Customer Reviews for

Lisey's Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I believe this is one of Stephen King's best

This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and cou...
This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and couldn't wait to keep reading it. It left me wanting more, which King is really good at anyway, but with this book I felt Lisey's pain and her love so deeply I would love it if he wrote another with her as the main character. I am so shocked by the negative feedback. For a man to create such a wonderful female cast of characters - not just Lisey but her sisters. I think he did it brilliantly. Great Job Mr. King!!!

posted by kat_bran on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worst Stephen King Book I've EVER Read

I've been an avid fan of Stephen King for many years. I bought this book and I was so excited. After starting the book, it just became like a chore. It was boring, and I couldn't get into it no matter how hard I tried. I basically finished it just becase I've never not ...
I've been an avid fan of Stephen King for many years. I bought this book and I was so excited. After starting the book, it just became like a chore. It was boring, and I couldn't get into it no matter how hard I tried. I basically finished it just becase I've never not finished a book. Horrible. Period.

posted by thisismyalias on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why such negative reviews?

    I was browsing around in the bargain section at Barnes & Noble and I was surprised to see a Stephen King novel on the shelves. I thought the cover was really pretty and from what the jacket said...it looked interesting. I go home and look up Lisey's Story and see all these awful reviews saying it's SKing's worst novel. I am no fan of King but from what i've read i've really enjoyed. I read the book and finished it in 3 days, the beginning is pretty slow (like most King books) but slowly picks up the pace. When I finished I was shocked, I thought the book was excellent. These have to be some of the best characters he's ever written. Scott is so unstable and complex and Lisey is simpler to balance out the relationship. Maybe some hardcore fans were expecting something terrifying, if that's what your looking for then do not but this book. Stephen King is has definitely changed a lot from his early days, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing is it, Lisey's Story really does prove that. If your a patient reader and want a rewarding read go spend the 5 bucks on this great book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    Makes me want to read it again

    I agree with the review below stating the fact that this is not in the norm of S.K. writing style, but it was a good story none the less. It was almost more of a twisted love tale, something original and never thought of before. Lisey¿s Story was slow to get into but soon enough it had me holding onto it tightly around midnight, yet the following evening I didn't even want to pick it up but I had to. I loved this story, it twisted, it scared, and it prodded at your curiosity until the end. For any type of reading, this is the way to go.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great winding tale from Stephen King

    I've been a Stephen King fan for many years and enjoy his more non-straightforward-horror-yarns more than the traditional monster and beastie tales. (Although I enjoy those, as well) I enjoyed the psychological character development of this book, although, it was a bit slow to start. Once I got into the rhythm of the back and forth mental storyline, the story itself took off. It wouldn't be a Stephen King story without SOME kind of supernatural element, however, and once that was revealed, the book really flew along. I would recommend this book to any Stephen King fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Stephen King does it again.

    I found this book to be a little "softer" than the typical King books, but a good read nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    A Better read than I thought it would be.....

    Yes, it took me a while to pick this one up after I bought it. Like 9 months because the reviews say it was a love story but it talks of one and isn't one really except for in the past. But as with SK there is always more to it. I wonder how much his wife helped him with this story because it starts out, in my opinion, as if someone else actually wrote it and starts to sound more like him later. The story sounds like a slow Dean Koontz novel and seems to take some ideas from the movie 'Fraility' I think. The ending is great and twisted. I just hope more come out like the Cell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Steven king rocks

    He is my favorite author. His books start off slow while indroducing people and setting the plot. Once your past that the book takes a turn and becomes amazing. I had a hard time putting this one down. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    awesome!

    I enjoyed this book. It was a slow start and at times the character descriptions seemed to go on forever. However it picked up nicely and had a lot of twists in it. Although it is not my favorite King book, its still amazingly good. I love the strenghth he give Lisey! Keep reading, this book is worth the time and money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    INTRIGUING AND MOVING

    I was getting very impatient with this book in the beginning and it seemed fairly inscrutable with all the talk of "bools." I'm glad I stuck with it, though, because it picked up steam and turned out to be a good read. Lisey and Scott's love story was moving, and having recently lost my husband myself, many of the emotions Lisey was feeling struck a chord with me. One wonders how Stephen King is able to create the stories and characters that he does - perhaps there are elements of "Lisey's Story" in his own life - whether concrete or more nebulous. Surely such a fertile imagination must spring from some dark place. One minor annoyance: I kept having to remind myself how to pronounce Lisey's name - it seemed to me that it should have rhymed with "die-sy."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    A good read

