Customer Reviews for

Little Children

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A good book-

A guy wrote this book? Hmmm... I liked the story but was trying not too because of the "cheating" message. I don't like the idea of people thinking this could actually happen but it was a good book. This is the story of Todd (a stay at home dad) who meets Sarah (a mom) ...
A guy wrote this book? Hmmm... I liked the story but was trying not too because of the "cheating" message. I don't like the idea of people thinking this could actually happen but it was a good book. This is the story of Todd (a stay at home dad) who meets Sarah (a mom) at a local playground. Sarah's husband, Richard is more into the internet sex fantasies he is having rather than his family and Kathy (Todd's wife) is jealous that she can't stay home. This book was hard to put down. I wanted Sarah to leave her husband before she met Todd.

posted by tchrreader on May 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dysfunctional Suburbanites

I thought I would be drawn to this book because I'm a 30ish year old suburban parent of young kids. Although, I finished this book in 6 hours on a Saturday night, I found it sad and disturbing that our American Society have way too many people who can relate to these s...
I thought I would be drawn to this book because I'm a 30ish year old suburban parent of young kids. Although, I finished this book in 6 hours on a Saturday night, I found it sad and disturbing that our American Society have way too many people who can relate to these selfish characters, basically lost in life and purpose, and especially lacking in parenting skills. There were a couple moments where I laughed because of some of the sterotypes Perrota described are soo true. I was hoping to read an amazing ending, but that didn't realize at the end. Despite that, Perrota's command of writing is actually quite enjoyable.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    A good book-

    A guy wrote this book? Hmmm... I liked the story but was trying not too because of the "cheating" message. I don't like the idea of people thinking this could actually happen but it was a good book. This is the story of Todd (a stay at home dad) who meets Sarah (a mom) at a local playground. Sarah's husband, Richard is more into the internet sex fantasies he is having rather than his family and Kathy (Todd's wife) is jealous that she can't stay home. This book was hard to put down. I wanted Sarah to leave her husband before she met Todd.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    nothing remarkable - but interesting

    nothing really stood out in this book, other than the characterizations - suburbia must be a lot duller than I remember it

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    Did not enjoy..

    I am not interested in flawless heroic characters, but thought this book took selfish characters to a new level. Excellent representation of people I knew while living in cities, but not representative of my suburban experience at all. I did not find the satirical elements very sharp, and thought there were too many plot crutches used to further the story. Complex character development might have made the effort more worthwhile.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Dysfunctional Suburbanites

    I thought I would be drawn to this book because I'm a 30ish year old suburban parent of young kids. Although, I finished this book in 6 hours on a Saturday night, I found it sad and disturbing that our American Society have way too many people who can relate to these selfish characters, basically lost in life and purpose, and especially lacking in parenting skills. There were a couple moments where I laughed because of some of the sterotypes Perrota described are soo true. I was hoping to read an amazing ending, but that didn't realize at the end. Despite that, Perrota's command of writing is actually quite enjoyable.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Couldn't put it down

    I started reading this book to distract myself before taking my grad school comprehensive exams and did not put it down until I had finished the whole thing in one day. I liked how multi-dimensional the characters were, and how it was hard to try and fit them into a mold (I tried when I first started reading it; the bored wife, the jock, the child molester, but they always kept changing). The plot itself always kept moving, and I liked how it would leave you hanging on one story, talk about another story, and then come back to it to build the tension.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    Big Love for "Little Children"

