Customer Reviews for

The Little Book That Beats the Market

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Highly recommended-must read!

    For a "market virgin" as myself this bood is easy to read, understand and even funny!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Good Foundation

    A good foundation for novice investors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Author says: Model back-tested 17 yrs @ 30% compounded return!!!

    Joel Greenblatt does a good job at expressing the clear advantages towards practicing a fundamental based investment strategy. He cites his own investment record as well as ques some of the famous value investors of the past century to further his claim. Perhaps the most simple method of persuassion used is a formula he created by focusing on companies with high returns and selling at a large discount. Greenblatt focus turns to Benjamin Graham's "Mr. Market" to help readers understand the manic depressive mood swings which allows the market to price securities far above or below the companies underlying intrinsic value. Greenblatt uses the idea of a hypothetical company his son sets up with a friend called Jason's Gum Shops to illustrate several aspects of business and company evaluation, such as earnings yield -- the inverse of the P/E ratio -- and return on invested capital. Lastly, Greenblatt suggest that his magic formula does not beat the market every year but on average after 3 yrs or more of using his system. It uses a hedge by asking the novice to purchase 20-30 companies from the results of his formula and upon holding them for one-year, replace the then current companies with those that rank highest on the current magic formula list. Continue to cycle these companies going forward and voila= "Magic Formula Investing!" It is essentially an index approach using some of the best companies yielding very good earnings. At the very least a solid case for finding a great core of companies to begin ones own research for value based securities. A quick read, if you wish to further validate his record I would critique his long-term record attached to Gotham Capital.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read it as I would read The Bible

    This is one of the many investment / trading books that I've read, but unfortunately NOT kept on my bookshelf. Don't get me wrong -- it's a very readable book that does a good job of teaching some fundamental (no pun intended) concepts. <BR/><BR/>But the "magic formula" thing worries me. I've done my own research on "magic formulas" that screen stocks based on fundamental measures like P/E, PEG, and Dividend Yield and found them to be not so magic after all. See "Stock Fundamentals On Trial: Do Dividend Yield, P/E and PEG Really Work?"<BR/><BR/>They seem to work well in a bull market (the onset of which you can determine from a price chart) and then often break down spectacularly when the tide turns (as recent events have shown). <BR/><BR/>In fact, Joel says on page 6 of the book that: <BR/><BR/>"If everyone knows the magic formula and everyone can't be rich, pretty soon the formula will stop working." <BR/><BR/>(and then he goes on to present a magic formula) <BR/><BR/>The above quote states a good case for "trend following" or "market timing" if ever there was one. Even if the formula does help you to identify good stocks to buy (and it might); do make sure you get off when the music stops. <BR/><BR/>The author's use of the word "belief" also worries me a little: like, if you believe in the formula then it will work. I'm sure that if enough people believe in it, then it will work, for a while. And maybe if I start believing in fairies, Tinkerbell won't die. <BR/><BR/>So read this book as I would read The Bible: enjoy it, maybe learn some lessons from it, but don't take it literally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Useful for Beginners and Experts

    The Little Book is a short, concise, easy to understand book that sums up the concept of value investing. To beginners, it offers a simple formula for market smashing performance. For experts, it offers a new way of screening for potential investments. With the Magic Formula screen and some additional research (like at MagicDiligence web site), some of the market's best opportunities can be found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Well.....

    Well Im young and new to all this investing stuff, and I read the book and enjoyed it. Easy and quick to read, I did learn a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Value investing for beginners ¿ with a hint of magic

    Whether or not this book's 'magic formula' delivers the results that author Joel Greenblatt promises, the book itself presents a lucid, simple explanation of investing in the stock market. Unlike many who write about investing in stocks and offer formulas for success, Greenblatt is remarkably honest in his discussion of the difficulty of beating the market and remarkably modest in his claims (although perhaps not quite as restrained in referring to his Web site). We find that the chief merit of this bestseller is not its formula for success (which derives from guru Benjamin Graham's value approach), but rather its clear, step-by-step introduction to the fundamentals of investing for novices. The author makes the market understandable to a child. That is quite an achievement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2006

    Greatest book on investing since The Intelligent Investor

    Whether you are just getting started or have an MBA this book will help you understand the principles of value investing. The book provides a simple formula to help you find value stocks. Although the formula is easy to understand and use it is not apparent how Mr. Greenblatt is applying it on his Website magicformulainvesting. If you try to use his suggested formula and then compare them to the the results on his site you will most likely get different values. I believe this is because Greenblatt wanted to keep the book simple. However, if you would like to see what I believe is the exact formula visit my tutorial at my website equity-analyst. The tutorial also makes adjustments for normalized earnings which is something that can't be ignored. Even with this minor discrepency this is one of the greatest books on investing to come about in the last 60 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Haugen's Method Costs More and is Way Better

    I read this book after reading Robert Haugen's work. It's not possible to implement Haugen's strategy unless you pay his consulting firm thousands of dollars to implement his approach, which doesn't work that well even after one's fee is paid. Greenblatt's strategy seems to work extremely well, and it is possible to implement and his web site is free. That Greenblatt's approach is both so much more accessible and much cheaper is really deeply concerning. I'm sticking with Haugen for now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Results are verfiable - 'Boston Quant is wrong!'

