Customer Reviews for

The List

Average Rating 5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Sleepy in Idaho

    What a page turner! I read this book in 3 nights. It was reminiscent of Frank Peretti's early novels, and was as hard to put down. The story's spiritual insights are very deep indeed. I cannot imagine anyone coming away from this reading experience not knowing Jesus more intimately, or being more sensitive to the spiritual things around them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Absolutely the BEST

    This is the best book I have ever read. A must for those interested in southern background with tons of mystery. It will hold your interest to the very last page. Go buy it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    Many spiritual themes underlying brilliant ,enriching novel

    Like another reviever, I also read this book after having read Whitlow's The Sacrifice. I finished this 400 page plus book in less than five sittings. After the sudden passing of his wealthy --though emotionally distant and controlling-- father, Renny Jacobson, a young attorney in his mid twenties, is disappointed to learn the conditions of the will. No estate left to Renny. No millions of dollars, only great disappointment. Jacobson Sr., however, does leave Renny personal belongings and information regarding an inherited share in 'the Covenant List of South Carolina, Ltd.', something Renny is entirely unfamiliar with, having never heard his father mention this. After securing a cassette left from his father and the contents of a safety deposit box, Renny discovers the List involves a secret society formed during the Civil War by a group of men uniting, in a pact, for the seemingly noble, altruistic purpose of ensuring financial stability for themselves, their families and their descendants. (The book's prologue, actually, describes this intense scene from 1863, one that gives much foreshadowing, with its vivid imagery, conflict, and Scriptural citations, of what is to later come.) The rights to the List --an organization operating in the utmost secrecy, even with the families themselves-- have been passed from generation to generation to the eldest (or only) son. By joining the List and taking his rightful place and share, all appears that Renny will be guaranteed financial security and wealth beyond his wildest dreams. Yet the devout Christian woman, Jo Johnston, whom Renny is becoming increasingly attracted to, is firmly opposed to Renny joining and becoming an heir to his father in the List, earning what should be rightfully his. As Renny explores his own roots, the legacy of his devout late Christian maternal grandmother and mother, and is influenced by three remarkable woman, Jo, Mama A (a black woman who helped raise Renny in his youth), and his landlord Mrs. Stokes, to explore his own dormant Christian faith and be 'born again', Renny is now internally torn with his own reservations (or really Jo's, rather) about the List versus its enticing allure and endless materialistic promises. What unfolds is an intense spiritual battle of good versus evil, blessings versus curses, of greed versus selflessness. (Another key theme is the influence of one's ancestors from generations past in shaping one's character and destiny, something that really hit home personally as I attribute a great deal of my own Jewish religiosity to my ancestors' influence and intercession on my behalf, including two great-great-grandfathers, one a Chassidic rabbi in early 20th century Poland, the other, a cantor in early 20th century Denver. The influence of my beloved deceased maternal grandparents, Holocaust survivors, also carries me deeply.) Renny's real name is Josiah (Renny is only a nickname), after one of the great Jewish kings in the Bible, a name that also speaks a great deal about Renny's purpose and destiny. (Though a Christian novel, I found this, interestingly, consistent with mystical Jewish teachings that one's Hebrew name reflects the essence and purpose of a person's soul. Additionally, I appreciated other Jewish references, including the Star of David, Shabbat [the Jewish Sabbath], and facing Jerusalem in prayer.) This book affected me a great deal, with its entertainment and many twists and turns, a touch of humor, underlying, most importantly, the many spiritual themes comprising this brilliant and enriching novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Loved it, Loved it, Loved it

    I happened on this book by accident. It was offered at our local Christian bookstore as a special and I had them add it on a whim at checkout. I definitely was not sorry. The book was impossible to put down and truly relevant in portraying evil forces at work on Christians today. A compelling story of spiritual warfare. I look forward to buying and reading other titles by Whitlow.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    AMAZING STORY BY A GIFTED AUTHOR

    A truly AWESOME book that will keep you captivated every minute. The only down side to the book is you will not want to put it down once you start. You will feel the mighty presence of God and His ministering angels as you read this book. This book is too good away. Buy copies for your friends as gifts.....there are many spiritual benefits with this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    Anointed!

    Something flows through this story that is captivating - intriguing - even mesmerizing! 'Couldn't put it down' is an understatement. Character development is timely and keeps your attention; the story line moves nicely too! and the message this book delivers...well, read it! You won't regret it. Life changing I would say.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    'The List' is an inspiring must read! What an eye opener!

