Customer Reviews for

Lisey's Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I believe this is one of Stephen King's best

This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and cou...
This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and couldn't wait to keep reading it. It left me wanting more, which King is really good at anyway, but with this book I felt Lisey's pain and her love so deeply I would love it if he wrote another with her as the main character. I am so shocked by the negative feedback. For a man to create such a wonderful female cast of characters - not just Lisey but her sisters. I think he did it brilliantly. Great Job Mr. King!!!

posted by kat_bran on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

So many others have given an outline of Stephen King's newest release, but I just wanted to leave a few comments.

This isn't a typical King book. I'm not saying it's bad, just different. It also takes awhile to get into the action, but once there the story is ...
So many others have given an outline of Stephen King's newest release, but I just wanted to leave a few comments.

This isn't a typical King book. I'm not saying it's bad, just different. It also takes awhile to get into the action, but once there the story is quite satisfying. As many have said, this is as much (if not more) a love story than a horror novel. The similarities between King's fictional characters and real life are remarkable (I'm guessing he planned it that way.) Overall, this is a book for the ultimate King fan.

If you've never read Stephen King, though, I wouldn't recommend LISEY'S STORY as a place to start, since it's so divergent from what he normally writes.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A severe miss.

    It amazes me what Stephen King can get away with some times. Make no mistake, King is an amazing writer and has written some of America's best horror novels. Here however, he buries a possible good story under four hundred pages of near indecipherable time/reality jumps with newly created words that do nothing for the reader or story. I was so disappointed by this novel. The usual King creepiness is there only sporadically the general plot was all over the place. Overall, this is just a minor speed bump for King but should be skipped unless you are King fanatic.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    Lost Interest

    I love Stephen King and have read quite a few of his books. And usually they're very hard to put down once started. But this one....I only finished it out of a sense that I should finish what I start. Otherwise, I lost interest early on, the smuckers usage was very annoying and it didn't hold my interest like so many other books have. Personally, I don't recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Not good!!

    It took me 2 1/2 years to finish this book! I love Steven King but I could not get into this one. It kept bouncing around to much to follow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Lisey's story is those books that is definitely not for the average reader. You have to be very patient with the style that King has and just the fact that it starts off so slow can be agonyzing. I can actually see a lot of people putting it down before finishing the book. The reason for the slow start and in-depth character development story is to so get get emotionally attached to the characters. Still, its slow pace and lack of excitement could be fustrating. Lisey's Story is a dark (not scary) and violent book. The shockingly brutal and grotesque scenes and language described are jaw dropping and is only for mature audience who can stomach it. The story does get better as it goes and well worth sticking through some of the lack luster parts of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was a disappointment. I did not like it. The end kind of saved it, since the reader really, really wants to know (at that point) what happened in Scott's past. But, the book was too long and, dare I say, boring. There were weird (stupid) parts to this plot, like Lisey sharing a sweet taste in her mouth with her sis and a stranger, or the escape to Boo'ya Moon, which is some form of mental illness/coping behavior if you ask me. I was disappointed too that reviewers were calling this book a romance, which it's not. It's a story about child abuse, and it's overdone. Someone else here mentioned how annoying it was to get to a good part in the story, only to read Lisey's thinking 'no, don't go there just yet'. There were too many chapters that ended that way. The reveal of the scary stuff was barely worth it, since half the book involved the thoughts of a widow who couldn't face reality. This book tried to blend fantasy/reality, but it doesn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    Unlike many of Stephen King's books, I felt the story line was thin. I kept threateneing to put it aside, but thought it would surely redeem itself. I did get fascinated in how it would end once I got about 2/3 through. However, King is a terrific wordsmith and he doesn't let us down in this book. Alas, I will recommend other books before this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Catchy start, then to the moon

