Customer Reviews for

Little Brother

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bound to become an instant classic.

To be honest, I picked this book up because it had a giant red X on the front. It reminded me of those signs that tell you not to do something, but you do it anyways. To be completely, bluntly, and brutally honest and simple, this was a damn good book. It's the kind of ...
To be honest, I picked this book up because it had a giant red X on the front. It reminded me of those signs that tell you not to do something, but you do it anyways. To be completely, bluntly, and brutally honest and simple, this was a damn good book. It's the kind of book that I could really see on a required reading list in a high school English class. It's a truly important book that deserves to be on shelves among To Kill a Mockingbird, Lord of the Flies, and The Catcher in the Rye...okay, maybe not right now, but in maybe ten years. It's an important book that any teenager can learn something from, whether it's how to hack a free Xbox or score a new girlfriend/boyfriend by smashing your homemade computer. Little Brother is a book about freedom--freedoms of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Read it. Buy it. Love it.

posted by TheAuthorChick on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Anonymos

Way too much technology that i dont undersand at all.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bound to become an instant classic.

    To be honest, I picked this book up because it had a giant red X on the front. It reminded me of those signs that tell you not to do something, but you do it anyways. To be completely, bluntly, and brutally honest and simple, this was a damn good book. It's the kind of book that I could really see on a required reading list in a high school English class. It's a truly important book that deserves to be on shelves among To Kill a Mockingbird, Lord of the Flies, and The Catcher in the Rye...okay, maybe not right now, but in maybe ten years. It's an important book that any teenager can learn something from, whether it's how to hack a free Xbox or score a new girlfriend/boyfriend by smashing your homemade computer. Little Brother is a book about freedom--freedoms of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Read it. Buy it. Love it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    As Marcus would say, "B3s7 b00k EVAR!"

    Great book. I got this as a gift for Christmas. It was 1337. I liked how Doctorow actually went into detail about all the technical things. Most books don't say about that. Cory Doctorow is amazing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Grabs you and goes!

    This was picked up on a whim. I found it hard to put down. The action had me caught up and involved immediately. I've now shared with some of my high school students and they seem to be enjoying the book as well. This is great for me to see, since my students do not typically read anything.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for Teens Read Too

    LITTLE BROTHER presents a pretty scary picture of the way things could be if terrorist threats continue, and politicians keep funding the Department of Homeland Security with no thought as to how this might victimize the average innocent American. There is already an incredible amount of technology devoted to "spying" on the citizens of our country, and we normally don't give it a second thought. This book will make you think - and not just a little bit. Marcus is a seventeen-year-old tech wizard. Granted, he often uses his skills for less than ethical reasons, but he doesn't hurt anyone. When a terrorist attack destroys the Bay Bridge near his home in San Francisco, he and several friends are captured by police (DHS) as they are attempting to help a fallen companion. They become the victims of frightening interrogation and torture. When Marcus finally gains his freedom, he vows to take back America from the out-of-control Department of Homeland Security. Using his vast techie skills, he creates an alternate Internet called Xnet, which utilizes the old XBox game system. Marcus becomes known as M1k3y and develops a huge group of supporters. Together, they attempt to undermine the government agencies determined to destroy the true meaning and protection of the United States Constitution. Cory Doctorow has created a modern-day 1984. Set in the not-too-distant future, this book attempts to show what could happen if we sit back and allow the government to whittle away at our rights to "protect" us from terrorism. It gives a whole new meaning to the idea of terrorism and fear within our own government. LITTLE BROTHER is full of adventure and intrigue. A lot of the suspense comes from all the technical tricks Marcus brings to the story. Some of the details might prove too much for a struggling reader, but any tech/geek teens will not be able to read it fast enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Let me tell you something about this book... I actually liked it

    Let me tell you something about this book... I actually liked it! I didn't think i would like it but i did, even though when it got started talking about technology i was completely lost. I have this on my e reader but im going to buy a paper book of it!

