Customer Reviews for

Little Blog on the Prairie

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Posted up and ready to read!!!

    I loved this book. I read nonstop to finish it in a day. This book goes though all of the feeling a normal teen would have if they were taken from their summer and stuck into a place were no eletronics or anything modern was allowed. I highly reccomond this book if your looking for a funny, surprising book with a little romance. With 5 out of 5 star i hope the author writes another book like this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    OMG!!!!!

    This book is sooooooooo good! I highly recommend it! But i would recommend for ages 10-14 cause if u r older than 14 u might b kinda bored:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Great!

    The sample was realy good! I wish they had more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    McDonalds ;*

    Ba da bub baaaa im luvin it!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great!

    I'm lovin' it. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Amazing

    I love reading and this is my favorite book after Suzanne Collins: Catching Fire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Awesome!

    an awesome book! i've read it soooooooo many times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    extraordinary!

    I love this book it was just so interedting.i got pulled in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is great for any girl who likes to read teen books there is always something new around the corner in this book it is a must read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Reading

    Even though I didnt read it i knownit is going to be really interesting!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Little Blog on the Prairie

    Imagine being a teenager, looking forward to summer vacation and soccer camp. Now how would you feel if you found out that this summer was going to be much different. This year you will be going to a family frontier camp. A camp that takes you back to 1890, and forces you to live that way all summer. The only saving grace is the cute boy, Caleb, that is staying in a cabin nearby.

    Gen is furious at her parents for dragging her to frontier camp this summer. She has to weed corn, milk cows, and wash her clothes by hand. And worst of all she is missing her friends and soccer camp. But all is not a total lost as she has managed to sneak a cell phone in and sends regular text updates to her friends. All this backfires one day when her texts end up on her friend's blog for the whole world to read.

    A quick and entertaining read that enjoyed. Reading about the antics of the various teenagers and children that are attending the frontier camp are fun and accurately show how I would have handled being cut off from civilization for two and a half months. I was able to appreciate all the main characters, even the ones I didn't like, and the background characters were developed to just the right level to contribute what they needed to the story. However, the style and conflicts were sometimes a bit predictable.

    3/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Family vacations should be fun. They should include things like amusement parks, loaded cruise ships, motel swimming pools and room service, and maybe an odd national park or two. Vacations should most definitely not include weeding a cornfield, a constant diet of cold grits and beans, doing the laundry by hand, and sleeping with your little brother. Gen Welsh has some opinions about family vacations, and the one her family takes is certainly not what she expected.

    Gen is looking forward to a summer of soccer camps and time with her friends by the rec center pool. When her mother announces that the family will be going to Camp Frontier for six weeks and living like it is the 1890's, Gen is sure she must be joking. It is not until they actually arrive at the reenactment vacation site, and she has handed over her iPod and traded in her clothes for stockings, a petticoat, and a bonnet, that reality hits. They will be joining three other families to eat, sleep, and live in another century.

    Crammed into a stuffy cabin no bigger than their garage, Gen finds herself sleeping with her little brother in the same crowded loft as her mom and dad. Every modern convenience she can imagine is suddenly missing from her life. They will be cooking on a wood stove - if her mother can figure out how to light it. They will do their laundry by hand, milk a cow twice a day, care for four acres of corn, and use an incredibly unpleasant outhouse.

    The only thing that makes life bearable is the new cell phone Gen is able to sneak in. She uses it to quietly text her friends back home to vent about the horrible conditions and the odd characters sharing her vacation. When one friend begins using Gen's text messages as the feature for a blog project in her summer school computer class, Gen's story becomes part of something she never could have imagined.

    Author Cathleen Davitt Bell takes readers on the vacation from hell. Her descriptions of living life as it was back in 1890's are enough to make any modern-day, tech savvy teen cringe. It might be interesting to visit a museum with an old time village or farm setting, but to actually live it for almost two months would strike horror in most. Bell includes a nice mix of humor, mystery, frustration, and danger to create a captivating read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2