Customer Reviews for

The List

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good technothriller

This is a surprisingly enjoyable read despite its flaws. The author's handling of dialogue and interweaving of complex science with breathtaking action certainly keep the story flowing. Tom Mankowski and Joan DeVilliers (the two main characters) and the trio of secondar...
This is a surprisingly enjoyable read despite its flaws. The author's handling of dialogue and interweaving of complex science with breathtaking action certainly keep the story flowing. Tom Mankowski and Joan DeVilliers (the two main characters) and the trio of secondary players who assist them are fully fleshed-out, but the book could have used a stronger villain. The elderly politician who conceived the ironically named Project Sunrise, the plot the protagonists have to foil, is too ill and debilitated to prove a truly frightening opponent, and his son is not strong willed enough. The killers who are after the main characters are mere caricatures, leaving the reader to wonder how these guys managed to hide in society for all this time, because they're seriously nuts. Konrath's development of the romance between Tom and Joan is handled well, perhaps the best I've read in this genre. It's realistic, doesn't take over the story, and doesn't seem to have been plopped in as an afterthought to sex up the book. Also, the fact that Tom and Joan get to be intelligent (although Joan's overconfidence in her martial arts ability leads her to do some irritatingly stupid things) is a plus. The "punch-buggy" interplay between Bert and Roy, Tom's partner on the Chicago police force, is overly juvenile, and the racial jokes get old quickly, but overall the snappy repartee is a welcome foil for the many scenes of violence and mayhem. The pace is fast, the stakes are high, and the plot takes some surprising turns. There are more typos and style and usage errors than I would expect to see in a book from a writer of this caliber, but they occur infrequently enough that most readers are likely to read right over them without noticing.

posted by Sally_Bennett_Author on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Read

Have read some of the author's other works, though not as good as "Afraid," it was a fun enjoyable read.

posted by carbs_reader on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Despite the size of his reputation, this is the first Konrath bo

    Despite the size of his reputation, this is the first Konrath book I have read. But, from all the publicity he has garnered around the self-publishing arena, and all the books he has sold, he has to be good, right?

    Thrillers, I like. However, the book description says that The List “is a bit of a departure for Konrath”. By which I infer that thrillers are not his stock-in-trade.

    The story revolves around a group of people with a number tattooed on one foot. They don’t know why, or that it means, just that it has always been there. One of our heroes, a police detective, discovers a murder victim with a number tattoo just like his. With his partner they try to work out what is going on, much to the displeasure of the bad guys. Their journey takes us around the US, creating an eclectic posse as we go.

    The bad guys are … well … historically bad, in a good way.

    The writing is superb, I love his style, and at times you will laugh at loud. At other times you will stop breathing because of your concern for the characters.

    Highly recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Good technothriller

    This is a surprisingly enjoyable read despite its flaws. The author's handling of dialogue and interweaving of complex science with breathtaking action certainly keep the story flowing. Tom Mankowski and Joan DeVilliers (the two main characters) and the trio of secondary players who assist them are fully fleshed-out, but the book could have used a stronger villain. The elderly politician who conceived the ironically named Project Sunrise, the plot the protagonists have to foil, is too ill and debilitated to prove a truly frightening opponent, and his son is not strong willed enough. The killers who are after the main characters are mere caricatures, leaving the reader to wonder how these guys managed to hide in society for all this time, because they're seriously nuts. Konrath's development of the romance between Tom and Joan is handled well, perhaps the best I've read in this genre. It's realistic, doesn't take over the story, and doesn't seem to have been plopped in as an afterthought to sex up the book. Also, the fact that Tom and Joan get to be intelligent (although Joan's overconfidence in her martial arts ability leads her to do some irritatingly stupid things) is a plus. The "punch-buggy" interplay between Bert and Roy, Tom's partner on the Chicago police force, is overly juvenile, and the racial jokes get old quickly, but overall the snappy repartee is a welcome foil for the many scenes of violence and mayhem. The pace is fast, the stakes are high, and the plot takes some surprising turns. There are more typos and style and usage errors than I would expect to see in a book from a writer of this caliber, but they occur infrequently enough that most readers are likely to read right over them without noticing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book. So different from what I usually read.

    I loved this book. So different from what I usually read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Unexpected

    A very nice twisting thriller. Will there be more??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and Fast

    It has been a while since I just chugged along with a book of this type. I usually stick with straight up Sci Fi and Fantasy. This falls more in with the contemporary with a twist of just out of reach science.

    The characters give you cause to chuckle, sometimes maybe a bit too much effort to get you to do so, but far from distracting. Just a darned fun read !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Fun Read

    Have read some of the author's other works, though not as good as "Afraid," it was a fun enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Check Out!

    An addictive, edge of your seat, fast paced thriller! I just simply couldn't put this book down! I just had to know what happened next, and this book did not disappoint.

    Konrath is definitely an author I'll be watching for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Thrilling Read

    This book grabs you from the first page and never lets go. A real thrill ride that keeps you turning the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    check it out

    fun easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Good book

    I enjoyed. Easy read, but very entertaining. Not my usual choice, but good non the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fair Fetched Plot but Entertaining

    The List is just as fast as any thriller novel. I was hooked within the first couple of pages. I wanted to know what connections Mankowski had with the other victims and potential victims. The action never stopped and because of that reason I was able to finish The List in one date (and it is not that long).

    The plot was interesting at first. I was intrigue to find out about the number tattoos on the bottom of the foot and how these tattoos connected the character. But as the story progressed and things began to fall into place, it become clear that the plot was pretty outlandish. Completely and totally unrealistic, in order to enjoy The List. I sort of had to suspend my disbelief and just roll with it. As the story progressed I had to suspend my disbelief even more, Kornath throw in everything but the kitchen skin in his plot.

    While the pace was fast there was not much character development. The characters were just there, I wanted to see what was going to happen to them but I wasn't invested in them. The lack of character development did not take away from my enjoyment of the story but I did notice that I could have cared less if one of the main characters lived or died.

    The writing was average. There were some funny jokes that made me chuckle but it was more like slap stick comedy.

    Overall Recommendation:

    I would recommend this one to anyone that what wants an easy and fast paced thriller to read. I would add in the warning that the plot is a little outlandish and the unrealistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Meh...

    Good hook at the beginning and drew me in. Then it got stupid as far the technology and reasoning behind what was driving the plot. It was an enjoyable read, but I'm glad I borrowed instead of bought. Definitely a decent writer on the rise, but would have been much better if he had thought through his sily under-pinnings. Likewise, some of the character exchanges bordered on stupid at times and should have been excised to better streamline the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    not my cup of tea

    i like a good thriller, but this was too violent for me. i didn't finish it. sad, too, because the storyline seemed very interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3