    I recommend it to anyone! Its amazing book about teenagers feeling if there American rights are violated and practicing their freedom of speech! That might of made the book sound boring but I swear to you it s not :P (It took me a year to actually read this book and I wish I read it sooner. Its very good!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Amazing Book

    This is a great book for some of the higher aged slightly more mature teenagers. In some of the reviews I have read people belittle all the "tech talk". But that is exactly what makes this book great. Even if you do not understand it fully, or at all for that matter, it's what really makes this book. There is also a bit if sexual content but it is really not that big of a deal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    Terrorism

    Don't let our fear of terrorist take away our freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    This is a cautionary tale about what could happen when you give

    This is a cautionary tale about what could happen when you give up your freedom and rights in the name of national security. It is fiction, of course, but this author did a lot of research about technology, and recent history. Very relevant to what is going on today with lots of information. We listened to it as an audiobook during our 10 hour drive from Monterey to Vegas. The beginning was kind of boring to me as an adult, but that changed quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. I thought it wou

    I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. I thought it would be light reading for the train, but I was totally sucked in and finished it in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Awesome

    Very interesting #12jaivier*hops

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    Really cool book! Very interesting. There are a lot of useful facts and he talks a lot about technology. I've never been into IT but it made me interested.. The story is really interesting too, about a few cool high school kids, with a little bit of romance. I'd recommend this book to anyone who loves to learn about cool stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    One my favorites

    This is one of my favorite books. Great emotion and story. Solid characters. Technically YA but i would recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Great read.

    Looking forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Very good

    Intriguing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Read+it%21

    If+you+haven%27t+read+this%2C+you+know+nothing.++An+epic+story+that+makes+you+keep+reading+all+day+and+night%21+For+only+%2410+it+is+a+must+have+for++computer+nerds%2C+geeks%2C+or+anyone+wanting+to+find+an+epic+book%21

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    My Fav b00k

    Th1s 1s my fav0rit3 b00k 3v3r b3cau5e 1t has 3v3ryth1ng p3opl3 l1k3 m3 l0v3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Little Brother Review

    Little Brother Review
    With all of the real world events that have been going on these past years, events such as the many terrorist plane attacks, underground bombings, the war in the middle east and the attack that happened most recently. I think that Cory Doctrow portrays what is going on within our world today well because there may be many underground things that are not released by the government. Little Brother by Cory Doctrow is an excellent book about possible real world events.
    I found Little Brother interesting because I can relate to the main character, Marcus Yallow. Since we are both around the same age and have similar interests. In little brother, Marcus tries to fight off the Department of Homeland Security because they accuse him of things that he didn't do. This can be related to real life activities going on today in our backyard because the government is starting to close down more and monitor people more closely because they fear terrorist attacks, and I don't blame them because anything can go on since people are getting smarter but taking away privacy is too far. Little brother is about a 17 year old hacker, Marcus Yallow. Since he has a reputation of being a hacker and a, know it all about technology. Teachers, principals & authorities suspect him of having powers to destroy school security. One day as he skips school in order to play a game with his friends, a terrorist attack occurs at the San Francisco Bay Bridge. Marcus and friends are at the wrong place at the wrong time and are picked up by the DHS. Marcus needs to fight the system because nobody trusts him.
    Marcus was a very interesting character because the story was told from his perspective and the fact that I can relate to him by similar interests, lives, and same time era, makes Little Brother, more interesting to read. This was one of the reasons that I chose to read Little Brother, in my Media Lit class, because, I felt like I could connect, and there were many good reviews from friends.
    I think that one of the themes to this book is not to accuse someone immediately because we that a lot in the United States today. We would accuse Middle Eastern people of being terrorists just because a few bad eggs made bad choices don't mean that we should blame them all. In Little Brother, Marcus was accused of being a terrorist just because he was in the wrong place at the wrong time and taken by the DHS & stripped of privacy. Another theme is trust, In Little Brother, Marcus's friends and family started to betray him and not believe him until he finally got proof of what the DHS was doing to him and the fact that he did nothing wrong. In the end he gained back their trust that should have never been lost because you should trust close friends and family always.
    I think that this book's genre is science fiction/realistic fiction because it involved a lot of technology and gadgets yet it was based off possibly real world activities going on today.
    I highly recommend this book because it's one of many books that actually keep me interested with a constantly up and down plot. It is a challenging yet fun to read, and will make you not want to put it down. This novel has won 3 awards such as; the 2009 White Pine Award, 2009 Prometheus Award, and the 2009 John W. Campbell Memorial award, and has also been nominated for many others. This book will be a good read for all readers no matter what you're interested in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    predicting the future?

