BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lit

Average Rating 3.5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is a fascinating memoir

This is a fascinating memoir as writer Mary Karr obviously has come a long way. In Texas her parents were alcoholics who when sober were psychotic, but when drunk were beyond the fringe. However, much of that period is in her previous autobiographies The Liars' Club a...
This is a fascinating memoir as writer Mary Karr obviously has come a long way. In Texas her parents were alcoholics who when sober were psychotic, but when drunk were beyond the fringe. However, much of that period is in her previous autobiographies The Liars' Club as a preadolescent and Cherry as a teen. Instead Ms. Karr picks up her saga in her late teens and takes it to her current age of fifty years old. She left for college on the west coast, but though bored tried to desperately to prove she belonged at school and with her boyfriend's affluent parents. Like her parents she turned to alcohol to numb her past so those demons would not harm her present. When she became a devout Catholic Ms. Karr feels that changed her emotionally so that she can feel good about living inside her skin as even Harvard failed to give her the inner confidence of belonging she desperately sought.

Well written with incredible insight and yet filled with self deprecating humor, Mary Karr explains her obsessive human need for self actualization and acceptance. Ms. Karr's third memoir looks deep at herself seemingly even more so than before; perhaps because this time the adult cannot use the unintended consequences of the shield of a child (The Liars' Club) or a teen (Cherry ) to garner empathy from her readers. This is a winner of a courageous person overcoming her roots to make it in her mind.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Cry me a river

The Liar's Club was not a pretty story, but the writing was so beautiful it carried you along - poetry in prose. This is lost in Lit. Whine, complain, poor me is all that comes through.

posted by PdeW on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    Captivating...

    Karr's portrayal of the characters in her life is honest and believable. Her choices of words & phrases make this memoir, to me, as her descriptions of people, places, and events make you feel as if you are with them always as the story unfolds. I appreciate her honesty and candor, as well as her ability to be so imperfectly human. It is beautiful. Only a poet could incorporate such depth and precision into the imagery and emotion of a book...thanks Mary! I related so well to your dry wit and crippling cynicism, as well as your ultimate resurrection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Moving and unforgettable

    I am a fiction writer and when I turn to nonfiction, a book only has a few pages to prove its worth. 'Lit' taught me more about life and writing than most novels can. Karr's writing is beautiful; I am envious of her prose. But more importantly, that mastery of craft informed how much I cared about the narrator and her story -- and it is a moving story you won't soon forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    hauntingly introspective

    Long, sometimes grueling account of a woman's struggle with herself as well as those around her. Her descent into alcoholism and loss of
    connectedness to her son and husband is painful to read. She does not
    spare herself in her self-appraisal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Absolutely loved this memoir that reads like a novel. Incredi

    Absolutely loved this memoir that reads like a novel. Incredibly well written. I often re-read paragraphs in awe of her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    HELP ME DECIDE!!!!!!!!!!

    I dont know whether or not to get this book!!! There are people saying its aweful and others saying its amazing!!! Please make a GOOD ARGUMENT to me to help me decide. Id REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY appreciate it! Thanks :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    For people who think the title suck

    Its a better tile than that Twilight ¿#%$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great book

    Makes me want to read her older novels, rings true to survivors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Tough story

    Parts were well done while parts truly dragged. The addiction story rang true tho and for that.....i give it a 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Lack of good tatse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Great book!

    Raw, revelatory, and memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Worst book ever

    I hated this book did not finish could not care less for people ink book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    WHAT THE $#!+?

    $#!+ = the s word. I mean who names their book lit???????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Good Read

    I enjoyed the read but it was kind of scattered. I think new Mothers can relate to this as well as people with substance abuse issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Heart-wrenchingly honest

    This is a must-read for anyone who's ever been or known an alcoholic. Or anyone who is human. An incredible memoir that I could not put down. Can't wait to read her other books now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Kayti bear

    Cry me river!!! And the title was so confusing at first but once i bought it and read it is still didnt like it so eh!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Good read

    Very poigant and truthful. Hard-hitting yet well written memoir about Karr's battle with alcohol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    This is an insightful portrayal of a life complicated by alcoholism, quite a page turner. I would highly recommend this book. She sheds light on the struggles she went through and shares with the reader things she learned along the way. For those who find themselves grabbing a glass or three of wine this book is a refreshing wake-up call.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Dont bother.

    A waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Loved it

    I truly loved "Liar's Club" and "Cherry" but wasn't sure I'd love this. I'd heard her speak about it briefly on NPR and she's mentioned that she'd become sober and religious. I thought this might turn me off as it might be a bit preachy. It was very insightful and in the same vein as her previous books. I read it quickly and, as always with Mary Karr, wished for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    Difficult to sludge through- never finished

    I have family members that have struggled with alcoholism and so I thought this book would be "interesting" to read. I was wrong. It was hard to relate to, the writing style was too artistic and the topic was never really addressed to the level I think it should have been. It's an okay read, but again, I didn't finish it. Some of the book angered me with finger pointing, blaming and justifying behaviors or actions. It's a good conversation starter at the very least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9