Customer Reviews for

Little Chapel on the River: A Pub, a Town, and the Search for What Matters Most

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Wonderful!

    You will wish you could be part of the story. Real characters, situations that make you feel like you have truly found a second home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    One of My Favorites

    My grandfather is always giving me books he wants me to read, too many for me to actually read them all in a timely manner. Most of the books are mysteries and some are other genres that aren't necessarily my taste. So, when he gave me this book I wasn't sure what to expect, it looked like it might be interesting, but it still took me a few months to actually get around to reading it. I am so unbelievably glad that I did. It is now one of my all time favorite books. I am so grateful to my Pop Pop for introducing this book to me, for I highly doubt that I would have ever come across it on my own. I am also thankful to Gwendolyn Bounds for giving my grandfather and I a touching, humorous, and amazing book to discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So worth reading

    Awww, I loved this book. I'm sorry that the Little Chapel has since closed, but what a nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    One of my all time favorites.

    This is thoughtful and engaging story appropriate for anyone. If you live in or are familiar with the Hudson Valley it is particularly poignant. If you are lucky enough to have ever been to Guinan's Pub as I was, it is an absolute must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved Little Chapel!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, felt like I was right there in the bar with everybody and part of the family. A touching yet also humorous look at the way we create families for ourselves when we need them, and the way men and women who have known each other for years are there for each other when the need arises. The book takes us from the chaos and horror of 9/11 to the (usually) peaceful sanctuary of the small town pub.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    A Gift of the Heart

    From the very beginning, I felt as if I was there with the author as her experiences unfolded. The Guinans story made me think about what's important in life. From the author's personal description you could vividly see and hear each person. This was an extremely emotional story for me, as it portrayed both family and community love and sacrifice. It 'called' for me to visit this little chapel. How disappointed I was when I found that the Chapel had since closed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    Extended Family!

    I adored every minute of this engaging book of an assorted group of people who shared their lives (and a few beers!)with each other. Heartwarming view of a little community who made the world a better place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Story of place,people, and loyality

    Little Chapel on the River is a wonderful read,a book that made me think about people, community,and place.I loved the way, the author revealed how she changed and grew in an unlikely place, after 9/11.The story of loyality, friendship, growth, and humor touched my heart, and not in a sappy way.Will recommend this book to many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    Surprise

    What fun to think that I was purchasing a book about a pub, when actually, I was purchasing a book about a person's thought processes regarding her life change after 911. It was also very interesting to read the various tidbits of historical information about West Point and the Hudson River area, and the author paints nice word pictures with her writing. I really was surprised by the content of the book, and I really enjoyed the read too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    A poignant, wonderful read

    I found this book magical. It was so beautifully written and created such a warm picture of this community and how to find meaning in your own life and place. I struggled since 9/11 to read or watch anything about the event, because it was so hard to think about. However, this memoir changed that for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    A family who always made me feel welcome!

    This book is breathtaking and a wonderful gift since I have known the Guinan's since the late 60's - their 'store' was my home away from home and have such great memories of our times together with Margaret, Christine, Jimmy and John. The author certainly describes the place to a T!! A wonderful book that will be enjoyed by all....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    A Wonderful get away!

    Little Chapel on the River brings you the warmth of a place where you feel secure. When reading this author's new book, you will be removed from your daily stresses finding yourself wanting to be with the author and characters in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2