    Despite calling himself 'The Boston Quant', I would like to point out that 'The Boston Quant's' review was wrong and it is clear that he did not read the book. If he would have, he would know that EV (Enterprise Value) is the market capitalization + debt + preferred - EXCESS CASH. (Actually, as a quant researcher, it is difficult for me to believe he would not know the correct definition of EV even before reading the book. It's kind of like being a Nascar driver and not knowing how to change gears.) Greenblatt gives us a clear definition of all the measures he used in the book. The EV he used was the one I described prior. When it comes to the EBIT, he uses the trailing twelve month EBIT and for Invested Capital, he uses Net Working Capital (= Current Assets ¿ Cash and Short-term Securities ¿ (Current Liabilities ¿ Interest Bearing Liabilities)) + Net Fixed Assets. If I use the same example (1/17/06), Callwave (CALL), in the way Greenblatt described in the book, then I get an EV of $36.40 Million (= $97.90 (MrktCap) + $0 (Debt) ¿ $61.5 (Cash)) and a trailing 12 month EBIT of $6.99 Million. That gives me a EBIT/EV earnings yield of 19.20% and which is close to the same percentage as shown on the Magic Formula website. Don¿t be discouraged by ¿Boston Quant¿s¿ review. Greenblatt¿s book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    A Compelling Case but ....

    A very enjoyable read. Greenblatt makes a compelling case for a very simple approach. However, I have been unable to come close to reproducing his results. I am not using the same database, but I would still expect to be in the ballpark, which I am not in many cases. It would be very helpful if Greenblatt were more explicit about his calculations. The FAQ on his website provides almost no help on this. If anyone has been succesful in reproducing his results, I would be interested to know how you are doing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Didn't Help a Bit

    Having just started out in investing hard earned income for future security, I was expecting to find an easy road to wealth. This book left me with the feeling of being cheated out of $20 that would have been better invested in good sound advice from a reliable market stategist. This book should have been called 'The Little Book of Adkins Investing' -- nothing but hype.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    Results are NOT Verifiable

    To make such claims of outperformance without verifiable proof is irresponsible. I was looking to backtest this strategy, but after reading the book and checking the website I am unable to back into either EBIT/EV (which should be very easy) or ROC (also very simple). There is simply not enough detail to match the calculations on the site. They claim to be using Compustat's point in time database which I have access to. Are they using twelve month trailing numbers, projected numbers, most recent quarter, or something else? Perhaps there is a transform applied to the ratios, we just do not know. There are not answers to these questions in the book anywhere. Example: Take Callwave (CALL) today (12/12/05) which is on the sites list as recommended today. It has a Earnings Yield of 16% as calculated by the site. Since CALL does not have debt or preferred stock or minority interest then EV should = Market Value = $104.64. To get an Earnings Yield of 16% EBIT must be 16.74. According to COMPUSTAT: Trailing 12 months EBIT = 8.5 Most recent Quarterly EBIT = 1.8 Most recent year-end EBIT = 9.5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Waste of $20 - Ignore the Hype

    What do you get when you mix a strong marketing plan, a well known and successful hedge fund manager, and 100 pages of investing platitudes? Answer: Greenblatt's new book. I hate to be so harsh on the book, because I think Greenblatt's intentions are good. So let me correct myself: If you are under the age of 12 and know diddley squat about how stocks work, buy this book. You'll learn a lot. Now, if you have even a rudimentary knowledge of stock picking -- save your money. Greenblatt says two important things in this book then repeats himself for 100 + pages. All you need to know you could have gotten for free at Morningstar: buy companies with high ROC (return on assets or 'ROA') and high earnings yield (inverse of P/E ratio --the E/P ratio).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    The magic formula works!

    I've used Greenblatt's formula to select the smallest stocks that fit his criteria, and my portfolio is roaring up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    Size doesn't matter

    I love little books that guide our lives to successful living. Like short proverbs, they are packed with wisdom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2