Customer Reviews for

Little Blue Truck

Average Rating 5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great Story

    This is a great story plus it has a good message about being nice to others. Just because it's about a truck doesn't mean it is just for boys. My daughter loves all the animals (plus their noises) that the blue truck greets!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    This book is beautifully designed, sends a good message AND if w

    This book is beautifully designed, sends a good message AND if we don't read it to my son every single night he throws a fit. He requests it by name, "beep, beep" it's the first thing he points to every morning he loves this and the Little Blue Truck in the City.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    My son LOVES this book - the pictures, the story, and the fact I

    My son LOVES this book - the pictures, the story, and the fact I have a differnt voice for both trucks and all the animals. We fell upon this book when it was a deal for a few dollars more if you bought two children's books. Excellent book - highly recommend for the kiddos!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Little Blue Truck By by Alice Schertle, Jill McElmurry I kno

    Little Blue Truck
    By
    by Alice Schertle, Jill McElmurry




    I know that I don’t normally do reviews on children’s books, but this Christmas I came across a book that has taken our house by storm.  Little Blue Truck is a story about a friendly little blue pick up truck and a big yellow dump truck, along with a few barnyard animals.  None of the characters are really big on long speeches and even big on words.  Each of the animals know what they say, the little blue truck says “Beep”, and the big Dump says “HONK”.  But what is most important is that they have a lot to say about how to treat other people in kindness, through action.
    As an adult, I can talk all day about a children’s book, but I had two young readers at Christmas that provided me with a review that I could not have otherwise imagined.
    Reader One – Dakota, age two.
    When I first found this book, I bought it for my young nephew who I had never met. He is a shy two year old and a man of very few words.  After reading through the book, I loved the story and loved the bright illustrations that filled the pages with life that a pre-schooler can comprehend.  The day I introduced Dakota to Little Blue Truck, his doe eyes widen with the reading of the first page.  The normally silent young man immediately started to repeat the sounds that Little Blue made and turned to his dad saying “Azul, Azul”, pointing at the truck.  (Oh yes, even though he is the silent type, he is also bi-lingual.) His dad looked over Dakota’s head with tears in his eyes.  It was Dakota who later pointed out to us that it was raining on the page when he kept pointing at the page and saying “agua.”  By the end of the day, we had managed to read through Little Blue Truck four or five times, with all the sound effects and with much giggling.  He had a new friend and a new aunt, both were wonderful things in my eyes.
    Reader Two – William, age fourteen months.
    After the wonderful experience with Dakota, I decided to buy Little Blue Truck, again, for our young grandson for Christmas.  Christmas morning the living room was all awash with paper, ribbon, boxes and toys.  When the box with Little Blue Truck was opened, William happened to be sitting in my lap, “JOY”.  I immediately opened the book to show it to him while waiting for his next gift.  Once again, the eyes opened wide with the opening lines and sounds of the first page.  “little blue truck goes BEEP.”  He looked at me, smiled and said “Bip”.  I knew he was hooked.  He sat mesmerized all the way through the book.  When I got to the page where the big dump truck came through with a “HONK!!!”  He laughed, and tried his best to honk, and made me repeat it several times.  He loves his dump truck.  All the way to the end of the book, he followed Blue and Dump, then flipped the book back to the beginning.  
    More presents came along, but he kept coming back to Little Blue Truck.  
    Now weeks later, Little Blue Truck still comes out several times a day to be read.  It has become his favorite book.  
    Kevin, William’s four year old brother loves the book almost as much as his younger brother.  I ran across a floor sized copy of the book and got it for Kevin, who loves the book very much and enjoys the huge pages.
    I would recommend this book for any person wishing to entice their young toddler with a book.  The focus is on sounds, but has a wonderful, simple story of kindness and taking care of your friends.  The language is straight forward and is not lost on the young reader.
    Our entire family awards this book SEVEN stars out of FIVE stars.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Such a cute book! Teaches a great lesson as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    I often give this book for new-baby gifts, often with a little toy blue truck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    So cute

    I love this book. My 19 month old loves the animals and the rhymes. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    I love this book and so does my son. I've bought it for several

    I love this book and so does my son. I've bought it for several other kids as well because we love it so much!
    Sends a great message to treat others with kindness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    My two year old knows this book by heart, forward and back. Beep

    My two year old knows this book by heart, forward and back. Beep, Beep, Beep! Thanks for this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    My daughter LOVES this book! We read it so much that she has st

    My daughter LOVES this book! We read it so much that she has started to read it to me from memory and she is only 2. Really fun rhyming and animal sounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Nice story

    Very good message on this story, my daughter loves it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Really cute book!

    Boys and girls will love this book. Really cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    My two year old grandson absolutely loves "the Little Blue

    My two year old grandson absolutely loves "the Little Blue Truck" and while you are reading it he finishes the sentences. I was so happy to find another Little Blue Truck Leads The Way, which I purchased today. I sincerely hope the author continues the series. I will certainly buy more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    My son who is 4 has had this book for over 2 years and still enj

    My son who is 4 has had this book for over 2 years and still enjoys the book. We have read it so much that he has it memorized. He can now "read" the book to all by himself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    My grandson loves this book and asks for it all of the time. We

    My grandson loves this book and asks for it all of the time. We enjoy making the animal noises together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Highly recommend

    A fun book to read. My daughter smiles at the sounds (4 months old). I am so happy I bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    We bought this book because we got in as a special on here when

    We bought this book because we got in as a special on here when you bought 2 others and I am so glad we did! It's a fantastic book! I love the rhyming and my 20 month old son loves the animal sounds and beeps! This is a must have for toddlers!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    First time through this book, our 2 1/2 year old was engaged wit

    First time through this book, our 2 1/2 year old was engaged with the story & he usually can't sit still. Being a truck lover, he was very concerned for the big dump truck and said "Look out big truck" when we first came to the page where the dump truck gets stuck. Now, being a fan of this little book, when our boy is stuck, he says "I'm stuck...Beep Beep Beep". This little book has already made some great memories!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Highly Recommend - Son's new favorite!

    We got this book for my son when he was about 18 months old... It has become a bedtime (and any time) story staple sense! Reading flows well, and the images are interesting (lots of animals and trucks) that you can visit with your kid about as well. This book really helped my son associate noises with specific animals -- and trucks of course!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    good young child's book

    I guess you don't know that my order for this book was not fulfilled and won't be. Even though I know it is in your stores, I was told it could not be gotten on line and told to purchase it at a store. I would, but am partially blind and am dependent on transportation. The nearest store is 35 miles away. I became a member so I could have books shipped. I'll have to order this item elsewhere.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3