Customer Reviews for

A Little Bit Wicked: Life, Love, and Faith in Stages

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    A Wicked Read

    In her newest memoir, "A Little Bit Wicked: Life, Love, and Faith in Stages", Kristin Chenoweth shares the ups and downs of her journey as a singer-actress, the transition from small town girl in Oklahoma to a New Yorker, and discusses some of the leading men in her life-all topped with hilarious, self-deprecating humor that makes this book's style reminiscent of a night out with your best friend. Best known as the pint-sized Tony-award winning and Emmy-nominated actress, Chenoweth candidly shares her experiences starring in Broadway's musicals "Wicked" and "You're A Good Man Charlie Brown", participating in hit TV shows like "The West Wing" and "Pushing Daisies", and releasing her own albums of songs. Chenoweth also reveals her love for her adopted family, her singing scholarship to Oklahoma City University where she received professional training in musical theater, her hysterical experience with beauty pageants, how she wound up on Broadway, what it's like to perform at the Oscars, the recipes for her favorite deserts, her relationship with religion, a written love confession from her on-again/off-again Hollywood beau Aaron Sorkin, a list of the questions she wants to ask God when she sees him, as well as what drives her career-acting advice included. What I like most about Chenoweth's memoir, though not a chronological tell-all, is that she does not shy away from controversy. Some of the saucy stories mentioned in the book are about her fan turned stalker, her much-talked about appearance on "The Club 700", and her family's reaction to the cover shoot for FHM magazine. Overall, I found the book very entertaining and uplifting. Chenoweth's writing is very fresh and earnest, while her word choice is pure stand-up comedy. Recommended reading guaranteed to brighten any rainy day.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    AHHHHH!!!!!!

    A BOOK about THE Christen Chenoweth? YAYAYAYAYAY!!!! I LOVE CHRISTEN ( especially in WICKED and YOURE A GOOD MAN CHARLIE BROWN). She is amazing and its great to read about the awesome, wonderful original G(a)linda Upland of the Upper Uplands! Read it if you love her! Her witty sense of humor is appealing and she tells about her amazing expierences. Read it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Because I knew you, I have been changed for good

    I don’t normally venture into the non-fiction section of a bookstore unless by accident, but when I spotted Kristin Chenoweth’s memoir A Little Bit Wicked I knew that I had to read it because 1) I love all things Wicked (although it does not dominate her story); and 2) I fell in love with Kristin Chenoweth when she played Olive Snook in Pushing Daisies.

    THE GOOD BITS

    {A little slice goes a long way} I loved the format of this book. Yes, Kristin Chenoweth goes in chronological order, but it never felt that way. A Little Bit Wicked seemed more like a compilation of bits and pieces of Kristin Chenoweth’s life, never quite connect-the-dots but everything had its time and place and I felt lucky to be reading about it. I ate A Little Bit Wicked it up in one evening, but this book can easily be stretched out like a decadent and rewarding dessert for 16 evenings!

    {Warning: Avoid any liquids while reading} I guarantee that there are a whole lot of snort-worthy moments, and I giggled my whole way through reading! Kristin Chenoweth is honest-to-goodness adorable, even when she has her non-bubbly moments, and I love how the writing captures this effervescent woman. She is 100% human (I know, I had concern that she was all bubble) with hurts and hopes, trials and triumphs, and she knows how to throw a decent punchline. From the truth behind where babies come from to her eat-them-and-maybe-die White Trash Cookies to the inspiration behind Ellen: The Musical to being tricked into a date with a pilot while racing across the country, it is hard to NOT laugh at Kristin Chenoweth’s mishaps on her rise to popularity.

    {On Aaron Sorkin} So I didn’t know much about Kristin Chenoweth’s love life before I read A Little Bit Wicked and really the her current status is nobody’s business but her own, but can I say that I adored Aaron Sorkin’s own account of how he fell in love with her? All I can say is that, in A Little Bit Wicked, I can sense how much Kristin Chenoweth and Aaron Sorkin care for each other – even if they were off-and-on, even if they never get back together – despite everything, Aaron Sorkin wrote a beautiful piece for A Little Bit Wicked and I think it was pretty cool of Kristin Chenoweth to share it with the reader.

    THE BAD BITS

    {Wicked-ly disappointed} Okay, the lack of Wicked was not exactly the end of the world, and I am sure Kristin Chenoweth may be all Wicked-out, but I had thought there would have been more dish on Wicked as suggested by the title. There were a few brief mentions, but if you shared my expectations of Wicked delights, this is not the book for you. This is more for fans of Kristin Chenoweth and perhaps GLEE-hards.

    THE OVERALL

    I don’t know how A Little Bit Wicked does it, but somehow it embodies the bubbly known as Kristin Chenoweth and delivers anecdotes that can either make you laugh or cry or even sniffle with a hint of chuckle. A Little Bit Wicked may have be Wicked in name only, but it is everything I expected from Kristin Chenoweth! A Little Bit Wicked may be short in length, Kristin Chenoweth most definitely is not – and I hope that there may be more stories to share in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Beggin For It!