    Tom Perrotta¿s novel ¿Little Children¿ is an incredible tale of two married people having an affair while a child molester is living in their neighborhood. The book represents many types of people from an old and kind hearted woman to a young boy wearing a jester¿s cap. Sarah is an unhappy married woman with a 3 year old daughter named Lucy and a husband named Richard. Todd is an at times happy person with a beautiful wife named Kathy and a little boy named Aaron. The two meet at the park thanks to a bet, and they hit it off at first kiss. From then on the two grow more and more attached while not seeing each other until they want to run away together. The somewhat relevant sub-plot features a ¿convicted¿ pedophile, Ronald, and his mother, May. She tries to be nice, but he insists on being lonely and selfish.<BR/>The book wrestles with emotions from all the characters. Sarah is such a troubled girl who sits away from the other mothers and rethinks her life over and over. Throughout the book there are past memories of her life where she lost it all. Todd also experiences past memories of the good times in his life where he was a popular and cool guy. Sarah is now a boyish looking lady with no real beautiful features and a daughter that annoys her to the end. Todd is now an unemployed househusband with a beautiful child. The book deals with what it feels like to be lonely but wanting. The two main characters want so much that they can¿t have. Sarah wants a perfect man, Todd, and that¿s it. Todd just wants to have fun, queue Sarah. Their relationship increases heavily the next time they meet since they engage in sex.<BR/>Sarah has very childish dreams that I found rather annoying sometimes, but I felt for her. Her character has many realizations throughout that really hit hard in the end. She seems to just be critical and distant in the beginning when really she wants to be noticed. This made me wonder why she didn¿t just walk over and talk to the mothers. My emotions ranged from hatred to love to sympathy for Sarah, especially in the end.<BR/>Todd is just a frat boy at heart. He never really wanted to live like he does, but he did want to have a kid. For a lack of better words Todd just wants to have sex with someone other than Kathy. I found him to be a fun character, but really just a baby. Kathy¿s body description makes her out to be like a Victoria Secret model when they use words like lustrous and glamorous in her body type. I felt no sympathy for Todd at the end, but I assume that was the point. <BR/>What I really loved about this book was the stories. There were so many past memories that I found to be intriguing. You learn so much about these characters to the point where we actually know more than the characters know about themselves. The thing I didn¿t like was the ending. Without spoiling the ending I will point out that it feels unnatural. The dialogue, writing description, actions of characters, and abruptness did not feel like they were written by Perrotta. However, this book is highly recommended by me. I love this book, but I will say the movie has a better ending. I also recommend the movie as well, but please read the book first.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Pool or Beach Read

    The premise of this book seemed so promising, but ended up being really predictable. The story did have some colorful characters which obviously transferred well to the big screen. Maybe that was Perotta's idea to begin with. The characterization of the playgroup commando mom's was pretty funny and sadly, accurate. But overall, the book was full of very selfish people who put aside their parenting. This book was a good way to spend time at the beach without having to think too much.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Very entertaining

    This was an entertaining read. It's a good page turner with interesting story lines. I didn't give it a 5 because it's not among the best literature I've read, but it's definately worth a read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    great pick for a book club

    while not an outstanding example of literature, the author develops his characters very well in this 300 page book. the characters in this book are unlikeable and the subject matter is unlikeable but somehow 'little children' will bring great discussion for a book club group and it will be liked.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    NOT THAT GREAT

    i heard so much positive feedback from people who have read little children or had heard thru the grapevine, that i was actually excited to read it. i soon realized my expectations were too high. it was readable , but not consuming.it bored me. i couldn't wait to be done with it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    what's wrong with that peolple

    Unhappy people, unhappy mariges sucks. The hole book sucks.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    Annoying

    I found the characters in this book so annoying I counldn't finish it. The more I read the more irritated I became with these characters. Perhaps that was the authors intention but it doesn't make for pleasant reading

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    OK read

    I bought this book because of the many 5 star reviews, but was disappointed. Mediocre read, cliched characters, obligatory underdog-team-beats-top-team sports event, yawn. Yuppie romantic crisis, yawn. Passes the time, but characters neither intrigue nor stir the reader's emotions. Glad when I finished it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Honestly, It Was Pretty Boring

    It's basically a book about a woman whining about how having a child sucks and the pretentious adults she has to deal with. Granted, there were some very interesting parts but overall it was pretty lame.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Not as good as I thought it would be...

