BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Listening Is an Act of Love: A Celebration of American Life from the StoryCorps Project

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    This book makes a meaningful gift

    I have been buying this book for friends -- have probably bought every one on the shelves for the last couple of months. I give it to graduates, to young people (my 10 year old granddaughter loved it), and to family members. It has an appeal across age and circumstance. And the part in the back about how to do your own interview is priceless -- I have used it with students who are learning how to interview for research projects. A marvelous book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Wow! Wow!

    Listening is an Act of Love is completely and totally worth reading ... and sharing with others. I wrote a note to myself at the top of each new "interview"/story, listing the names of the people with whom I want to share that given story. It's rare to find a book that is a quick read that still pulls you in and takes you to a place that is surprisingly deep. The numerous individual stories in the book each stand alone -- but once you read one, it's hard to put the book down. After I read the last story I sat back and thought, "Wow. This book really helps bring value and dignity to such a wide variety of human beings -- including some people who we'd tend to look down at if we hadn't taken the time to practice this "act of love" = listening to their stories." Loved this book! I'm ready to go out and interview the people in my life, both my loved ones -- and any strangers who come across my path and who need an ear.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    Once done with this book, even the most hard and calloused person will have a new appreciation for life. I myself look at my surroundings with new eyes, cherishing my family like never before. This all may sound like an overstatement, but once you read the book, you will understand. These stories remind us that every person counts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Bearing Witness to Deep Human Connection

    I'd been deeply moved hearing some of the participants from Dave Isay's Story Corp Project express themselves with simple eloquence on radio and television. It remained to be seen, however,whether he could capture all the critical inflections of tone, tempo,phrasing, voice in the written word. He has, beautifully. This is a book that will alter the way you view the person standing next to you on the subway, the panhandler, the pregnant teenager. It is something I want to read together with my teeaged daughter, so that she can appreciate the majesty of these lives, and the potential in her own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    I wish I could find more of these!!! Worth the money!

    I love listening to this CD. If you are looking for the perfect gift this is it! I listened to these short stories on a trip with my family. It's great. Your family will enjoy the real life leassons about tolerance, responsiblity, compassion, childhood and what life is really all about. I could listen to this CD over and over. I have loaned it to family members because I love sharing the lessons. I really wish Dave Isay would compile one for every holiday season, this story collection is wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read--A book for all ages to rekindle the values often forgotten

    A nation is not defined by the imaginary borders drawn across it. It is defined by the people that make up it, and the history they create each and every day. The Story Corps project began based upon this idea, of giving everybody in America a voice. Listening Is an Act of Love is a collection of stories told by the people themselves that give you glimpses into everyday American life. David Isay compiles these stories to teach life lessons and remind all of what's really important in a materialistic world-the bonds and connections made between people.
    The book is divided into five sections and each section expresses an individual theme. The first being: "Home and Family" where each story is about appreciating the love and dedication that goes into forming your average American family. The second section is called: "Work and Dedication", and is about the everyday people who serve society. Through this section Isay expresses the idea that people are by nature good. Section three is called "Journeys" and it's about the struggles and hardships so many have overcome. Its main lesson is to not judge a book by its cover. The next section is titled: "History and Struggle" and it focuses on the colorful background of the people that make up America, the people that have been through America's most trying times; teaching people that history is not just a list of facts and dates, it's the documentation of human lives and experiences. The last section is called "fire and water" detailing stories of America's two greatest tragedies: 9/11 and Hurricane Katrina. The message is to appreciate those around you, those that make up your everyday world because as Norene (a person interviewed) puts it (pg. 205): "you never know when you won't see them again."
    What I loved about the book was the variety of stories it told and the dialects the stories were told in. The stories ranged from that of everyday heroes trying to put food on the table to narcotics cops. It gave me a perception and personal connection to the lives of the people that make up America. However, what I disliked was that it didn't give the explanation of the Story Corps Project until the very end. Without the explanation the memoirs seemed random and the purpose and themes didn't really connect. Overall though, this is definitely a must-read because it gives insight to the uniqueness and individuality of everyday people. I would also recommend For One More Day by Mitch Albom, a novel that is written as a memoir. Its main subject is also the value of life.
    Listening Is an Act of Love gives strength and inspiration and teaches life lessons. It celebrates the individual and reminds people of the value of the things that are commonly taken for granted. This is book celebrates both the country and the individual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Who Knew?

    I can honestly say when I was told I had to read this book for my college psychology class I was the opposite of thrilled. I thought peoples life stories how could they be that interesting honestly? Well I would like to say I was wrong the second I read the first story I could not stop reading. There are truly stories that make you almost every emotion, and they are all true snippets of people's stories. I like the fact that this book does not focus on any one topic it touches all topics, and does more than just one story per topic. I think this is a book that is a good read for anyone: students, teachers, parents, book clubs, or anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Everyone Has a Story

    In an effort to record the lives of "ordinary" people, a mobile booth tours the country and allows individuals alone or in pairs to talk about their lives for 40 minutes. The results are the range of human experience: funny, sad, educational, always absorbing. This is a quick read, but take your time with it anyway, to remind yourself that we can learn things from people who seem the least likely to teach us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    fantastic

    I enjoy listening to the podcast, so I decided to buy the book. These are some of the best stories I have ever heard. It amazes me about all the different stories. Everyone should read this book, they will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    You will want to share this with whole family

    This is a wonderful experience. You will hear great inspirational stories and even a few humorous stories. I only wish I could buy more stories for road trips. This is a must buy. Play it in the car with your kids and listen to learning start. I truly enjoyed this CD/Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Wonderful, made me laugh and cry

    This is a must read. Beautiful stories by every day people. Made me cry it was so touching. Going to buy dozens as holiday gifts for the whole family!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2