    I'm starting to think Cory Doctorow and I share a lot of beliefs, after reading this book.the books is written in such a way that it calls out the government on a lot of things they do wrong. He includes everyone from parents, schools, police, the government, and terrorists. He sheds light on everything, from many different sides. He is not afraid to tell it how it is, just as I would do. I am not afraid to tell or see the blunt, harsh truth, and this book does a great job of just that.

    The book talks about many different, seemingly controversial topics in our world today. A lot of the things such as over controlling, over intrusive governments, are not east to make fun of because they abuse their power so much, no one can stop them. The book, in a way, predicts the future. The book shows a very realistic path that this country could take if nobody does anything about the current situation.

    The books starts out with Marcus and his friends playing this real life scavenger hunt game, which brought them to a part of town with a subway entrance. The terrorists picked that subway, and a bridge to blow up. Marcus and his three friends were captured by the Department of Homeland Security, and sent to a makeshift prison. Once they were there, they were held and interrogated for information about the terrorist attack. The teenagers had no idea of any terrorism, so they had no information to give. For whatever reason the government was convinced they knew and weren't telling, so they tortured them until they were certain. After they decided it was okay, the DHS released them. Throughout the book Marcus must figure out how to save his friends from the same prison where he was held. He decides he wants to get back at the government for what they should not have done. He does many underground, low-key, acts of "revenge", many of which make a lot of DHS people very angry. Even though he is only 17, he is capable of much, apparently a lot more than the authority.

    This book is all about stickin' it to the man, and Cory Doctorow knows what he is talking about. This is a great read for any high schooler, especially anyone who is fed up with the system, whether in school, government, or life in general. Voices need to be heard, and this is definitely one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Essential reading for just about everyone

    This work is extremely relevant to the times that we find ourselves in. In the guise of 'national security', the state gives itself sweeping powers to 'protect us from ourselves'; so to say. Civil liberties are being swept aside at will, since the people in power and running the state are able to convince ordinary citizens that anything is a fair go at stopping 'planes from falling out of the sky'. How much of your 'personal freedom' are you willing to sacrifice and how much leeway will you give your state to save us from 'acts of terror'. Who will watch the watchdog?
    Most impressionable people can be scared into towing the state's lines with constant bombardment of a fear campaign perpetuated through the popular television media and the strong-arm of the "hero" culture that makes it unpatriotic to question the police, military and the legal system that are supposed to serve the citizens who set them up in the first place. If you've read this far, then you'll be hard pressed to delineate the world that we currently live in and the book "Little Brother'. A seminal work, it needs to be read, at the very least, by young people who need to believe that it is a civil, nay, human right to constantly question the tactics and motives of the people we empower to run the society. The less we question and the less we care, the blurry line between the various forms of terror, sponsored either by state or terrorist organizations, will get hazier. What is the point in living in such a world! This book should be a mandatory read in every classroom in our country for every high-school-er.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book with opportunity for online annotation

    Cory Doctorow's LITTLE BROTHER provides an inside look into the life of the hactivist. Although it's written for teens as young as tenth grade, it is a worthwhile read for young adults and adults of any age.

    As a piece of speculative fiction, it is built on the idea that the technologies and social events depicted are plausible. It's interesting to consider whether these elements of the book rest on existing technologies, whether there are useful analogues, and whether the text reflects a deeper reality. Quinnipiac University communications professor Dr. Alex Halavais raises these and other considerations on the site http://w1n5t0n.com where he is leading an initiative to collectively annotate an online version of the novel. Anyone can annotate. The goal is to uncover the fact behind the fiction in Wikipediaesque fashion, looking for cases where it seems a citation is needed.

    This book is fascinating, especially when coupled with the relatively unique opportunity to annotate it online. Buy copies for yourselves and your kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5