    I haven't read a lot of Stephen King as I'm not a big horror fan, but I read a few reviews that said this was a departure from his typical stuff to a more straightforward literary story. I found the general synopsis that it was about a woman dealing with the psychological aftereffects of the death of her writer-husband intriguing so decided to check it out. I found the informal/quirky style catchy at first. It has an energetic feel while lending character to Lisey and the relationship she had with her husband. But the style alone wasn't enough as King seemed to describe every insignificant detail of every step of Lisey's day. The book probably could have been 1/3 shorter without losing anything relevant. And the wordplay that delighted me at the beginning became very repetitive as he said the same things over and over and over again. It finally picks up the pace as she begins to uncover repressed memories of her husband and the things that haunted him, including his bad childhood. The words and terms used to describe these things--bad gunky, going behind the purple, lawn boy, boo'ya moon--jibe with the language of the book and it's characters, and I expected to eventually learn how or what they translate to in real-world terms, if not thoughts or feelings. But they are not real-world things. They are supernatural elements, such as a virus-like strain that takes over the body reducing it to a violent creature, and another world you kind of teleport to where your wounds will remarkably heel, but which also contains a big, bad monster you best look out for, especially after dark. He tries for pathos in a few instances, but it's hard to feel it when the tragedy results from something other-worldly. You could chalk these things up to symbolism or some such, but that's really not the case--they had real places in the plot of the story. Like I said, I'm not a big horror reader, but I got the feeling this book suffers from existing in too indeterminate of a place--probably not enough of a horror story for horror fans, but too much of one for people looking for something real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    Definitely do not choose this if you are reading Stephen King for the first time, and honestly, to the avid King reader, pass this one up. I too had a very hard time deciding if I should keep reading. Knowing the reputation of one of the greatest horror authors in Stephen King, I kept reading. The only light at the end of the tunnel was a match just fading away. This book gets only one recommendation from me¿..don¿t read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I didn't know what to expect when I bought this book. It looked interesting, it was new, and it was from King... what could go wrong, right? I always loved King for writing such long books, but this one didn't handle the length very well. Most of the book is merely the widow Lisey remembering things about her past with her dead husband Scott. The bad part is that whenever the memory gets to a good part, Lisey tells herself (No, Lisey, NO MORE) and that stops the memory from even getting good. This goes on for exactly half the book before she even begins to tear down the veil she set up in her mind to stop the memories, and it just drove me nuts. Besides the fact that I always finish a book that I've started, the only thing that kept me going was to find out more about the 'long boy with the endless piebald side'. It turns out that King created one of his most powerful villains ever in this book, an unthinkable, psychic, undead creature with endless mass, which consumes people and doesn't kill them but keeps them alive in an eternal hell inside of it. I'm hoping that we see more of this long boy in King's future work. As for the rest of this book, I started liking it more towards the end, but it wasn't that great of a book. Read only if you're a King fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    Put's you to sleep.

    I guess I'll give credit to Steven King for branching out and writing a story that's different than his trade mark horror stories, but I must say that he should stay with what he's good at. This story is so slow that while your reading it your brain is screaming at you to put the book down and do something else. I must say that by the time I had got to page 125 I knew that this story wasen't going to get much better. I have a rule I go by that say's once you start a book no matter what, finish it. Well kind readers I must say that I did finish reading the book but it was pure work. You see for me my mind was telling me put it down and pick up something else. I understand what King was trying, but to me he din't pull it off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Trying my hardest to get into it

    I've always been a huge fan of Stephen King, but I definitely think he wrote his best stuff in the 70's and early 80's. Excluding short story collections, I haven't been very impressed with anything he's written in at least 15 years. Nonetheless, I buy and read everything he puts out and I'm trying my darndest to get into Lisey's story, but it is a CHORE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    WORST EVER

    What was Stephen King thinking when he wrote this thing.I,ve read everything he,s written and this is without a doubt his worst ever.Some of his best Cell and From a Buick 8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    What a drain

    I rather like some of King's more recent titles, but this one wasn't so great. The alternate world lacked spark, the husband was completely unlikable, and the story dragggged onnn. I wasn't happy with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    What Has Happened to Kings' Writing

    Seems like Mr. King has changed his writing style since his accident a few years ago. This book jumped around and was definitely not a page turner. I kept expecting this story to 'pick-up' but it never happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    disappointed after reading such good reviews

    I have enjoyed King's books for a long time. I am an optimist when I pick up a new book, especially from a beloved author. However, several times during this book, I wondered why I was reading it and would I ever get to the meat of it. I found myself struggling to get through it. I finished it feeling as though I missed something, but did not want to reread it to find out what it was. It was a hard read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Good for insomniacs

    I count myself as one of Stephen King's 'constant readers' having read everything he has written. Some books like 'The Tommyknockers' and more recently 'Buick 8' were stinkers, others such as 'Salem's Lot', 'Misery' and 'The Shining' are classics, and many of his short stories rank with the best in this genre. Lisey's Story is the first Stephen King book I have failed to get beyond page 100 and even that was a struggle. It is mind-numbingly tedious. In the Foreward to his engaging book 'On Writing' King says 'I'll tell you right now that every aspiring writer should read 'The Elements of Style '(by William Strunk and E.B. White). Rule 17 in the chapter entitled Principles of Composition is 'Omit needless words.' I will try to do that here'. It is a pity that this excellent advice was not heeded when Lisey's Story was written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Refund Me

    I couldnt get half way through this mess. I didnt think the end of the gunslinger series could have been surpassed for waste of reading time. King trys to hard!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    A Hard Read

    This a tedious and almost unreadable account of problems with mental illness--very detailed and gruesome. Nothing really happens. Due to Mr. King's odd literary technique, it is a lot of work to keep up with what is going on--I could not finish this boring tome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2