Customer Reviews for

Lisey's Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I believe this is one of Stephen King's best

This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and cou...
This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and couldn't wait to keep reading it. It left me wanting more, which King is really good at anyway, but with this book I felt Lisey's pain and her love so deeply I would love it if he wrote another with her as the main character. I am so shocked by the negative feedback. For a man to create such a wonderful female cast of characters - not just Lisey but her sisters. I think he did it brilliantly. Great Job Mr. King!!!

posted by kat_bran on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worst Stephen King Book I've EVER Read

I've been an avid fan of Stephen King for many years. I bought this book and I was so excited. After starting the book, it just became like a chore. It was boring, and I couldn't get into it no matter how hard I tried. I basically finished it just becase I've never not ...
I've been an avid fan of Stephen King for many years. I bought this book and I was so excited. After starting the book, it just became like a chore. It was boring, and I couldn't get into it no matter how hard I tried. I basically finished it just becase I've never not finished a book. Horrible. Period.

posted by thisismyalias on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    So many others have given an outline of Stephen King's newest release, but I just wanted to leave a few comments. <BR/><BR/>This isn't a typical King book. I'm not saying it's bad, just different. It also takes awhile to get into the action, but once there the story is quite satisfying. As many have said, this is as much (if not more) a love story than a horror novel. The similarities between King's fictional characters and real life are remarkable (I'm guessing he planned it that way.) Overall, this is a book for the ultimate King fan. <BR/><BR/>If you've never read Stephen King, though, I wouldn't recommend LISEY'S STORY as a place to start, since it's so divergent from what he normally writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    A different author

    Something happened on that two lane road in North Lovell on June 19 1999. The author we loved was taken from us and a new guy came out of the ashes. For all intents and purposes he is Stephen King, but he no longer writes like him. This is not surprising, near death experiences have driven people to religion or to climb Mount Everest, so some sort of change was expected. But its like reading a new author for some long time followers. The humor is gone, or muted. The urgency that use to rivet you to his books is gone. There is a new intense focus on the individual and their personal demons and there is heaps of nostalgia. There are moments when the old King tries to creep through in this book, like when Lisey is stalked and finally attacked, or in the introduction of ole Sparky Landon, he is there and is refreshing to see. King always had good imagery in his story telling but now he seems to invite the user to stop and smell the roses in certain scenes. For example Lisey and her sister sit in a car during a thunderstorm and we sit there with them and its described vividly, but why? If you have followed King since 'Firestarter' like I have you'll be left confused as to what just happened and 'what does it all mean?', after turning the last page. Unfortunately if we don't experience a near death experience we won't know what some of this means until we die, and by then it will be too late to tell anyone :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    Not so much...

    Boring. Hard to follow, and uninspired, Not every story King thinks up should be committed to paper. <BR/><BR/>I love King, he is my favorite horror writer ever, but this fell flat. I loved Cell and his most recent stuff, so dont get me wrong. This just scored a solid "C" for me. <BR/><BR/>It sure wont keep me from spending my cash on his new one.<BR/><BR/>Hey, it was better than The Regulators!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Booya!

    Overall Lisey's Story has to be one of the most confusing novels I have ever read. I would not recommend this book to anyone. This was my first time reading a Stephen King novel and I have to admit that I was not impressed. If you have a lot of time on your hands and are willing to read the book atleast three times before understanding it, then this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Okay

    I like Stephen King and this wasn't his best but I liked it anyway. It wasn't fast paced like some of his others but it was good. If you are a fan of Stephen King I wouldn't pass it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Difficult start, but getting better

    I love Stephen King so I picked this one up when it came out. I started it recently...I've put it down 3 times since. The beginning was really difficult -in a confusing, hard to understand way-, but I am currently on page 140 & am finding myself swept up in the story. It's quite good, actually. I'm glad I stuck with it. Those first pages were 'trying' but now I feel I understand Lisey Landon & want to read more about her. This book is not, however, 'typical' King reading...I also wouldn't pick this as my first journey into Stephen King's lair. If you have patience, give this one a go! Once you step through the confusion, it's quite good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Not your average Stephen King

    I have always enjoyed reading King's masterpieces, 'Pet Semetary', 'Rose Madder', and 'Misery' are my favorites. I had to struggle to get to the meat of this one. I almost gave up on it after three hundred pages into it, but I journeyed on to finish the very last page. The characters do have redeeming qualities, and the strong relationship between the widow and her former husband is refreshing. I just feel like Mr. King was spinning his wheels throughout most of this book, repeating over and over details that only needed to be told one time. I also delighted in the relationships between Lisey and her sisters. I found the ending very disappointing. I had long decided, prior to the end of the book, that Scott and his father would have ended this way. As I neared the end of this one, I was hoping for so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    Okay, once you get through the first half...

    I'm a fan of good writing as well as good suspense, but I have to say even though this is a more 'relaxed' Steven King, it was a good story though difficult to get through the first half of the novel. Once I was able to get through the first half, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Dissappointed

    I think King's greatest writting is behind him. I think he's burning out! The Cell wasn't that hot, and Lisey's Story was just okay, not king's usual, on the edge of your seat suspenceful stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    Headache...

    I don't usually give up on a book no matter how boring it is, but I came so close on this one. I was so excited for a new Stephen King read, but was very disappointed at the beginning. The relationship between the two sisters was amazing and I liked the twist of romance that King threw in there (that I didn't expect to like). Keep reading. It gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    A Tough Read

    A tough book to read. The first 200 pages are nonsensical and tough to get through. I finish every book I start regardless of how bad it is, but I have to say this one I almost gave up on. It's a good story if you can stick it out past the first part. Too muddled, disjointed, and left w/ a feeling of 'What in the world is he talking about??'. But who knows? Could be what Stephen King wanted. The relationship w/ the sisters is truly a joy though. If you can get that far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2