    I read reviews of this book, both good and bad, I thought it would be something I would truly enjoy. The drama between Todd and Sarah was what I thought I needed to read. However, I found the story lacking. I needed to believe that Todd and Sarah would indeed both come to their senses and make their marriages work. Having enjoyed their little fling, they would realize that infidelity didn't fullfill all their needs. The relationship between the ex-felon and his mother was simply disturbing to me. He is degrading to her and she keeps coming back for more, ever hopeful he will repent and become the person she wants him to be. Not one of the characters marriage's were ideal. Maybe that was the author's intent. To show the reader that no marriage is perfect, you can be easygoing, or plan everything out, but you can't control the other person. I found myself skimming the last few chapters just so I could have closure for the characters and move on to another book. I am sure some people will like the way the chapters switch from one character to another, I found it distracting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Love it as much as the movie!

    I've been a fan of this movie for quite some time and finally decided to read the book. Both are excellent, although, naturally I wish I had read the book first. I'm a pretty slow reader and this book is such an easy read; it went by almost too quickly. It's the first Tom Perrotta book I've read, but I feel the need to read more now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    This book was written through the perspective of multiple characters, which is a great way to follow and understand the story line.<BR/>Unfortunately, the story was beliveable because some of it happens in everyday society. <BR/>The cover didn't really make too much sense to me either. It would have been better if it was a picture of a swing set from the park.<BR/>Read the book BEFORE you see the movie. I felt that the movie was a bit flat in comparison to the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    All Grown Up

    On the surface, Tom Perrotta's novel 'Little Children' is about the affair that begins on the playground between a househusband (Todd) and housewife (Sarah) looking after their respective children while their spouses are off earning the family income. However, Perrotta explores much more than the affairs between the two lovers he shares with us the homelives of each. He lets us know how these two have reached this point and why they long for something more...why any of us long for something more and how maybe we'll never be totally happy as something will always be out of reach. He also gives us a some insight into Todd's and Sarah's pasts, including how they met their spouses. Sarah's husband also leads an interesting secret life that includes his hidden fetish of Slutty Kay, a wildly sexual girl he meets on the Internet. Friends and neighbors are introduced, and we get to know their personalities and homelives as well. Last but not least is the story of a new face to the neighborhood, Ronnie, a convicted pedophile, as he comes back home to live with his mother and is 'outed' and constantly ridiculed by a committee led by a concerned (and volatile) parent. His characters are very three-dimensional, and it was a pleasure to get to know each and every one of them, whether I liked their personalities or not. 'Little Children' is a literary version between 'Desperate Housewives' and the movie 'Crash' where many lives and events happen at the same time and occasionally intersect. And, like little children, the adults in this fantastically written novel want immediate gratification and happy times all the time. A friend of mine had also read the novel, albeit before me. She told me that she didn't care for the novel and was disappointed that there was no resolution at the end. After finishing the novel, I didn't see that. I definitely felt a resolution with all storylines, as well as their futures. Now if only the movie version would be released in cities other than LA, New York, and Chicago, I could feel fulfilled by the whole experience and get to see the characters I grew to know and love over the past couple of weeks.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This story has rich characters, prose, and a great plot. I was so impressed with Perrotta. He sucked me in with the voice of his characters from the first page. And the way he changed my sympathies toward the different characters throughout the novel was astonishing. Also, his voice was so objective...he didn't say what was right or wrong and he portrayed each character fairly...displaying their positive and negative qualities without judgment. Finally, the title is fabulous. I thought about the title throughout the book and tried to apply it to the characters and plot. I personally loved the ending...the last paragraph is beautifully written and I love that it doesn't wrap everything up in a nice little package...it stayed true to the themes and characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    A Good, Fast read

    I liked this book alot. It reminded me of myself being stuck in the whole stay at home mom rut. I wasnt really fond of the Richard and the panty thing but hey its how it goes right!! I really was disappointed with the ended. Not enough to not recommend it but enough so tell you not to get your hopes up thinking you know how it all is going to end!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7