Customer Reviews for

The Litigators

Average Rating 4
( 1101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(432)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(183)

2 Star

(106)

1 Star

(88)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Grisham Novel

John Grisham has done it again, in my opinion. The Litigators is a face paced, fun read. He develops the characters and plot well but doesn't let it drag. Unlike some of his past offerings he doesn't run out of gas near the end of the story and just wrap things up to s...
John Grisham has done it again, in my opinion. The Litigators is a face paced, fun read. He develops the characters and plot well but doesn't let it drag. Unlike some of his past offerings he doesn't run out of gas near the end of the story and just wrap things up to say he did. I highly recommend this one.

posted by HFR on November 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Average... if you want to see the every day of a law firm

I was surprised after I finshed the book. It is not best, but it is not your regular riveting-Grisham, to which we've all become accustomed... The book gets a bit boring at times, but still, is an OK read...

posted by KISKA777 on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Another Great Grisham Novel

    John Grisham has done it again, in my opinion. The Litigators is a face paced, fun read. He develops the characters and plot well but doesn't let it drag. Unlike some of his past offerings he doesn't run out of gas near the end of the story and just wrap things up to say he did. I highly recommend this one.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excited

    I've read all John Grisham's books and loved each, so can't wait to read the next.

    24 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    How funny!!!

    Know that's not the usual comment for Grisham's books,but this one didn't pull any punches. Very witty and accurate descriptions of the TRUE way the legal world works. Some of the scenes had me literally laughing out loud. Guess he doesn 't care about offending anyone and I for one am glad! All of the characters were great. Bring it on!!!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Average... if you want to see the every day of a law firm

    I was surprised after I finshed the book. It is not best, but it is not your regular riveting-Grisham, to which we've all become accustomed... The book gets a bit boring at times, but still, is an OK read...

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Love you John Grisham

    This is not my favorite Grisham novel but it is yet again another great Grisham read.

    14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    OK, but not great

    Not up to Grisham's usual standards. It is only a bestseller because it has his name on it. If it had been written by anyone else, it probably wouldn't have even been published.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    What Happened here? With reading all of Grisham books it seemed to have stories of other books entangled into this one. I felt at times it was a condensed version of past books. It is a story about mass tort case, a lawyer, and the daily life of your standard mom and pop law firm. While the story was interesting, it became boring and mudane at times. After forcing myself through some chapters, I was had a feeling of accomplishment and a lack of understanding in how this played in. While he added a bunch of jargon that I found that was unrelated to this particular story line he seemed to rush though smaller cases that was brought up in the story and rushed through them. Although Grisham being such a great author he had his standard twists and turns as he does in other books, but it was very predictiable, and was not my favorite read by Grishma to date.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Bravo grisham!

    coudnt put it down! read it and enjoy. grisham at his best




    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Another Hit that starts out slow' But hold on!

    This book starts out slow and when you get to the point of saying to yourself where is this going? Then it hits the road and your off on another JG thriller of the minds and hearts of men and women that touch the Law and are forever are changed.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Enjoyed the read, but...

    Poor AC, the company dog, was fed and watered for the first 319 pages of the book. It wasn't until page 320 that AC was let out to pee. Grisham really needs to join PETA.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Disappointing

    Not one of Grisham best work.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Not up to Grisham's standards

    This book read like it was just written because Grisham wanted to write something because he needed money or? Not what I expected, no mystery, no plot, no real story.

    LouFinley

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    What happened?

    First i wondered if my taste was changing or if Mr. Grisham lost his zeal. But upon completing the book i have to say that it feels as if this book was rushed or that the author stopped caring. Kinda feels like a book written for contract puproses using name and name alone inspired this work of fiction. Halfway through i grew bored as it mutteled oger mundain matters nd used lots of words seeming to flill the blank spaces. By this time is was evident how the story would end but still, it continued to babble on and add nothing new and exciting. Also took too much time explaining itself and the characters. Im still a fan and am hoping abduction brings me back and reinvigerate me as king of torts, the firm. The partner and so on. Im hopping.......

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    The book started off like a cozy. It has well developed characters, and, unusual in a Grisham book, it's actually funny.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Could not put down!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Not my favorite Grisham book.

    Thought the litigators was a little slow, and there weren't really any characters that I was rooting for. Didn't enjoy it as much as I usually like Grisham's novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Terrific

    Only grisham could put so many great laughs intoa story about lawyers

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    slow reading

    Although John Grisham books are usally exciting this one crawls along at a very slow pace.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I give a 3.5 to this one. While this is not really a mystery per

    I give a 3.5 to this one.
    While this is not really a mystery per se (it has no murder or any other crime in it), it is definitely engaging legal drama in the civil litigation arena. What struck me most and made it a very entertaining read is the humour - the loveable (almost Dickensian) character Wally, the ambulance chasing pet dog AC, and the loud secretary Rochelle, paired with an occasional secondary character like DeeAnna, makes a colourful ensemble of characters that litters the pages with hilarious situations and laugh out loud humour. The plot is a bit predictable, but the character casting is superb. The narrative and the prose is what I call "utilitarian." I guess this is not supposed to be literary fiction. John Grisham pulls of a nice, very satisfying, though very predictable, ending in this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    He's the master!

    Mr. Grisham owns the genre of legal thriller. A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56