Customer Reviews for

The Little Book: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Different book on different levels

For a historical fiction fan this is a good book. Its placement in late 19th Century Vienna with descriptions of life and morals is interesting and escapist. For that it should get five stars. The time travel aspect supports that rating. The plot is at times hard to...
For a historical fiction fan this is a good book. Its placement in late 19th Century Vienna with descriptions of life and morals is interesting and escapist. For that it should get five stars. The time travel aspect supports that rating. The plot is at times hard to pin down, straining comprehension, at times beyond the limits of good fiction, and merits only three to four stars. The characters were, for the most part, stereotyped, like an Austrian melodrama, and rate only a three rating at best. Overall the book was fun, but at times incredulous. It is not for the analytical, more for the escapist. What started out for me as compelling became at times tenuous. The whole seemed to be better than the sum of its parts, but not to the degree to make this a great work. A decent read, yes, a top notch one, not for me.

posted by MikeS on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Confusing and boring

I forced myself to finish this book, thinking that it MUST get better, but it never did. When it wasn't confusing, it was boring. Too many things going on that either didn't make sense or had no relation to the main storyline and characters.

posted by MIJul on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I loved this book

    This book was an incredible journey. There were so many twists and turns you never knew what was coming. The backstory of the author is great as well. I can't wait until his next book is published.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A 30 year masterpiece!

    Do you ever see a book and just know that you are going to enjoy it? Well The Little Book by Selden Edwards was like that for me. I picked up the book as the cover looked intriguing to me (Yes! I was judging a book by its cover!). I knew I was probably in good hands when the two author endorsements were from Richard Ford and Pat Conroy. Both gentlemen are among my all time favorite writers. After quickly reading the inside of the dust jacket, I was sold. I was not to be disappointed.

    The book is set during the turn of the 19th century in Vienna. Mr. Edwards weaves in some amazing cameos of people who play a role in the story (Sigmund Freud is a pivotal figure). Whilst I don't want to give the plot away, be ready to explore several time periods from 1897 to 1988. There are some shocking moments in the book that make sense, will still surprise you. The tome wraps up with a flourish that will leave you smiling.

    If you have an interest in 19th century Europe, prep school, and larger than life heroes, this is the book for you. Although written over a period of 30 years, the prose and dialogue are seamless. Cheers to Selden Smith for a book well-done!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just The Best Little Book!

    This book is fascinating. It has an air of mystery and absolutely charming. It is just The Best Little Book! I highly recommend it. A very relaxing read. I have just finished this book and could not put it down. My only hope is that it does not take Selden Edwards thirty years to bring back Wheeler Burden. A wonderful book. Outstanding. Reminds me of A Winter's Tale.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    A gripping story

    This book brought me such pleasure with its finely drawn characters and evocation of times and places past. There were twists and turns to keep you reading. But more than that there was joy and romance and history brought together beautifully. Time travel is a hard subject to do well, but Edwards has done magnificently. This book speaks to your heart. It is the author's lifelong project and he has given us a book to cherish for a lifetime. I loved Jack Finney's Time and Again and From Time To Time and now I have found something to compare. Bravo!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    A Five Star Read...Ah, the brain that came up with this story!

    This story of one family's ability to time travel is a great read! The men of the family find themselves crossing paths with other family members in some random pattern of mixing up the past with the present...and the future! Two years after having read Mr. Edwards' wonderful story I still think about it, that being the reason I bought the book...so that I can loan it to friends whom I can't wait to dicuss it with! Highly Recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Loved this book

    Great fun to read. Reccimended it to others and they all enjoyed it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique and Entertaining

    The characters and plot kept me reading. I was mostly surprised with all the twists and turns. Now I am dying to see Vienna. If you want to read something interesting, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2