Customer Reviews for

A Little Bit Wicked: Life, Love, and Faith in Stages

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Ka-yoote!! and very, very funny!!

    I have recently found out who Kristin Chenoweth is (yeah I know, what rock have I been living under?!) and for someone who has very little knowledge of musical theater or classically trained opera singers, I very much enjoyed reading her book.

    It certainly helps to know who she is and what she does for a living and probably having seen her performances but even if you don't, Kristin provides a steady dose of entertaining stories about faith, family, boyfriends, career struggles and good ol' honkey tonk Mid-Western humor.

    I am also not interested in religion but Kristin does a fantastic job at saying her bits and pieces on faith and spirituality without sounding push or overwhelming. She sounds like a person who follows the "live and let live" mantra. Tuns out, Christina girls get pretty pissed off, too!

    She is genuine and sweet. A great role model for young women trying to chose between that great career or that stud muffin guy. Sometimes the chronology doesn't sound right (but she does warn the reader in the beginning of her book that she's not a history buff regarding her life) and she tends to hurry from one story to the other. In several instances, I had to re-read the previous paragraph to make sure I was still reading the same story line. She can be a little vague but rightly so, as she wants to keep at least some of her wicked bits to lure us with over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kristin really proves you can do it if you try

    This is an inspiring, entertaining, and informative book. It is not only about Tony Award winning actress's life but it also inspires you to be everything you want to be in life no matter where you come from, how much money you have, or how short you are. As long as you work your hardest you will achieve what you want. Kristin Chenoweth is not only inspirational; she is funny, witty, and even emotional as she shares the values she believes are most important in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! She is so cute!

    She is so funny, and I really enjoyed getting to know Kristi and a little about her life so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    A Fantastic Read!

    In this poignant, comical tale of her journey from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma to New York City and even to Hollywood, Kristin Chenoweth provides a lively commentary on her life, full of voice and sparkling southern personality. She regales her readers with her adventures through ballet lessons and pageants, through college and life in New York City. And in the middle of all of her funny anecdotes and narrations, she manages to slip in a deep and profound insight on life, or if you're lucky, the recipe for her very own "Death Cookies". Not only does Chenoweth recount her story, she brings it to life, and really makes it matter for her readers. As one of her fans, I was intrigued to read the book from the beginning, a la "Maybe if I follow in her exact footprints, I can get where she is now". But the book wasn't just about telling her story. Chenoweth had a message that she wanted to get across, and in her own quirky way, she taught of the trials and tribulations of life in showbiz. This has been one of my favorite books to read, because it was engaging, cover to cover. There weren't any of the lulls like some other books, where everyone's favorite teenage wizards are camping for days and days on end, or when the man in the boat is still getting pulled across the ocean by the fish. None of that; because as I was reading, it didn't feel as though I was still reading, but actually listening to Chenoweth tell me what happened. Overall, this is a thoroughly enjoyable read and I would highly recommend it to anyone, especially if you have an interest in the performing arts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    Fun read!

    This book was great. I loved Kristen Chenowith's style and her humor. The story did not really follow chronologically, which was a little confusing; but, it was alot of fun to read. Would definitely recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    she's gonna be popular...

    This is a fabulously entertaining book. The voice is in Kristin's own southern drawl, and her personality just shines through with each paragraph. Reading about her trials and tribulations made me love her even more. She's definitely not a writer, she's an actress, so there were times when she would go off on tangents and it would be a bit confusing. But as a whole, it's a great book.

    She speaks about her faith through the entire book because it has always been a part of her life and she has never felt the need to hide it while on Broadway or in Hollywood. She is proud of how God has helped her to get to where she is today, and she mentions it more than once. Some reviewers have mentioned they think she has a "holier-than-thou" attitude, and I completely disagree. Her faith is part of who she is, and when writing an auto-biography, it needs to be included. She can't leave out a piece of herself. She wasn't pushy or arrogant about it, only matter-of-fact and straight-forward. And I admire her even more for not being afraid to show it.

    Pick up this book and give it a whirl, especially if you are a fan of Kristin. She brings you along on her journey from high school performances to singing at the Oscars and "defying gravity". You'll laugh, you'll cry, it'll be just like a Hollywood movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This Book Is Wicked!

    This book is truly wicked. In the book, Kristin Chenoweth explains her life so far in a very cute, funny way and shows how a small town Oklahoma girl became one of the I think, greatest stage actresses of today. If you loved Wicked or if you are just looking for a good read, I would try this one on for size....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "It's possible for someone to see your wicked bits and still love you..."

    As a long fan of Kristin Chenoweth (who I will from now on refer to as Cheno) I was very excited to read her first (and a bit overpriced) book. It's pretty short, like her, but as she states this is her first "slice" of an autiobiography, and I hope she writes one without a ghost writer later in life. No offense to Joni Rodgers, she did a masterful job at crafting the book to sound just like Kristin would tell you in person, but added the clever timeline and bouncing back and forth between past and present that I really enjoyed.

