Customer Reviews for

The Little Engine That Could mini

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

a classic that belongs in every family's library

One of my very favorite books from my childhood. Simply one of the best. The power of positive thinking!

posted by 593634 on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

MINI Book

I love the book. but did not know it was so small. too small to read.

posted by jkraven on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    a classic that belongs in every family's library

    One of my very favorite books from my childhood. Simply one of the best. The power of positive thinking!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    CLASSIC

    This is a wonderful copy of a classic story. I don't know why people are talking about the abridged or board book version here. This is the complete original edition it's just smaller in size. The beautiful illustrations are bright and vibrant. This is not the new re-illustrated edition which I personally find unappealling. The images in the re-illustrated version are too stylized and unrealistic (some of which I think would actually frighten small children). The candy coloured images in the original are much more attractive to the eyes and better suited for small children. You can't go wrong with this one!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    MINI Book

    I love the book. but did not know it was so small. too small to read.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    WARNING: This is a MINI Book

    I am sorry that I ordered this book. I was shocked and disappointed when it arrived, and I will return it. There is no way that I would give a child a mini book for a gift. In my humble opinion, the publisher should NEVER have offered this tiny book for sale. NOTE: I purchased the larger size before and that size was great.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Nook version is NOT worth the money

    I was very disappointed in the NOOK version of this classic book. The print is too small to read. It does not have a read aloud selection so I would recommend buying the print version for a lot less money!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    Never say 'Can't!'

    My mom read this book to me when I was a lad and always told me, 'Once you say you can't, you can't, but if you try you just might!' I, too, remind my son of the Little Engine That Could when he says 'I can't.' This is an excellent book to teach kids to try their best at everything they do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    A childhood favorite

    When I was young, my mother would read this book to me every single night, and I could 'read' it right along with her...though I couldn't actually read it, I was able to recite the words! What a wonderful, wonderful book. I highly recommend it to anyone trying to figure out what book to purchase for a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    I know I can

    Ever since i was 5 or 6 my mom always read that book to be when i would say 'I can't do that that's to hard' she say 'Do we need to review what the 'little engine went threw and he did make it' I go okay then I can do it and it tought me to never give up and keep trying. And I'm 14 and still loving the book! Even If you are 58 or 18 you can still read this book no matter how old you are!?!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    A Favorite Story From My Childhood

    This is my alltime favorite children's story. I make sure that every grandchild and every great-grandchild has a copy. I think the story is so positive that every child should have it read to them from a very young age over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    My Classroom Theme!

    When asked my favorite book I reply, The Little Engine That Could because of the positive theme, 'I think I can'. My preschool class starts with this story and repeats this key phrase whenever a fellow classmate states, 'I can't' and I add, 'I know you can!' The only change I would make to the book would be the illustrations. I would like the 1950's pictures to be more multi-cultural therefore reflecting my classroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Kinda creepy

    I love the book, and it deserves all 5 stars. But don't you find that Humpty Dumpty kind of creepy? My son does, calls him 'Creepy Eggman'..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    Just a Good Book

    THis book is written well, and the illustrations fit the story well. The story realy applies well to anyones life no matter what your age is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1