Customer Reviews for

Listen!

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    Listen Review. I am a sixth grade student in Glendale, Az

    The book Listen by Stephanie Tolan is one of the best books I have read this year. The main character is named Charley and is a recent accident victim that is only twelve. She has a metal insert in her leg due to this crash. She has also lost her mother and never really sees her father anymore. <BR/> This story is based upon a lonely girl trying to find a friend during summer vacation. Charley meets a wild dog in the woods during one of her walks to help heal her leg. Luckily she gets much more than a friend from Coyote, she gets a life-long companion. After trying to tame Coyote for nearly three weeks, Charley starts to make some of her first breakthroughs with Coyote. All through the summer Charley and Coyote get closer and closer. Then when the vet comes, Charley learns that Coyote needs a surgery to keep him healthy. After that Charley decides to try to get coyote close enough to get him that treatment.<BR/> This story is set near Eagle Lake in North Carolina. It also is present day when this story takes place. One main theme is that sometimes when you feel down, you need to just keep going. <BR/> I loved this book for many different reasons. One of these is it was definitely unpredictable. Another thing I liked is that it can be very close to some people that seem like they never see their parents. The last thing I like about this story is that anyone in some point of their life can see something in this story happening to them, whether it is trying to recover, or losing someone you love.<BR/> There are many connections I can make to this book. One of them is to not be able to see your parents that much. Another is that sometimes I can not see any of my friends over the summer.<BR/><BR/>Related Books that I have read:<BR/>Tiger Rising<BR/>A dog¿s life<BR/>Everything on a waffle

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    It is a GREAT story. Favorite book ever!!!!!!! U should definently read it!!! You'll LOVE it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    Listen Review. I'm a 6th grade student in Glendale, AZ.

    Listen by Stephanie S. Tolan is about a girl named Charley. Charley was in a car accident that was so bad that she still has trouble walking. She also lost her mother a few years back. She lives by a lake that provides her with painful memories. Her feelings seem to have disintegrated and she has taught herself not to cry. With all these feelings bunched up, waiting to explode, how can she hold herself together?<BR/> One day, Charley sees a wild dog in the forest. She decides to name him Coyote. Shortly after that she decides to try to tame him. Gradually, she begins to get closer and closer to him (Both physically and mentally). All summer long Coyote is Charley¿s ¿project.¿ After having a vet see Coyote, she discovers he has heartworms, but she still needs time to tame him a little bit further. Will she tame in time to get him treated?<BR/> There are many themes from this story. One would be sort of quote, life is what it is. You can¿t change what¿s already happened. Another would be, if you keep persevering harder and harder, most likely all that work will be paid off. <BR/> I personally connected to the book by the quote life is what it is. I find that very true. Another way I connected to it would be the struggles she¿s gone through. Everyone has their ups and downs, but what really matters (in my opinion) would be how you deal with it.<BR/> Some related books I have read:<BR/> Tiger Rising <BR/> Well sort of related:<BR/> Number the Stars <BR/> North to Freedom

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book is awesome! A true story of love!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and Absorbing

    Stephanie Tolan's Listen! was a very interesting story. With the plot and characters so realistic, it really scoops up the reader and makes you want more. And feelings about Coyote almost immeidiatly go to pity and then victory. An overall great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was probably one of the books i have read the most..i got it when i was seven and have read it millions of times! I loved it because a twelve year old girl lost her mom and her dad is at work most of the time her best friend goes off with some snobby girl and she is alone most of the time.she gets hurt in a car crash ( way before book started ) and has to keep walking in order to keep fit. Then a mystierious dog she falls in love with comes into her life. She tames him with difficuty and rhey become the best of friends. :D :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Back To The Future Quotes Daily

    * Hello, Hello? Anybody home? Think McFly!*

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Gtftffi

    T
    H
    I
    S

    B
    O
    O
    K

    I
    S
    C
    R
    A
    Z
    Y
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    My 10 year old son had to read it for a book report so I read it too!

    My son had to read Listen for a book report in his 4th grade class. I often read the books my children read and thought Listen was a great story. Charlie is still dealing with her mother's death when she is in a terrible car accident (all before the story begins). Over the course of one summer she not only rehabilitates physically, she also rehabilitates emotionally through the relationship she develops with a ferel dog. My son loved the story and we have recommended it to friends. I think children 8-12 could easily enjoy this. It would also make a great classroom read-aloud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    Listen!!! :)

    Listen is a very good book, full of mystery, excitment, and responsiblity! One reason i wanted to read this book is because i love dogs, so that is why i chose this book in the first place! i am an ok reader but this book could have been alittle more changing for me but it was still a good book!!! :) smile like it is yuor last day! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Glass

    "Air.... you doubt yourself. We may stil be friends, but you'll have to win my trust back." He padded out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Air

    Can we still be friends?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Amazing!

    I think this book is just plain out AMAZING!!! I read it not to long ago and I was surpriser about how good it is. I love dogs so this really caught my eye. Although it starts out a little boring it gets so much better!!!!!!!!! What make makes even better is that it is based on a true story! This book is a MUST read!!!!!!!! Read it NOW!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Lumin

    I say a new leader has risen; an old has fallen; Horseclan will be great again, and thrive once more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Icetail, blazeclan emissary

    We hav been going through a power struggle as well, our leader being gone becaus of a broken nook and our deputy being *very* inactive. We are doing an election for a temporary leader and deputy. I suggest you do a similar thing, voting someone the clan thinks will b best to lead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Flamecloud

    Ok have fun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Birdstrike to lumin

    Thank you for believing that horseclan can thrive

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Jag

    I am for Velveteyes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Cedarstrike

    This is awkward... but i agree... our clan hardly rps and Velveteyes has been taking good care of us. You are a great person, but Horseclan is falling, and it will die if we dont do anything. I think this is for the best...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Wolfsun

    She returns the glance just like riverstar she echos. But i do agree about lebron james he is awesome and noone appreciates him. (Im a boy in rl)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2