    Once you begin to read this book you can hardly put it down. Even though this book is fiction there are many biblical facts concerning the spiritual realm and our everyday lives. This book can and will open your eyes to spiritual issues that affect each and every one of us. This is a great book for the believer as well as the unbeliever. It is my personal opinion that this book holds a blessing from God for everyone who reads it. It is one of those books that once you have read it you want every one you know to read it. There is no doubt in my mind that Mr. Whitlow wrote this book under the divine guidance of the Lord. This book has something for everyone who reads it. 'The List' will keep you on the egde of your seat. Do not be surprised by the presence of the Lord as you read this book. You will be drawn into the lives of the characters. They are easy to identify with and I am sure when you finish this book you will want to know more about their lives. I am eager to read more about Whitlow's Characters and their spiritual journey through life. It is sure to be one that we can all identify with no matter where we are at spiritually. Do not buy just one copy, you will want to keep one and have one to give to a friend. Thank you very much Mr. Whitlow for giving 'The List' to the world. Do not miss reading this wonderful book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    Totally Engrossing, Couldn't Put It Down

    It's been a long time since I have read such a captivating book. Whitlow definetly has a writing style that makes you want to turn the page. This novel can be read and enjoyed at a number of different levels. It's a combination of John Grisham and Stephen King. The spiritual dimension speaks volumes to those with 'ears to hear'. Can't wait to read something else by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    you will be into it in just a few pages

    such a real character! I kept wanting to stop him from doing what I just knew he was gonna do, because I knew I would do it too. A lot to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    Go david's dad!

    I'm good friends with the whitlow family and this book kicks. it is really hard to put down. it keeps your thinking and wanting to come back for more and more. The descriptive writing really gets your imagination going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    THE BEST FICTION BOOK I'VE READ IN MANY YEARS

    The List was so thrilling and inspiring I've been buying copies for my friends, especially those who need a reminder of the Father's intense love and His response to heartfelt prayer. I highly recommend it for all lovers of mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    Captivating and Mysterious~Surprise Ending

    The List is a book I would recommend to all readers. This book reaches far beyond reading for ¿Christians only¿. I found it so compelling that I not only could not put it down, but also was disappointed when it was finished. I wanted to meet and spend time with the characters, well, some of them. I have never been a reader of mysteries but this book was so intriguing that I am hooked! Thank you Robert for your obedience in writing God¿s message in such a delightful way. I look forward to reading more of your writings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    I loved this book! It was a page turner!! I would highly recomme

    I loved this book! It was a page turner!! I would highly recommend this book !! This is my second Whitlow book and so far is my favorite one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Awesome page turner!

    Robert Whitlow has been gifted to weave the truth of God's Word and the power of the Holy Spirit into his books and this one is no exception. The gods of mammon and the power of earthly covenants try to devour once again, but TRUTH has the victory and it is painted so beautifully through the characters and the plot twists and turns. It is a great read that keeps resonating with you long after the last page and motivates us to be the Spiritual Warriors God has called us to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2003

    Why all the compliments?

    I was excited to read this book based on the reviews, but what a disappointment!! When reading I couldn't help but be reminded of a story being written at middle school level. The writing seemed too elementary to me. The story did not come alive to the senses--it seemed 'told' rather than 'shown.' Whitlow lost me at the scene when Renny met Jo and instantly they were buddies. It wasn't believable to me. I believe that Robert Whitlow could have benefitted from some good editing. No doubt, the story has a Christian market, but if Whitlow is to reach out to others, he needs to improve his writing style. Fascinating idea though, and not without merit, it just needed some re-writing.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    EVEN THE ANGELS DESIRE TO LOOK ( I PETER 1:12)

    THIS BOOK WILL TAKE YOU TO SPIRITUAL PLACES YOU MAY HAVE NEVER BEEN AND BRING YOU BACK TO PONDER THE TRIP. IS IS POSSIBLE THAT THERE IS ANOTHER LIFE RUNNING PARALLEL WITH OUR WORLDLY EXISTENCE? DO PEOPLE LIVE LIVES LIKE THE CHARACTERS IN THIS BOOK? READ IT, AND BUY A COPY FOR A FRIEND....IT'S NOT THE SAME TO LEND THEM 'YOUR BOOK'. THE BENEFITS ARE INDIVIDUAL TO EACH COPY. THESE ARE THE THINGS THAT EVEN THE ANGELS DESIRE TO LOOK INTO! DON'T BE SURPRISED IF ONE HAPPENS TO PEER OVER YOUR SHOULDER AS YOU READ. BLESSINGS ARE CONTAINED THEREIN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    List

    WHITLOWS BOOK 'THE LIST' IS A PATH THAT LEADS DEEP INTO THE SNARES OF WEALTH AND HOW EVEN THE BEST INTENTIONS CAN LEAVE US BLIND TO THE SNARES HELD THERE IN. WHITLOWS ABILITY TO CARVE OUT CHARACTERS SO REAL THAT YOU WILL FIND YOURSELF SWEATING AS YOU FOLLOW THE INTRIGG INVOLVED.REVEALING MANS DESPERATION AND THE LOVE OF GOD IN REDEMPTION IS ACCOMPLISHED IN FICTION THAT TRULY REVEALS LIFE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    Enthralling

    I could not put this book down. It was tremendous. I enjoyed the southern setting and the history. I love Grisham and Peretti, but I would choose Whitlow's book first. I look forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    Fantastic

    I think this book was fantastic. I could hardly put it down. The book drew me in, it was like I felt what the characters were doing. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2