Customer Reviews for

Little Altars Everywhere

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    LITTLE ALTARS EVERYWHERE A MUST READ

    SUMMARY Little Altars Everywhere is an incredible sequel to the book The Ya Ya Sisterhood. The book starts with Sidda again, and she is telling one of her childhood memories from long ago. Each chapter begins a new story from a character¿s point of view. There is not one main topic for this book because it is a collection of the family members¿ memories. The characters that were in this book were Sidda Lee, the oldest daughter, Lulu, the middle child, Baylor, the second to oldest kid, Little Shep, the youngest child out of all of them, Shep, the father, their mother, and Willetta the maid. This book is more outrageous than the last because there is physical abuse, sexual abuse, a lesbian scene, shoplifting, and stupid things the characters said and did without even thinking. I was baffled when I finished the book because so much information is jam packed into a small novel, and someone like me can¿t comprehend everything that happened throughout the book because I guess you could say I¿m a little more naïve than the author. Rebecca Wells writes with such intensity that it was a little too much for a 13 year old to handle. I don¿t normally read about such adventurous and unusual event occurring so when I read the book I was definitely shocked in a big way. LIKES//DISLIKES Rebecca Wells, the author, had a very strong voice in each of the characters. She was very blunt and to the point when she told the characters¿ point of view. As a result, many swear words were used to match the father and mother¿s personality, and later on in the book as time went by the kids grew up and spoke in the same manner. She spoke in first person, making the characters in her story very realistic and intimidating. I would never approach anyone from the Walker family because they had, well, their issues. The vocabulary is somewhat difficult because I would come along unfamiliar words every once in a while but if I compared it to the words around it, then the word made sense. I really enjoyed the book for its challenging vocabulary because most books I read are way too easy and a challenge is a good way for me to exercise my brain. This book comes across as very unique to me because it is the only book I¿ve ever read that is split into sections of separate stories, stating the character telling the story and the time too. It made it seem like it was actual history from a real family. I could honestly say that this book was the most helpful when I wanted to analyze the reasons for the characters actions because they explain everything themselves and they give you ideas but it was not good for picturing each scene happening mainly because when a person describes something they just aren¿t going to describe what everything looked like so vividly and how it all happened. In Little Altars Everywhere the characters just speak like I would in a conversation so detail wise, it wasn¿t too helpful. BOOK RATING I really think Little Altars Everywhere earns 10 out of 10 stars. It was just so interesting, I mean really I know I say that about every book I read but none add up to this. I can guarantee you there isn¿t another book as good as this one. Rebecca Wells was given a gift and she really used it to her advantage because her books have sold like at least millions and millions of copies. She just came up with a random idea, the Ya Ya Sisterhood and built off of that. I don¿t know many people that can do that: come up with and idea and build a book series off of it. She seriously spent a lot of hard work and time to write this book and I think everyone should read it. On the recommendation part I suggest people any gender over the age of 13 unless you happen to be really mature. The conflicts are just way too confusing and mature for a little kid to understand. Most young children are shielded from the bad things in this world, and this book probably has like all of those inappropriate topics in there throughout the whole book. FINAL THOUGHTS I r

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Spectacular

    Spectacular

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Beautifully written yet unexpected

    I was pleasantly surprised with this book. Having read Rebecca Wells' work before I knew I was in for a fun romp. However I was touched by the deep and unspoken scars left by the Mother's actions on each character, and was taken down a road of dysfunction, neglect, abuse and ultimately acceptance, healing and recovery.

    A must read for any "former child" who had a difficult road or just if one is looking for an entertaining look at the human heart and soul, in all their complex forms.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    A Disjointed Roller Coaster of a Story

    Despite the less than flattering title I gave this review, I do recommend reading it. This is not a traditional novel with a specific beginning, middle, and end, but rather a collection of stories--funny, sad, and, yes, horrific--told from the viewpoints of various family members growing up on a plantation in Louisiana in the early 1960's. The book was split in two sections, with the second half devoted to the now adult children of Vivi and Big Shep and how they turned out after leaving the fold. While Well's stories reflected a range of emotional ups and downs, I think she did a good job of capturing the realities of growing up in an abusive, alcoholic household. Every disagreement is over the top and threatens violence. Every mildly funny moment is rolling on the floor laughter. In short, every reaction is to the extreme. And kids living in the middle of it, simply accept it as a fact of life--what else can they do? I did, however, have one big problem with this book and that was in tying it to Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, which I had read first several years ago. Divine Secrets painted Vivi, the matriarch, as complex and difficult at times, but not necessarily detestable. Little Altars, however, made her a monster--and the worst kind of a monster--the kind people just shrug off, ignore, or whose monstrous behavior simply gets buried or explained away. I have to say after reading Little Altars Everywhere, I had a lot of trouble with Well's seeming celebration of the Ya-Ya's and their notion of 'sisterhood'. Surely these women all knew the abusive bent of their leader Vivi, but like the doctors who looked the other way at Siddalee's whipping marks when they treated her for her asthma, they seemed to simply ignore it. In my book that's not sisterhood--that's just plain sick. I know movies often stray far from the storyline of the book, but after reading 'Little Altars', I'm glad I never saw Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood--because I would end up hating all these women for their collusion. Enough said--read it anyway. If nothing else, it is certainly a thought-provoking collection of childhood memories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    IF YOU LIKE 'DIVINE SECRETS' DON'T READ THIS BOOK

    I enjoyed this book up until the 'Snuggling' chapter, then I quit reading. I don't see the point in ruining the Vivi character, and I think it even tarnished my opinion of "Divine Secrets'. I don't see how Little Shep or even Sidda could even talk to Vivi after what she did. I don't think they would in real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    INCEST AND VIOLENCE??? DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Who writes about a mother molesting her own children??? Divine Secrets was great- but this took it too far into a perverted way. I am so disappointed with Rebecca Wells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    INTERESTING

