BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Little (Grrl) Lost

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Tough grrls

    I sat down to read this book, and finished it in one sitting. it was a quick read, but an enjoyable one. T.J., fourteen and newly moved to the suburbs from the city, and having a hard time dealing with giving up her horse, Red, meets Elizabeth, a seventeen year-old, six inch tall girl. Elizabeth is a Little, and running away from her family because they don't understand her (typical teenage behavoir). T.J. and Elizabeth encounter several new beings and make friends and enemies along the way.
    I thought the development of the two girls was great, as well as the introduction of magical characters like gnomes, fairies, and the Rat King. I felt that some of the other characters were a little lacking, especially Geoff and Sheri. But the plot moved along at a good pace, and it was great to see T.J. and Elizabeth grow-they were both very believable characters. This is a good book for anyone who enjoys young adult fiction, as well as modern fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice read.

    I have yet to finish this book because I have just been so busy but I really like the little girls character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Little Grrl Lost

    I thought the characters where very well developed and personally I absolutely loved Elizabeth! The story was also very realistic and believable... even for a fairy tale!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by coollibrarianchick for TeensReadToo.com

    Charles de Lint once said, "The fey wonders of the world only exist while there are those with the sight to see them." <BR/><BR/>Magical Folk are very particular who they appear to and not every Tom, Dick, or Mary can see them. <BR/><BR/>T.J., in LITTLE (GRRL) LOST, has the sight. <BR/><BR/>Scritch, scritch, scritch..... <BR/><BR/>T.J. has been hearing that sound for days now as she lay in her bed at night. Each time she turns on her light to investigate, the noises stop. She hopes its not mice making the racket. It didn't sound like mice and when she leaned her ear up against the baseboard she thought she actually heard....voices. Crazy, huh? <BR/><BR/>But then the impossible happened -- a door in the wall suddenly opened, splashing a stream of light, and out walked a little girl with bright blue hair and a dufflebag slung over her shoulder. She looked to be about six inches tall. Her parents were demanding that she come back this instant. <BR/><BR/>T.J. thought she was dreaming, but yet she was wide awake and this little girl was talking to her. She had a huge attitude, making her seem much taller than her six inches. It turned out that they had a lot in common and that night was the start of a friendship. <BR/><BR/>With two plots running, the main lesson learned from this story is that it doesn't matter if you are a Little or a Big, learning about yourself is a growing process that at times takes you on journeys you never would have imagined. <BR/><BR/>I didn't read much fantasy until a student put one of Charles de Lint's books in my hand - from that moment on I was hooked. His work (at least the ones I have read) I find to be engaging and easy to read. LITTLE (GRRL) LOST, his newest offering, is no exception. I finished it within a couple of hours. I think what I like most about his work is that it is not hardcore dark fantasy. Instead, it is contemporary fiction with all of the fantastical elements needed to be considered a fantasy selection - fairies, gnomes, goblins, and other magical creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    Charles de Lint once said, 'The fey wonders of the world only exist while there are those with the sight to see them.' Magical Folk are very particular who they appear to and not every Tom, Dick, or Mary can see them. T.J., in LITTLE (GRRL) LOST, has the sight. Scritch, scritch, scritch¿.. T.J. has been hearing that sound for days now as she lay in her bed at night. Each time she turns on her light to investigate, the noises stop. She hopes its not mice making the racket. It didn't sound like mice and when she leaned her ear up against the baseboard she thought she actually heard¿.voices. Crazy, huh? But then the impossible happened -- a door in the wall suddenly opened, splashing a stream of light, and out walked a little girl with bright blue hair and a dufflebag slung over her shoulder. She looked to be about six inches tall. Her parents were demanding that she come back this instant. T.J. thought she was dreaming, but yet she was wide awake and this little girl was talking to her. She had a huge attitude, making her seem much taller than her six inches. It turned out that they had a lot in common and that night was the start of a friendship. With two plots running, the main lesson learned from this story is that it doesn't matter if you are a Little or a Big, learning about yourself is a growing process that at times takes you on journeys you never would have imagined. I didn't read much fantasy until a student put one of Charles de Lint's books in my hand ¿ from that moment on I was hooked. His work (at least the ones I have read) I find to be engaging and easy to read. LITTLE (GRRL) LOST, his newest offering, is no exception. I finished it within a couple of hours. I think what I like most about his work is that it is not hardcore dark fantasy. Instead, it is contemporary fiction with all of the fantastical elements needed to be considered a fantasy selection ¿ fairies, gnomes, goblins, and other magical creatures. **Reviewed by: coollibrarianchick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1