    It was a hot Summer's night when I first sat down and started reading this book. I'm not what you would call a "fast reader", or "a book fan", or "smart" or anything like that. I didn't need to get past the first sentence to realize that this was the best book I ever read, or ever would read. By the second sentence, my life was changed forever.

    I should tell you that I am her biggest fan, and have heard her sing over 8 songs. I feel the need to disclose that I'm a big-time fan, so that you realize there might be some bias. That said, this book is better than any book that has ever been or will be written. And I've even read a few parts of the bible, so I know what I'm talking about.

    She writes like she sings, with lots of words. Perhaps even more words. Which is strange, because the paragraphs aren't very long, yet have many, many different words in them. Speaking of paragraphs, the structure of them throughout the book was excellent. Very few times, would I have joined sentences in one from another. Also, the indentation was spot on, and extremely consistent from start to finish.

    *side note here- the audio book is NOT a musical version. Those people thinking she sings the book, will be very disappointed.

    But back to the real star of this novel: the words. They're so wonderful I have a hard time describing them without using words. There isn't really a good way to tell you how perfectly they're assembled into a story that not only makes a great deal of sense, but also affords you the luxury of being enjoyable. Talk about a rarity in book-writing! This is one of the best books to come along in the last 430 years.

    I'd also like to say that this book is useful for women. Not just if you are one, but if you want to bag one. Most women see you reading a book, they think "Oh look... another d-bag reading porn or the wall street journal." But when they see this book, it's a whole new ballgame.

    I was reading this at the bowling alley where I intern and this incredible girl walks up to me. See's the book, and does me. Yes, really. Right there, in the party room. No she wasn't drunk, and she wasn't retarded so I'd appreciate it if you didn't say that, even if that idiot Jimmy Gisondi tells you she was retarded, because he really didn't get a good look at her.

    Anyway, the book is really great. If you are a fan of reading like I am, you'll love this book. Yeah, it's that good. I give it a 96 out of a 100, taking off points for the font. When it comes to the sequel, you'll be beggin for it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just as quirky and energetic as she is

    Though Kristin Chenoweth is one of my inspirations, (also a short, Southern, coloratura soprano) I was under the impression that she was type-cast, and while many of her roles may be similar (cute, perky, belt) she is a lot deeper, in other ways every person can connect with her. She is a very energetic performer, and she managed to capture that sprightliness in every sentence of her first auto-biography (she hinted at another in the future) with warmth and humor. She is very thorough in certain areas in her life, and I was expecting all the background to build into some melodramatic ending, but she did a beautiful job of keeping it light and sweet, but not in an artificial sweetener way, where you can still taste the bitter underneath. The writing is bouncy, and doesn't dwell upon things too much. Ms. Chenoweth has a way of addressing the reader so that they feel like her closest friend, or she's your aunt. Her early life and college years are addressed, and while I of course was ever so pleased she did, I wish she could have talked more about her musical theatre career, as that's what I know her from. However she's a delightful person and this proves she's much more than a gumball, which is pink and sugary on the inside, but empty on the inside. She proves herself a strong woman, and I believe that anyone who knows her for any of her work should read her auto-biography, in hopes they gain another layer of respect as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heartfelt

    I bought the book in hardcover and I have to say it's one of my favorites. After reading it through several times, I decided to buy the audio. Her story comes to life in her own voice and it's lovely to hear the emotion behind her story. I laugh and cry every time. It's not the most intellectually stimulating biography, but it will touch your heart and make you smile.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE KCHO! BUY ALL HER PRODU

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE KCHO! BUY ALL HER PRODUCTS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    A little bit awesome.

    Clever. A little ADHD in writing style, zig-zagging back and forth between time frames and stories. Love this lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    A fun read. I'm a big fan of Tony award winning Broadway and Hol

    A fun read.
    I'm a big fan of Tony award winning Broadway and Hollywood star Kristin Chenoweth, so I was really excited to learn that she had written an autobiography. Chenoweth is probably best known for starring in the musical Wicked and on television shows such as The West Wing, Pushing Daisies, Glee, and GCB, to name a few. She's also starred in movies and recorded albums.
    A Little Bit Wicked tells the story of all the ups and downs in Chenoweth's life, starting with her early days as an adopted child in Oklahoma and detailing the steps she took along the way to her successful career as an actress and singer. Kristin shares intimate details of her personal and professional life and discusses the lessons she's learned while facing difficulties along the way.
    I decided to listen to the audiobook version which is narrated by her (thanks to Julie at Book Hooked for putting this title on my radar!). It was really fun to hear her narrate. There are also a couple guest narrators who pop in to tell their side of the story! I would recommend this book to fans of Chenoweth or those interested in musical theater and acting. It was fun to get a glimpse behind the scenes of Broadway and television.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Grace

