Customer Reviews for

Little Face

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Mystery/Suspense Fusion Book

Sophie Hannah has written the following 4 books in sequence: Little Face, Truth Teller's Lie (Beware!!! AKA as Hurting Distance), Wrong Mother and Dead Lie Down. Little Face is my first and I have happily purchased the other 3 and saving them for my vacation. The issue ...
Sophie Hannah has written the following 4 books in sequence: Little Face, Truth Teller's Lie (Beware!!! AKA as Hurting Distance), Wrong Mother and Dead Lie Down. Little Face is my first and I have happily purchased the other 3 and saving them for my vacation. The issue of the changed baby (is it or isn't it) and all the different convoluted suspects make for an exciting premise. In addition, there is the tension between the 2 detectives Zailer and Waterhouse which bring the aspect of the typical British procedural into play. This book exceeded my expectations because some of Sophie Hannah's books seem to be marketed mainly as psychological thrillers and it was only through the Customer's reviews that I took a chance on this one. Hannah's next books have more stars so I know I won't be let down.

posted by rtpana on November 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

It was entertaining for a while, but in the end I was disappointed with the book. I would not recommend it.

posted by 2936997 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Disappointed

    It was entertaining for a while, but in the end I was disappointed with the book. I would not recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Great Mystery/Suspense Fusion Book

    Sophie Hannah has written the following 4 books in sequence: Little Face, Truth Teller's Lie (Beware!!! AKA as Hurting Distance), Wrong Mother and Dead Lie Down. Little Face is my first and I have happily purchased the other 3 and saving them for my vacation. The issue of the changed baby (is it or isn't it) and all the different convoluted suspects make for an exciting premise. In addition, there is the tension between the 2 detectives Zailer and Waterhouse which bring the aspect of the typical British procedural into play. This book exceeded my expectations because some of Sophie Hannah's books seem to be marketed mainly as psychological thrillers and it was only through the Customer's reviews that I took a chance on this one. Hannah's next books have more stars so I know I won't be let down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A little mystery with an interesting plot.

    I picked this book up after reading another by the same author and found this an enjoyable read as well. The story is interesting - part mystery but a good story too. I thought the plot was inventive and the non-linear style of writing to be creative if sometimes frustrating when I wanted to hear more from a given character before another chimed in. The book brings up a few subjects that would be interesting to discuss in a book-club setting. The characters seemed a bit one-dimensional to me at times, but I still enjoyed the author's ability to give each a unique voice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    awful!!

    Love this author, but this book was terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Love

    Love this book and all sophie hannah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    great mystery

    Great fun if you like British mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Really enjoyed this novel. it had it moments where it had you thinking and was very well written. Sohie Hannah is a force to reckon with in this style of writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Uugh

    I was very disappointed in this book. I found character development minimal and the plot shallow and dull. The author's writing style was simple and unappealing to read. I regret spending money on this book when there are novels that wil more deeply appeal to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    A waste of money!

    After reading the back of the book I thought is sounded very interesting. Until I got a fourth of the way through it. The book drags on and on. Nothing really dramatic happened. It took a long time for me to read the book because it just wasn't interesting. I thought the plot was not realistic and I don't care for Sophie Hannah's writing style. This is the second Sophie Hannah book I have read, only because I bought both books at the same time. I don't like either book. I will not buy another Sophie Hannah book again. In the end it was a big waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Hurrying to be done

    When I'm reading a book I love, I know as soon as I finish I'll wish there was more - no matter how satisfying the ending. "Little Face" has me rushing just to be done. Yes, I want a solution to the mystery - but I just don't care about the characters. I don't believe in them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    Fast paced mystery!

    This one had me guessing up until the end! Great mystery, our book club read this one together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2