BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Little Bee

Average Rating 3.5
( 1238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(369)

4 Star

(358)

3 Star

(263)

2 Star

(148)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

This is an eye-opening and devastating book!

Little Bee by Chris Cleave is the story of what happens when the lives of Sarah, a British magazine editor and Little Bee, a Nigerian teenager collide. The resulting conflict is spectacular and stunning. This is an eye-opening , devastating book told from the perspectiv...
Little Bee by Chris Cleave is the story of what happens when the lives of Sarah, a British magazine editor and Little Bee, a Nigerian teenager collide. The resulting conflict is spectacular and stunning. This is an eye-opening , devastating book told from the perspectives of these two very different women, neither of whom can turn a blind eye to the tragedies taking place around them.

This was a hard book for me to read. The jacket blurb in no way prepares you for what is coming and the story, though it leaves you with some hope, is ultimately very sad. However, this is a book that you need to read, if only to be more aware of what is happening in other parts of the world and how little we are doing to stop these tragedies. Maybe this book will persuade more people to follow Sarah's example and refuse to turn a blind eye.

posted by Frisbeesage on February 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Ehhh

After reading the back cover and the first chapter I was hooked. But in the long run the story didn't really develop itself... I was just learning about the characters when the book ended... not my favorite but its a good first 3 chapters

posted by Sweetsaki on June 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    Not What I Thought It Was

    It wasn't as wonderful as I thought it to be. In the end I forced myself to finish it, thinking well maybe it gets better as I go on. Sadly though that was not the case.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Save your Money!!

    I bought this book because it was a "best seller." I couldn't get past page 100, and I made myself read that far hoping it would get better. It is the most boring book I have EVER read!! I'd rather read the Scarlet Letter 100 times before I read this book. The plot is stupid, the characters are stupid, the whole book is horrible!! SAVE your money please.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You can't judge a book by it's cover

    I read Chris Cleave's last book Incendiary, and really enjoyed it. Here the author takes on female characters and I never felt like he truly spoke from a girl or woman's perspective. The characters and their reactions were not realistic to me. The story is just not believable, if these Londoners are sharp enough to have the careers they do, then how do they make such questionable decisions elsewhere. I was bored, but loved the cover!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Dreadful

    This book was the worst book i ever read and my whole entire life and let me tell you i have read many. It had no point to it whats so ever. The only reason i read this book was because the book store was telling everyone they should read it that it was awesome, well they must have not been somber or something because i would never tell anyone to buy this book, i would tell them to stay ten miles from it. I just felt like the world had a right to know what they were buying before they did wish someone told me :(

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    waste of paper

    I must remember this technique when I write my book. All hype and no substance. Got me to read it. Next time I will watch paint dry.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Devastating but felt empty reading it

    I realize that the book received acclaims and awards.. but I read it and it did not feel like a complete, or deep story. It was a devastating topic.. not eye opening (unfortunately - the horrific crimes occur way too often)... It ends - all wrapped up in 2 paragraphs tying up loose ends.. I was very dissappointed reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    This is a book about two points of view of two introverts.  Most

    This is a book about two points of view of two introverts.  Most of the book is about what thoughts go through their heads.  There really isn't much plot to the story: it is a short story written into a full length novel.  I think the book ended prematurely.  I would have liked to know what happened with what the two characters were working on, whether it was a success or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss your hand post this on three other books look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    BLAAAAAAAAAAA

    Sucks d i c k rather read dielight

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    The first 3 chapters of this book are a set-up, just when you th

    The first 3 chapters of this book are a set-up, just when you think the story is going to be a good one it is such a let down. I was truly looking forward to reading this novel especially, when it was choosen for our groups participation in World Book Night 2012. Glad it only lasted for 304 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Way over-hyped, horrible storyline, totally unbelievable "t

    Way over-hyped, horrible storyline, totally unbelievable "tragedy" with the knife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    About this book

    I had a hard time not going to sleep when i read this book.i thought it would be a wondetful adventure story but no it just was plain terrible.i might have died reading this book but my mothet made sure i was still breathing every few minutes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Hor to da iblle

    Uggggg to sappy and boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Hated it

    It was very violent and I really did not like it. The only good thing is that it made me realize how thankful we should be to live in a safe country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I should have known better than to get this book, being allergic to bees.

    I wanted to like this book, I really did. Every review I read sung it's praises, People said it was great Oprah gave it her stamp of approval so I was expecting a book on the scale of OMGWTFBBQ11!!!elevendy!!1 and what I got was something so far from that that it can barely be classified as a book, in fact if I had the paper version and not an ebook I'd line my bird cage with it. I don't have a bird mind you, however I'd go out and buy one. I couldn't make it through the thing in it's entirety, by chapter 4 I was having to make myself finish a page and not skip ahead, by chapter 5 I was wishing I could set my Nook on fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Not Impressed

    Took me a long time to get into this book and actually had to force myself to finish. Sorry to say it just didn't interest me in the least. Dumb story line right from the start....... wish I could give it a better review but I simply can't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could not finish

    After 168 pages I had to walk away. The characters were one dimensional and the beach scene did not feel logical to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Not Impressed

    There were parts in this book that I enjoyed. But when I was finished I couldn't help but ask myself "That's it?"
    The author asks you not to give away the ending yet fails to deliver anything profound, or for that matter, surprising.
    Overall, I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Glad when it was over

    Sooo disappointing!! And Boring! I made myself finish it since I purchased it, but it was difficult. Wish I could have a refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    What a disappointment!

    As I read this tragic, yet hopeful story, I couldn't believe the way Chris Cleave "ended" the book. I felt cheated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5