give up. I have read Stephen Kings short stories and loved them. This book is just slow and boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    Boooooring

    First of all, since my early teen years, I have been an avid Stephen King fan, devouring every book I could get my hands on. Until now. I could not get past the whole overuse of the words smucker and smuckers. It was actually distracting and took away from the characters and story. That aside, the story line was probably good, but it never held my interest. I have it on audiobook and didn't even bother going beyond the first disc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    this book SUCKS!!!

    I was half way through, and put it on the shelf, and I always finish a book. This was one of kings worse books, i'm sorry I bought it. I am a King collector. I have every book I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    waste of time

    I was in a store in the airport, browsing the books, and saw King. Anything by King is good, right? 'Wrong.' Everything I have read in the past by King has been outstanding. Normally his writing holds my attention so that I can't put the book down until it's done. I had some long layovers, so how better to spend the time? I normally read a King book within 2 days. It literally took me a month to finish this book, and I forced myself to finish in hopes that SOMETHING within it would have made it worthwhile. Nothing did. It's a lethargic read. The only thing King-like about it is it's oddness. I definately don't recommend this book, it's a major let down, especially if you're a fan of old style Steven King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    King should be embarassed . . .

    -to have his name attached to this 'book', and I use the term book loosely. I'm one of the 'Constant Readers' that he addresses his introductions and forewords to, but I never would have become one if he had started like this. I understand as a writer myself that not everything is a masterpiece, but as Stephen King certainly didn't need to publish this work for the money, he should have buried it in the bottom of his filing cabinet. C'mon Buddy. You owe your legions of fans better than this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was able to buy this book and I thought it would be an awesome book but Stephen King in my opinion did not do so well on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    Awful

    I have always loved Stephen King novels. Even though they are often large, I never got bored, but this book was excrutuatingly boring! I started this book, was bored, but kept reading, hoping it would get better, but after many attempts to 'give it another try', I have finally given up. I just can't torture myself any longer, and will place it in the 'books to goodwill' box. A huge disappointment in a writer I have always loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    in shock

    As a Steven King fan, I have to say that he made a mistake in my eyes by changing his usual plot turning, suspensful, scary novels to something as dull and boring as what he wrote in Lisey's story. I bought the novel hoping that King would awe me yet again but was utterly dissapointed in this very excruciating piece of work. I almost gave up halfway through the book but thought otherwise and very grudgingly finished the book, Im starting to think King has lost his flair because I look back books he wrote such as Carrie, Dreamcatcher, Cell, The Shining, From a Buick 8 this was just awful in every word of the name and hope Steven king bounces back with a bang in his upcoming stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Terrible!

    This story was nearly impossible to read or enjoy. Not only was it very confusing, but it was boring as well! What a huge dissapointment. Lets hope the next book is better, then again anything would be better then this story! Waste-o-time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    Two Words: Don't Bother

    If you are a devoted King fan, as I am, this book is a waste of time. I managed to get to about page 150 before I closed it for good, Mr. King, what were you thinking? 'At least I got my money's worth: I got the book from my public library.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    A total waste of time and money

    Possibly the worst book I have ever endured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Can't believe I wasted my money on this.......

    Flawed style of writing, difficult to read, nothing about this book is interesting. There was a reason I haven't read a Stephen King novel in a long time. I will not make this mistake again. Sad, because I really liked his earlier books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Dull!

    I hate to say it as I have been a huge fan of Stephen King for years and years. Not only was the first 80% of this book hard to get into, it was irritating in that you had to read much further into the book to even understand what the characters were talking about...this can work for alot of stories, but to go on and on and on making the reader try to figure it out so late in the novel is maddening. Go back to those days of The Stand, It and Christine Stephen, if you can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    THE SECOND WORST KING BOOK I EVER READ

    This is going to be one of the shortest reviews you ever read. I couldn't get beyond page 104. I had suffered enough. You get the impression that the real king will show up on the next page, but it never happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Not His Best

    Stephen King has gone 'round the bend, lost his marbles, is one brick shy of a load, etc. This is a tedious, dull story that is only matched by 'Colorado Kid'. What happened to the days of 'The Stand' or even, 'Bag of Bones'? This was a poor excuse for reading entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2