BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Litigators

Average Rating 4
( 1101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(432)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(183)

2 Star

(106)

1 Star

(88)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Grisham Novel

John Grisham has done it again, in my opinion. The Litigators is a face paced, fun read. He develops the characters and plot well but doesn't let it drag. Unlike some of his past offerings he doesn't run out of gas near the end of the story and just wrap things up to s...
John Grisham has done it again, in my opinion. The Litigators is a face paced, fun read. He develops the characters and plot well but doesn't let it drag. Unlike some of his past offerings he doesn't run out of gas near the end of the story and just wrap things up to say he did. I highly recommend this one.

posted by HFR on November 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Average... if you want to see the every day of a law firm

I was surprised after I finshed the book. It is not best, but it is not your regular riveting-Grisham, to which we've all become accustomed... The book gets a bit boring at times, but still, is an OK read...

posted by KISKA777 on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Average... if you want to see the every day of a law firm

    I was surprised after I finshed the book. It is not best, but it is not your regular riveting-Grisham, to which we've all become accustomed... The book gets a bit boring at times, but still, is an OK read...

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    OK, but not great

    Not up to Grisham's usual standards. It is only a bestseller because it has his name on it. If it had been written by anyone else, it probably wouldn't have even been published.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    What Happened here? With reading all of Grisham books it seemed to have stories of other books entangled into this one. I felt at times it was a condensed version of past books. It is a story about mass tort case, a lawyer, and the daily life of your standard mom and pop law firm. While the story was interesting, it became boring and mudane at times. After forcing myself through some chapters, I was had a feeling of accomplishment and a lack of understanding in how this played in. While he added a bunch of jargon that I found that was unrelated to this particular story line he seemed to rush though smaller cases that was brought up in the story and rushed through them. Although Grisham being such a great author he had his standard twists and turns as he does in other books, but it was very predictiable, and was not my favorite read by Grishma to date.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Not my favorite Grisham book.

    Thought the litigators was a little slow, and there weren't really any characters that I was rooting for. Didn't enjoy it as much as I usually like Grisham's novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I give a 3.5 to this one. While this is not really a mystery per

    I give a 3.5 to this one.
    While this is not really a mystery per se (it has no murder or any other crime in it), it is definitely engaging legal drama in the civil litigation arena. What struck me most and made it a very entertaining read is the humour - the loveable (almost Dickensian) character Wally, the ambulance chasing pet dog AC, and the loud secretary Rochelle, paired with an occasional secondary character like DeeAnna, makes a colourful ensemble of characters that litters the pages with hilarious situations and laugh out loud humour. The plot is a bit predictable, but the character casting is superb. The narrative and the prose is what I call "utilitarian." I guess this is not supposed to be literary fiction. John Grisham pulls of a nice, very satisfying, though very predictable, ending in this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    So predictable.

    No shocker here, the little guy always wins. Luckily the charactors are loveable and keep you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Very funny

    I think this is grisham's funniest book ever and i learned a ton about ambulance chasers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    An okay review

    I just finished, "The Litigators", last night. I have read all of John Grisham's books. To me, this book had a very slow start. It was not my favorite but it was better than some like, "The Broker", and "Bleachers". I am glad I read it...to say I have read all of his books. It seems he is starting to go back to writing the kinds of books his audience loved in the first place. None of the characters shined for me in this book. Still, it was worth reading. I will never look at the ever-growing number of TV commercials begging people to call if they are taking certain medications in the same way again. All in all...if you love John Grisham, you will probably enjoy this book. It is not his best and not his worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Recommended

    I enjoyed this book. The characters were unexpected for a Grisham book but likeable as well as interesting. This is a read for those who enjoy a little humor and reality in the world of lawyers. I have read many Grisham books I would recommend this one for a book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Good read

    Not one of his best but a good read none the less

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    This certainly was not one of Grisham's best works. It lacked t

    This certainly was not one of Grisham's best works. It lacked the suspence and thrill that usually saturates his novels. It was difficult to get into to and left a few things hanging. I did enjoy his character development and it was entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Did I like it? Yeah. Did I absolutely love it and feel like I wa

    Did I like it? Yeah. Did I absolutely love it and feel like I was unable to put this Grisham book down? Not really. I didn't get as hooked as I have with the other Grisham books, but still a good read, likeable characters. Worth it but buy it at a discount.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Very easy read, good story flow, likable characters; not much of

    Very easy read, good story flow, likable characters; not much of a stretch for reader or author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    I found this to be another page turner from Grisham. The openin

    I found this to be another page turner from Grisham. The opening is great, the characters are well-developed, and the suspense builds. However, I found the last quarter of the book to be somewhat of a letdown as compared to prior Grisham novels. I enjoyed this book but the conclusion brought it down to three stars instead of four or five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Okay

    But it was slow going for most the book. The last 40 pages were excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Disappointed

    I have loved John Grisham books; but this one was a little disappointing. I expected something great with the major case. However, it went downhill with David winning a separate case, in the end. So I was left wanting more. But then again, maybe that's what Grisham desires of his readers. If so, he accomplished it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Slow

    The first Grisham book that I would go to sleep while reading! Still worth reading however


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Okay story.

    Well, with the name "The Litigators" I thought this would be something different but, the name aptly fits the novel - this is totally about "The Litigators" in the story and not necessarily the court room drama and case/s. My personal preference is the court room stuff but this didn't have enough of that for me. Pretty bland in that respect. On the other hand, the characters where good with the exception that I expected a bit more character out of the main character. I won't spoil it for you with details. Other wise it's a good book. Like I rated it... a 3 of 5. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Slow developing plot and characters...

    Found the Grisham book, Litigators, a very slow reader. The plot took way to long to materialize and when it did, it was to detailed and drawn out. I like to read John Grisham but this one was very hard to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    It was just ok

    It's not his best, but it's not his worst. I enjoyed it, but am pretty sure that after a few months I'll forget that I ever read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10