    If i did not already say so, i adore you. I played a young you in one of your flashbacks in into temptation. Bravo patrick for writing it! I also am your hugest fan because of wicked. I saw u at the macys day parade. I waved. You have changed my life for good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    The Tony award winning singer/ actress Kristin Chenoweth looks

    The Tony award winning singer/ actress Kristin Chenoweth looks back on her journey through the whirling world of performance. From the singing in church as a child, to performing on Broadway and in Hollywood. Even though not many people can relate to winning a Tony or opening a show in New York, her book is extremely relatable through her story telling. She writes as though she is having an enjoyable conversation with every reader. 
    The outside story is well known by millions of people. Kristen Chenoweth won a Tony, and has starred in many shows including Wicked. However, the backstage story is always different than the sparkling final product. It was incredibly interesting to read about the struggles and the joys of Kristen’s life, in a superbly comedic way. It was uplifting to read after every struggle about how she left everything up to God and never lost faith throughout her journey. Even when she was at her lowest she never said she had a doubt in her faith or where God had brought her. It was inspiring, because performers lives are filled with let down and failure, even when they are as successful as Kristen Chenoweth.
    My favorite part of the book was being able to connect with her experiences. No, I have not been on Broadway, or even off Broadway, but as a fellow performer, I was able to relate to many of her dilemmas, successes, and even failures. I could laugh knowingly about admiring other actors and crew members. I could understand exactly what she was talking about when talking about vocal technique, and I could feel the warm fuzzies when she talked about her cast families. I could also relate to the heartbreak of not being good enough in the brutality of the performance world. 
    I adored the whole book, but my least favorite part was how A.D.D. the whole book was. I am scatter brained, but sometimes the story got hard to follow because she would go on tangents and I had no idea what was happening. The tangents were hilarious and enjoyable, but I was still a little lost during parts of the book. 
    As a young performer, I was definitely inspired by this story of a woman working her butt off in a world where no one is ever good enough. I have not been sure about what I want to do in the future; whether I was to continue performing for a living or not. After reading this book full of downfalls and success, my passion got the best of me. I couldn’t imagine stopping performing after reading this amazing story. Loving what you do is much more important than how much money is made. Moving people in a performance is much more fulfilling than a mediocre life. 
    This book full of life lessons was shared in the most dazzling way, from the most dazzling woman. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Great read

    Kristin did an amazing job at writing this book. She is hilarious and it's fantastic that she is a good Christian lady because it has no vulgarity. It's a genuine good read and I left this book smiling and with a lot of respect for her (and other Broadway actors). It's a tough gig!
    I highly recommend this book. It's a book I looked forward to coming home to and reading with a cup of coffe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Really a wonderful book. I am a big fan of hers, but you do not have to like her to enjoy this book. Beautifully written, with the perfect amount of comedy and seriousness. I recommend to everyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    A wicked read!

    I just love Kristin and this audiobook is just wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE her...LOVE the book!!

    LOVED IT!! Kristin is funny and honest. I loved the way she talked about her family, especially about growing up knowing she was adopted (and how that shaped her) I also enjoyed her take it or leave it..this is me attitude about life. Her honest and openness about her Faith was probably one of my favorite parts of the book. She has this quote about dealing with her Grandpa's death "How can anyone who's seen a dead body question the existence of the soul? The difference between the living and the dead so clearly goes beyond temperature and movement. There's an energy that's there. Until it isn't"

    She also talks over and over again about how important laughter is in life. Here's another of my favorite quotes from the book. I should mention the first part is her quoting the play/movie Steel Magnolias "' Laughter through tears is my favorite emotion.' Laughter is life-giving. It makes you breathe." This made me love the tiny funny woman even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    A Great Read

    Kristin Chenoweth's autobiography is a great read. It's bright and bubbly, just like she is. If you like Kristin you will totally enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    A Wicked Awesome Read!

    You dont even need to be a Kristen Chenoweth or a Broadway fan to enjoy this book. Her humor, conversational writing and the depth to her stories will touch your heart and you laugh page after page.

    You will be captivated and want to share this book with others, I guarantee!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Great Read!

    This book is written with such charm! I went through it in one day, it was an easy but fun read. I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    A Little Bit WICKED

    This book is so funny. Kristin Chenoweth is an amazing singer and actor and this book shows you what it is like to be famous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Enchanting humor keeps the pages turning

    I love Kristin Chenoweth already, so I won't lie... I'm sure my review is a little bias. That being said, I loved this book. Kristin's humor is on every page... from start to finish you can just imagine her just telling this as a story of her life to her friends. Nothing is forced and the way the stories just flow is enchanting.

    Thanks so much for this great read and sharing a little bit of yourself with us Kristin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7