Customer Reviews for

The Little Engine That Could (Little Letters Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

So easy and quick to read

My grandson loves this book and chimes right in while I am reading it to him. The graphics are really nice also.

posted by donnamae48 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cute

haahaahahahaahahahahaah

posted by Anonymous on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Got it for my grandson

    2-1/2 yrs old. This held his attention and he wanted to re-read it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Great Learning Tool

    Children ages three and up will love this book. They learn that even though you may be small you can accomplish a big task and save the day!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    An Old Standard with a New Look

    I used to read this story to my children, and I was looking for a copy that was similar to the one I had as a young mother. I'm now a grandmother and this version of "The Little Engine That Could" is just what I wanted to find. The illustrations are very colorful, and the story is told simply without a lot of embellishments that bore young children when you read to them. It teaches a good lesson on perseverance. My grandchildren enjoy this story as much as my children did.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    :)

    Sooooooooo Cute!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    "The Little Engine that Could" is another much maligne

    "The Little Engine that Could" is another much maligned book. It is often criticized for being too saccharine or preachy, and if I read it every day, I might find that to be true. But reading occasionally (maybe once a month), I find it delightful.
    First of all, it features a train, toys and a circus. What more could you want? Personally, I could do with less of the clown (as in, not at all), but not everyone shares my quirk or phobia. 
    And it is a sweet story with an easy-to-grasp point. Is there anyone who grew up before 1990 who can hear "I think I can" and not remember the engine? And the illustrations (again excepting the clown) are colorful and enjoyable.
    Overall, it is no wonder this book is a classic of children's literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Need to pay more attention!

    This is a great book...wonderful pictures and it's a great story anyways, but I wish I'd paid better attention to the SIZE of the book. It's pretty small. I was surprised when I got it and saw how small it was. It's about 5" x 5 1/4", so it's not really what I was hoping for. Still a nice book, but if you're looking for something to read to a child, a bigger version is probably better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Pretty good

    Little kids always ask if they can read the little engine that could!
    Although, I will say the picture quality is not the greatest on my black and white nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Good lessons...

    Kids learn that it's OK to ask for help sometimes. And it's good to help others who need it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1