    Her take on life, faith, love and her career are all very nice, and I was interested to read more about her darker side. It definitely shows you that not everyone you see on the stage or on TV or in the movies, despite their appearances, are always happy. This book definitely made me see Kristin for more of a real person that the Glindafied bubble girl I definitely had personified her as.

    Overall I devoured this book in less than 24 hours and enjoyed a vast majority of it. You have to take what she says as her thoughts and you should respect that. CHeno doesn't try to push her faith on you, she merely uses what she believes in to possibly inspire others.

    A great read for a plane ride or two :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed learning more about Kristin. I've loved her in Pushing Daisies and The Music Man. Very interesting to see how she got there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kristin Has Changed My Life... For Good

    I've never been a fan of autobiographies. I find them to be filled with boring, useless facts that only make me think "Wow. This person really isn't even a little bit interesting enough to have their own book." Ms. Chenoweth however, made sure her book was full of heart, humor, and even a few eye-watering moments. Kristins way with words made it obvious that even after a Tony Award and a Tony nominated performace, she is still just the little blonde girl from Broken Arrow. Little, yes, but also big hearted. Kristin gives Broadway lovers and insight into the process to make it to the stage. From church choir, to pageant princess, to understudy, to star of Wicked, Kristin never loses faith in what matters to her most. If only more people in Hollywood would take a lesson from the always classy Kristin Chenoweth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining Book

    This book is great for fans of Chenoweth and for those who want some insight into the behind the scenes of the industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    A LITTLE BIT WICKED on CD is must for Cheno fans!

    Listening to actress Kristin Chenoweth read her NY Times best-selling auto-biography is Charming, Humorous, Entertaining, Neat & packs Omph! It gives readers the chance to hear how the author wrote it (emotions felt). As a fan of hers, I was so thrilled to learn her book, which I love reading, was to be on CD. love reading/hearing stories about her wonderful career, faith and her personal life. Kristin is an inspirational person. I have this on my mp3 player...and I listen to it a lot!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Loved it!

    I couldn't help but feel happy after reading this book. Her overwhelming trust in life and peppy personality seemed to rub off on me whenever I was reading it. It was surprisingly uplifting. Her honesty about her life was more than I've come to expect from most celebrities in their memoirs, and I was delighted that she chose to allow readers to see her true self. Now I just love her more.
    Additionally, the writer did a wonderful job of keeping the narrative cohesive and maintaining the flow of the book. It was wonderfully written and delightful to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Enjoyable Read

    I am a fan of Kristin Chenoweth since Wicked. I felt this book was really entertaining and I very much enjoyed reading her story. It was very amusing and uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    Kristin Chenoweth tells her story with a refreshing candor. Reading this book made me feel like I was hanging out and laughing with a friend.

    I loved this read! Ms. Chenoweth writes like she's chatting with friends. As I read, I could hear her voice telling me about her life. I laughed with her and cried with her. I love her spirit and her love of life. This book is a treat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kristin Chenoweth is a breath of fresh air

    I knew who Kristin was from seeing Wicked on Broadway and from watching Pushing Daisies on ABC. I thought she was a good singer and a small, cute woman. I had no idea she was so refreshingly clever and funny! Her story is fun, witty, and highly entertaining. It's also nice to hear someone talk about faith and God in that industry, but it's especially nice to hear someone talk about faith and God without being preachy. Overall its a great, fun read that can be enjoyed by anyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Enjoyable Read

    This book was very enjoyable, and gives a little light in how hard it is to be a positive person in the business of show business. How people are people, even in the show business field many people believe if you don't believe the way "I" do you don't belong. If you like an upbeat, easy to pickup and put-down read, maybe a travel/vacation read. This is it. Good Job Kristin and good luck with Mr right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kristin Chenoweth - TV Actress, Broadway Superstar, Singer extrordinaire!

    We have not followed Ms. Chenoweth's career as closely as some might but we have seen her and listened to her wonderful singing. She is a dynamic writer, singer, actress & broadway star. She has that everyday-everyone persona that you can't help identifying with her in the challenges she has in her life. She's so upbeat and positive taking one day and living in that moment. Very inspiring in a spiritual, emotional and talent-filled way. She brings hope and humor through her life stories. She's so interesting. We've all dealt with people in our own lives like Kristin shares in her life story. It's a great story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!!!

    This book is amazing, Kristin Chenoweth tells about her life and the trials and errors that most struggling actresses go through. You feel like you know her, almost like shes a close friend. I love that about the book, its as if shes telling just you about these things that happened to her! I can't put it down when I start reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    This is a must read!

    I would recomend this book to anybody who loves theatre and hopes to make it big. this book tells you about the struggles Kristin Chenoweth went through and how not everybody can make big their first time audition for broadway or any other thing they audition for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7