    I have to admit that at first I was annoyed with the book, mainly because of Lisey's use of the work "smuck". However, after reading further, and understanding it better, I became enthralled with this book. It definitely becomes better the further you delve into it. By the end I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    i am a teenager and i cant fully understand some of the things king writes but this book bypasses that it is a good book overall with parts that you accelerate through but different than his regular work thanks stephen king for giving me a alternative to video games and parties and the such i can honestly say you kept me out of a lot of trouble by reading instead of doing other things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Once again, Stephen King manages to mesh reality and fantasy into a believable seemless blend. Lisey's Story isn't as fast paced as some other of his works, but truly entertaining nonetheless. Fans of King will definitely want to pick this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    A good look into the life....

    This book was a good look into the life of a writer and those closest to him. It proves that even when you live with a person for so long, you don't know much about them. Lisey had barely an idea of what Scott's life was like when he was writing. She knew he was well known, accompanied him on many tours, but she was usually referred to as the 'gal pal' of the great Scott Landon. In 'Boo-ya Moon', Scott's 'Long Boy' proved to be a great asset at the end. Although he was very creepy, lurking about in the shadows for his chance to take Lisey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    A Different Kind of King

    I will start by saying this is one book that could be misleading at the begining. Its very slow up intell Scott tells Lisey about his childhood. There is a very interesting and disturbing story that he tells his wife. The first 200 to 250 pages are pretty slow and boring, but after that it really seems like a King novel. This is a different kind of King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    Different, but great

    Lisey's Story wasn't the typical Stephen King story, but it was wonderful reading. Once I got started,I couldn't stop reading about Boo'ya Moon and Scott's past. Trying to decide what was really happening, or what was just a child's vivid imagination of what was happening made the book exciting. It was nice to read a Stephen King book that dealt more with the mental aspect of things, and not so much the blood and gore of things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Steven King + Romance = Lisey's Story

    When Nicholas Sparks rights a review for Stephen King (what!!) you have to read it! And I loved it! I did feel like I was getting a peek into what his real life relationship must be like. I enjoy his random thoughts, the King humor sprinkled throughout, the lunatic with the bag-o-tricks... it's a great book! I disagree with the review that all of his (King) great work is behind him. I just think he's showing that there is a softer side... of course he's still a psycho and I love the combination!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    dreamy Prose

    not horriffic but the images painted by king can be nerve recking at times. For the most part the sentences swim in your mind like a river. i loved amandas charachter. ver scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    odd in a good way...

    - like a itch you keep scratching and enjoying. the past vs present at times was tedious, but the story was always there. people expecting the stand, salem¿s lot, running man may be disappointed, but for fans of SK this is a good read and well worth it. Personally this book is exactly why he's my favorite writer - when you crack open the book for the first time you never know what you get until you close the book after the last page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    intriguing

    Actually - I would have preferred to give 3.5 stars. It is better than okay, but I don't quite think outstanding. I'm still trying to decide if I would recommend it to others or not. My hubby kept asking me if it was good as I was reading. Straight thru to the end I kept telling him 'I don't know.' It is definately intriguing. Hey, it couldn't have been awful...I have two toddlers and work outside home and somehow managed to read over 500 pages in a week and a half. The story is def a lot to digest. It goes back and forth present to past tense and back to present again. While some seem to have found this annoying I think it was just that aspect that kept me reading. Just when it got to a juicy part in the past story it would cut back to present and vice versa. That in itself kept me going so I could return to the other story lines. I'm still mulling over the story, a week after I've read it. If I were an author, I would be happy if my story made people think, so I guess Mr. King has another success here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A look into madness

    Lisey¿s Story is a different King book. Everyone is mentioning its being a stream of consciousness book. But the most intriguing aspect of this novel was in the parts that deal with the world on this side of the fence¿the reality and minds of all the characters. What attracted me to it? Excellent Stephen King¿s storytelling abilities for sure, but also the subject of madness, appearing all over the book. Overall, I would say the book is 4 out of 5. Worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4