BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Little Children

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A good book-

A guy wrote this book? Hmmm... I liked the story but was trying not too because of the "cheating" message. I don't like the idea of people thinking this could actually happen but it was a good book. This is the story of Todd (a stay at home dad) who meets Sarah (a mom) ...
A guy wrote this book? Hmmm... I liked the story but was trying not too because of the "cheating" message. I don't like the idea of people thinking this could actually happen but it was a good book. This is the story of Todd (a stay at home dad) who meets Sarah (a mom) at a local playground. Sarah's husband, Richard is more into the internet sex fantasies he is having rather than his family and Kathy (Todd's wife) is jealous that she can't stay home. This book was hard to put down. I wanted Sarah to leave her husband before she met Todd.

posted by tchrreader on May 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dysfunctional Suburbanites

I thought I would be drawn to this book because I'm a 30ish year old suburban parent of young kids. Although, I finished this book in 6 hours on a Saturday night, I found it sad and disturbing that our American Society have way too many people who can relate to these s...
I thought I would be drawn to this book because I'm a 30ish year old suburban parent of young kids. Although, I finished this book in 6 hours on a Saturday night, I found it sad and disturbing that our American Society have way too many people who can relate to these selfish characters, basically lost in life and purpose, and especially lacking in parenting skills. There were a couple moments where I laughed because of some of the sterotypes Perrota described are soo true. I was hoping to read an amazing ending, but that didn't realize at the end. Despite that, Perrota's command of writing is actually quite enjoyable.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    nothing remarkable - but interesting

    nothing really stood out in this book, other than the characterizations - suburbia must be a lot duller than I remember it

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Dysfunctional Suburbanites

    I thought I would be drawn to this book because I'm a 30ish year old suburban parent of young kids. Although, I finished this book in 6 hours on a Saturday night, I found it sad and disturbing that our American Society have way too many people who can relate to these selfish characters, basically lost in life and purpose, and especially lacking in parenting skills. There were a couple moments where I laughed because of some of the sterotypes Perrota described are soo true. I was hoping to read an amazing ending, but that didn't realize at the end. Despite that, Perrota's command of writing is actually quite enjoyable.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    NOT THAT GREAT

    i heard so much positive feedback from people who have read little children or had heard thru the grapevine, that i was actually excited to read it. i soon realized my expectations were too high. it was readable , but not consuming.it bored me. i couldn't wait to be done with it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    OK read

    I bought this book because of the many 5 star reviews, but was disappointed. Mediocre read, cliched characters, obligatory underdog-team-beats-top-team sports event, yawn. Yuppie romantic crisis, yawn. Passes the time, but characters neither intrigue nor stir the reader's emotions. Glad when I finished it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Not as good as I thought it would be...

    I read reviews of this book, both good and bad, I thought it would be something I would truly enjoy. The drama between Todd and Sarah was what I thought I needed to read. However, I found the story lacking. I needed to believe that Todd and Sarah would indeed both come to their senses and make their marriages work. Having enjoyed their little fling, they would realize that infidelity didn't fullfill all their needs. The relationship between the ex-felon and his mother was simply disturbing to me. He is degrading to her and she keeps coming back for more, ever hopeful he will repent and become the person she wants him to be. Not one of the characters marriage's were ideal. Maybe that was the author's intent. To show the reader that no marriage is perfect, you can be easygoing, or plan everything out, but you can't control the other person. I found myself skimming the last few chapters just so I could have closure for the characters and move on to another book. I am sure some people will like the way the chapters switch from one character to another, I found it distracting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Just OK

    I really expected this book to be special, especially when I heard about the movie and saw the great reviews given to it. I just didn't think the story was that interesting. The story seems to be about a bunch of people trapped in unhappy marriages or bored with their lives. Well, isn't that what happens sometimes, as we get older? I found it very sad to read about these people just longing for more when I think most of the characters had a lot to be thankful for to start with. Just making excuses to play around if you ask me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Didn't live up to what I expected

    This is my first read novel by this author and I'm sort of displeased that I chose this one. It was dull and I don't understand why the story is even called "Little Children" when it focuses around the parents lives. I was very disappointed with the ending especially. Really?? It's like a third grader came up with that ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2