    As one of the other reviewers said -- I was a little put off at first because of the format this book was written in. But as I moved along I thought it compelling. It did seem to fall apart a little at the end so I scanned. Its different and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    Two Books in One

    The minute I started reading, I was hooked. The first half of 'Alters' is absolutely hillarious! It was eerie how much it reminded me of another wonderful book I had just finished ('Leaving Eden' by Anne D LeClaire), right down to the sayings and so forth. However, once I finished the first half and moved on to the second half, things began to plummet. Fast. The first half of the book is told mainly by Sidda, Baylor, and Little Shep in the 60's (their childhood years). I laughed so hard at some of the things they would say about life in general. I was looking foreword to seeing how it ended. Well, the second half is told by the same characters as adults. Something awful happened to them in the transition to adulthood. They became obnoxious jerks! The second half mainly focuses on how horrible their childhood is, and how they hate their mother (whom they seemed to love when they were kids). I hated it so much, that I only skimmed the last few chapters, and then read the last paragraph of the book. My husband had to constantly remind me to finish the book. When he asked if I had finished it, I had to reply 'sort of'. I've never seen a book go from so good to so bad so quickly. Most of the swear words (and there are quite a few) appear in the last half. I recommend reading only the first half. Each chapter is bascially a story within itself, so I didn't feel like I was missing anything by not finishing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2005

    Not as good as I'd hoped

    This is the first of the three ya-ya books that I have read, and I have to be honest - it has given me no motivation to go on! The book was ultra dry, and seemingly pointless. There was no real story to be told, just a rambling of bits and pieces of life through the years. A few chapters held my interest, but they were few and far between. If you're thinking about reading it, I say don't bother. You aren't missing much, unfortunately!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Interesting

    With the new Ya-Ya's book just out, and who doesn't like to go around saying Ya-Ya's, I decided to finally buy the first two. What an interesting, sweet, troubling story. I found myself drawn into everyones story and cannot wait to start the second book tomorrow. I am glad I decided to start with the first book. Have to admit I was curious about how much the movie deviated from the actual book. It is good to have all this background information from 'Little Altars Everywhere'. Life isn't always how it seems to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    Tres Excellent

    Ok, well when I first started to read this book I was NOT impressed at all, probably due to the format. But since I am an avid reader I decided to give it a chance and let the story develop. Well, a whole volume of adventures and romance and drama unfolded in front of me. I received more information about Vivi from different perspectives. Yes, this book is a little different and sometimes repeat things, but you gotta remember it is coming from a different point of view and if you read hard you can see where the real story is. Because although five people may witness something at the same time, there will be five different stories. I think that gives you more insight into the way people observe the actions of the world through their different senses. Well before I talk too much hear, the bottom line is: excellent book. I recommend it. Just remember to give things a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Not as good as 'Divine Secrets...'

    I read 'Divine Secrets..' first and then this one. I was not at all as captivated by this as the other. I did not like the way Vivi was portrayed in this book. There was no real 'story' to it. Some reviewer said that IT is the novel from which the film was derived.. I don't agree. I HIGHLY reccommend 'Divine Secrets...' and look forward to Rebecca Wells' next novel but I advise you skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Great Reading Material

    Once I picked up the book, I was finished. This book captured my spirit with Siddalee telling about her past in her Louisiana home. It was a halarious book all through. The author, who as well lived in Louisiana, does a swell job. The stories she writes are well written and everything correct. Telling about Siddalee out of Ya-Ya Sisterhood was great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    An average book...

    I don't quite know what all the hoopla is with this book. I found the first couple of chapters interesting, but after that the book got a little tedious. I found that I wasn't in the least interested about what any of the characters had to say. I haven't seen or read Divine Secrets and I'm now reconsidering if I really want to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    Sad,Funny,heart wrenching,hilarious

    What a wonderful way to capture the spirit of the Ya Ya's and their families. I feel like I'm that much closer to them. I have also noticed I'm a part of some Ya Ya's and didn't even know it! Girl Power!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Must read before Divine Secrets..

    This book is a must read before you see the Divine Secrets movie or read the book...It gives you the insight into all the characters that carry into Divine Secrets and then you want to stand up and yell for this 'normal' american family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    Trying to Make It Last

    I read Divine Secrets first and loved it and then decided to read Little Altars. I do love Ms. Wells' writing style. I laughed, I cried, I cringed -- especially at 'Snuggling' and the parts with the children being hit with a belt-- both of which leave me with such a dark feeling about Vivi but at the same time realizing what a very sick person she was in more ways than one. I feel like I'm with these people--they come alive to me. I'm trying to make this book last but I can't help reading it quickly. Lots of dysfunction and pain, lots of laughs and fun...just like real life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    ya-yas rule!!

    I thought that this book was so great. I read it really quickly. I was so drawn to the characters. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a great read. If you have read 'The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood' and haven't read this one, go get it now!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Hated it!

    Rebecca Wells absolutely ruined Ya Ya for me. I read Ya Ya first and then went to look for other books by her and bought Little Altars. Making Vivi a sex offender was overkill and absolutely unnecessary. It makes the whole Ya Ya craze absurd and ridiculous. Do not read this book if you liked Ya Ya. I was angry after reading Little Altars but not at Vivi, I was angry at Ms. Wells for ruining a perfectly good book by this absurd 'prequal'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    little altars not as good as Ya-Yas

    I thought Little Altars was great up until I read the chapter 'Snuggling'. I read Divine Secrets first and I think the above chapter ruins Vivi Walker's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3