Customer Reviews for

Lit

Average Rating 3.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is a fascinating memoir

This is a fascinating memoir as writer Mary Karr obviously has come a long way. In Texas her parents were alcoholics who when sober were psychotic, but when drunk were beyond the fringe. However, much of that period is in her previous autobiographies The Liars' Club a...
This is a fascinating memoir as writer Mary Karr obviously has come a long way. In Texas her parents were alcoholics who when sober were psychotic, but when drunk were beyond the fringe. However, much of that period is in her previous autobiographies The Liars' Club as a preadolescent and Cherry as a teen. Instead Ms. Karr picks up her saga in her late teens and takes it to her current age of fifty years old. She left for college on the west coast, but though bored tried to desperately to prove she belonged at school and with her boyfriend's affluent parents. Like her parents she turned to alcohol to numb her past so those demons would not harm her present. When she became a devout Catholic Ms. Karr feels that changed her emotionally so that she can feel good about living inside her skin as even Harvard failed to give her the inner confidence of belonging she desperately sought.

Well written with incredible insight and yet filled with self deprecating humor, Mary Karr explains her obsessive human need for self actualization and acceptance. Ms. Karr's third memoir looks deep at herself seemingly even more so than before; perhaps because this time the adult cannot use the unintended consequences of the shield of a child (The Liars' Club) or a teen (Cherry ) to garner empathy from her readers. This is a winner of a courageous person overcoming her roots to make it in her mind.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Cry me a river

The Liar's Club was not a pretty story, but the writing was so beautiful it carried you along - poetry in prose. This is lost in Lit. Whine, complain, poor me is all that comes through.

posted by PdeW on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    do not waste your time.

    most boring drawn out book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    very inspiring

    I have family members with some of the same issues and most likely similar stories. It felt so good to be able to get into Mary Karr's head and try to understand what she must have been going through. You don't often find books like this written so well -- they are usually too preachy and the writing is dry. But Lit is a page-turner as well as life changing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Don't waste your money

    I love reading... this almost made me want to quit! What a whiner... I hate not finishing a book but I cannot make mayself finish this one. There are ways to write about your life that make it interesting... this one should only be read by her therapist!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    Boring

    Her life was a mess, but nothing out of the ordinary. She drones on about situations that are simply common place in the times we live in. Boo hoo...I kept reading it hoping that it would lead to something amazing or at the very least interesting, but it didn't.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Witty Book!

    This was quite an interesting story. Definitely not one of my favorite books, but well written nonetheless!! I think we can all relate to the battles with addiction in some shape or form. This was a colorful, albeit sometimes graphic story of the grim side of alcoholism in all its horrific glory. Sometimes you feel sorry for the character and sometimes you want to scream at her! It is the harrowing road to recovery while being a mother and wife. Well written and moving novel. It was grahic at times, but definitely the truthful and unapologetic struggle that alcoholism entails.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Honest and Real Any Addiction or Alcoholism

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Mary Karr's writing is creative and descriptive.

    She uses a lot of words I'm not familiar with and want to use and keep in my vocabulary without being gratuitous. Her honesty about her family and alcoholism feels intimate. I felt like I was with her when she entered into her alcoholism darkness and felt the intesity of her journey to recovery.

    Funny, sad,and joyous at times, it gave me many emotions throughout the book.

    Great read. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I was expecting more...

    I absolutely adore the way Mary Karr writes...you'd be hard-pressed to find a more original or descriptive narrator, especially when the things she is describing are often quite bleak. At times I was incredibly absorbed in her writing and couldn't turn the page fast enough to see what happened next. Still, for the majority of the book I was just casually flipping through. Her constant self-deprication becomes a bit cumbersome and, honestly, having read several other memoirs depicting much lower "rock bottoms", it seems a little forced. It's undoubtedly a good story and great writing, but somehow having all the right pieces just didn't seem to put the puzzle together for me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    Mary Karr had to be very resilient and possess great courage to survive in the face of all she had to endure. This is a good read.

    This is the third book Mary Karr has written about her life. It is not necessary to know anything about her first two to understand this one. Her background and upbringing defy normal reality, but she makes it so easy to read about with her sense of humor and stamina, in the face of the worst situations, that her experiences almost seem commonplace and the people who have been so destructive in her life, do not seem hateful, but rather likable, although terribly flawed.
    I found Lit to be a very absorbing book. If the author didn't have that special gift of putting words on paper to draw you into her milieu, without the horrifying effects of it, the book might be near unreadable. Each time you learn about one of her awful life experiences you are flabbergasted, thinking, how could someone survive this? When she does, and goes on to face another even more difficult situation which she somehow muddles through, you are in awe of her strength in the face of the horrifying odds against her.
    Mary Karr overcomes the adversity in her life with unbelievable courage and perseverance Her survival is a testimony to her indomitable spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9