Customer Reviews for

Little Bee

Average Rating 3.5
( 1233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(365)

4 Star

(358)

3 Star

(263)

2 Star

(147)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

This is an eye-opening and devastating book!

Little Bee by Chris Cleave is the story of what happens when the lives of Sarah, a British magazine editor and Little Bee, a Nigerian teenager collide. The resulting conflict is spectacular and stunning. This is an eye-opening , devastating book told from the perspectiv...
Little Bee by Chris Cleave is the story of what happens when the lives of Sarah, a British magazine editor and Little Bee, a Nigerian teenager collide. The resulting conflict is spectacular and stunning. This is an eye-opening , devastating book told from the perspectives of these two very different women, neither of whom can turn a blind eye to the tragedies taking place around them.

This was a hard book for me to read. The jacket blurb in no way prepares you for what is coming and the story, though it leaves you with some hope, is ultimately very sad. However, this is a book that you need to read, if only to be more aware of what is happening in other parts of the world and how little we are doing to stop these tragedies. Maybe this book will persuade more people to follow Sarah's example and refuse to turn a blind eye.

posted by Frisbeesage on February 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Ehhh

After reading the back cover and the first chapter I was hooked. But in the long run the story didn't really develop itself... I was just learning about the characters when the book ended... not my favorite but its a good first 3 chapters

posted by Sweetsaki on June 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 365 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Book

    "Little Bee" is beautifully written, filled with lines and imagery to dogear and revisit. Two very powerful female leads -- Nigerian immigrant Little Bee and English professional Sarah Summers -- carry the novel, as their lives overlap amid a kind of violence that is hard for sheltered Westerners to imagine, in moments whose depth is obvious, but whose repercussions neither is able to predict. As Little Bee aptly puts it, "Horror in your country is something you take a dose of to remind yourself that you are not suffering from it."

    An excellent counterpoint to the current anti-immigration fervor, that will sadly escape (or intellectually outpace) the audience that needs to read it most.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING! RIVETTING! NOT A PLEASURE READ PARTICULARLY BUT DEFINITELY A LEARNING EXPERIENCE!

    Little Bee is a beautiful blending of cultures, quandaries, strength, courage, love and identity.
    When Sarah and her husband, Andrew, are vacationing in Nigeria, they come across Little Bee and her sister on the beach. Two years later, after Little Bee manages to make it to England, she calls on Sarah.
    The novel has two narrators, both Little Bee and Sarah. These women were from such different worlds, yet they formed a bond and treated each other with dignity and respect. The young girl in Nigeria has endured and witnessed such unthinkable and unspeakable evil, but the author found a way to write hope and life-affirming quality into this brilliant storyline. This is about survival and about living and about reminding us, Americans, how fortunate we are and how we CAN make a difference. AMAZING AND RIVETTING!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    Best Book I've ever read.

    The dexterity with which Cleave, a male author, writes these two women - Sarah and Little Bee - is nothing short of miraculous. The prose is both beautiful and approachable, and the range of emotions I felt while reading made me want to not put the book down. It is the only book I'm recommending to my friends and family. I'm a non-stop reader, and this is truly one of the best books I've ever come across. I highly, highly recommend it.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    Heavy subject matter, but couldn't put it down!

    This book was really good. I feel a little weird saying that since a friend really didn't like it because of the violence, but I couldn't put it down. It does have violence, and is depressing, but I found it really, really interesting. The ending was not what one hoped for for the characters but that didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book. It also is eye opening regarding a very real situation going on on the world that I don't think a lot of people know about.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Little Bee

    Very heart-wrenching. Not a "make-you-feel good" book, but a book to move your soul and make you think.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Fantastic

    A real page-turner. One of those books where the characters follow you even after you've finished reading it. Haunting, in a way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    A must read!

    I absolutely loved reading this book. Kept my interest all the way through and when I arrived at the final pages, I was genuinely sad that the book had ended. I will not go into details, as the story needs to be read in its entirety, rather than summarized.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    A must read

    This book is amazing. You will feel every emotion there is intensely. The author makes you take a look in your internal mirror. Some parts are not easy to read, but the message within the pain makes it worth it.I highly recommend!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Proceed with caution...

    Great read! I read this because of all of the mixed reviews. I don't know how anyone can call this book boring. I cried, I laughed (not much though), I got angry, and I learned something. Chris's writing really made me feel what was on the page. There is a seen horriffic enough to give yiu nightmares and it will stick me for a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Read it!

    Intense story but greeeeaaatt book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Yes it is a book that makes you think & may bring about issu

    Yes it is a book that makes you think & may bring about issues that are uncomfortable to read, but that's life. It focuses on characters that somehow find the joy in life; a life lesson that we all should read more about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Book I Have Read This Year!

    Can't say much about this book without spoiling the plot, but let me say that it was stunning. I stayed up through the night to read this. I recommend this to EVERYONE. Beautiful,funny, heartbreaking, just everything you want as a serious fiction reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    Brilliant, hard to put it down

    This is an amazing story. Enough said.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Writing style and enthralling story

    The writing gimmick is that this young African girl has developed a terrific vocabulary reading the British newspapers while detained as an asylum applicant. So you can enjoy her thoughts and perspective, which is very creative, without the barrier of dealing with a patois. The plot sucks you in and you will finish the book in two sittings maximum - then give it to a good friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    This story is about a chance meeting between two women and how their lives are forever changed because of it. It is a story of servival. Each character has to make very tough choices in order to servive. Based on those choices, we are left to decide if the characters are "goodies" or "baddies". I thought it was very well written and look forward to reading Chris Cleave's other book. The story is told in reverse - starting with the most recent events and working backwards. It is narrated by both women giving us both woman's perspective on the events. This book is a great choice for a book club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Strength

    Shows human spirit and friendship even in the midst of strain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Cheers for Little Bee!

    How can it be possible to find so many great reads in one summer? This book should be required reading!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Wow

    I loved this book! Although it is short, it is full of many things to ponder

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Hi

    &#9812 &#9834 &#9786 &phone &#9830 &starf &#9835 &#9788 &#9819 &#9839 &#9856 &#9857 &#9858 &#9859 &#9860 &#9861
    Contact Violin Woman if you want to know how to do any of these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Loved

    Loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 365 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19