Customer Reviews for

A Little Friendly Advice

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Debut

For Ruby, her friends are like her lifeline. First, there's Beth, the girl who has been with Ruby through all of her family problems and is always there to offer good advice. There's also Maria, who is the most experienced with boys and is very supportive. The latest ad...
For Ruby, her friends are like her lifeline. First, there's Beth, the girl who has been with Ruby through all of her family problems and is always there to offer good advice. There's also Maria, who is the most experienced with boys and is very supportive. The latest addition to their group is Katherine, the bad girl, who is going through family problems of her own and seems to not like Ruby that much. Things go askew when Ruby's father, who abandoned her family many years earlier, shows up for her sixteenth birthday party. All the feelings and memories that Ruby has been trying to bury resurface. Ruby seems to have a fear of hooking up until she meets the new guy Charlie. But her mom is acting strangely as well as her best friend Beth. Things only get worse when Ruby finds out that Beth stole a letter her father left for her. Throughout the story, Ruby realizes that she can't always rely on her friends, because no matter how much she wants to think that they are always loyal, they are bound to let her down sometimes. Ruby also comes to terms with her mom, and the terrible secret that broke up her parents' marriage so many years ago. Although her reunion with her father isn't perfect, it is the best that can be expected under such conditions. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story, especially because it was through Ruby's perspective. It was easy to understand her point of view and feelings in most situations she was in. This novel was truly heartfelt, and I even cried at several points. I recommend this book to fans of Sarah Dessen, because the stories are similar in many aspects. I look forward to more books from Siobhan Vivian, because this debut novel was amazing.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

OK

Ruby gets a little more than she wished for on her 16th birthday. Her long-lost father comes home for a surprise and turns her world upside down. After years and years of trying to shut him out a ten minute discussion brings her insecurity about herself back. Her three ...
Ruby gets a little more than she wished for on her 16th birthday. Her long-lost father comes home for a surprise and turns her world upside down. After years and years of trying to shut him out a ten minute discussion brings her insecurity about herself back. Her three friends try to help and guide her through her hard times, but bad advice is everywhere, so how can you tell whether it's trustable or immature? Then a boy named Charlie comes into her life, and she realizes who her real friends are. This book is slightly boring at the beginning. It's exciting around the end when her relationship with Charlie gets more intense and events in the novel become more unexpected.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    A Fantastic Debut

    For Ruby, her friends are like her lifeline. First, there's Beth, the girl who has been with Ruby through all of her family problems and is always there to offer good advice. There's also Maria, who is the most experienced with boys and is very supportive. The latest addition to their group is Katherine, the bad girl, who is going through family problems of her own and seems to not like Ruby that much. Things go askew when Ruby's father, who abandoned her family many years earlier, shows up for her sixteenth birthday party. All the feelings and memories that Ruby has been trying to bury resurface. Ruby seems to have a fear of hooking up until she meets the new guy Charlie. But her mom is acting strangely as well as her best friend Beth. Things only get worse when Ruby finds out that Beth stole a letter her father left for her. Throughout the story, Ruby realizes that she can't always rely on her friends, because no matter how much she wants to think that they are always loyal, they are bound to let her down sometimes. Ruby also comes to terms with her mom, and the terrible secret that broke up her parents' marriage so many years ago. Although her reunion with her father isn't perfect, it is the best that can be expected under such conditions. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story, especially because it was through Ruby's perspective. It was easy to understand her point of view and feelings in most situations she was in. This novel was truly heartfelt, and I even cried at several points. I recommend this book to fans of Sarah Dessen, because the stories are similar in many aspects. I look forward to more books from Siobhan Vivian, because this debut novel was amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Advice Question

    All mighty god of advice, please head to my question!! So I met this girl and we both like each other, she is really nice and caring. The problem is she lives in New Jersey, I dont. She says we could never make it work and wont even let me try to. What do I do I really like her and dont want to let her go!!

    ~Noswad Samej

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    ruby is a real gem

    This book was awesome! My copy is being passed along to all my friends at school. I wish Charlie was a real boy, he sounds dreamy. Cant wait to read more from Vivian!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Ruby keeps it real

    I finished this book in one day. I would¿ve followed Ruby anywhere as she followed her heart. The relationships between these girls is real and raw and my own heart broke as these friendships stretched and expanded with growing pains. But it¿s Ruby¿s family story that will stay with me. It is so true that no family 'or person' is perfect-and that love is sometimes shown in the weirdest ways. I can only hope there is a follow up so we can see what happens next in Ruby¿s big adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was so emotional. It was fantastic! What ever you thought would happen next was totally different. It was a great suspense and romantic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    To advice guy or gal

    How can I get my Minecraft rp to be somting big? (Btw if you wanna join go to blocks all res and respond to jason at jasons problem res one)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    To below

    Is that you arcticwind?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Re: To below (June 12)

    Yes, that was me, Arcticwind. Though now I'm Arcticstar. I don't need that help aymore (fortunately), and am the hpy mate of Flamewind. Even still, I'll never forget the day one of the shes found out... -Arcticwind now Arcticstar&#22276

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    YES I DO

    TELL ME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    To all

    Hey. I wanna know how to masterbate and where. What gives the best pleasure?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    To: i need advice

    Go to "cer" res 1 and 2 and 3 for good teenage se.x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Jack

    No texas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    QUEEN OF ADVICE

    To ask someone out just keep it simple. Say u wanted to go to a movie with him/her just invite her like Avory would you like to see Transformers four with me and a couple of my friends and go to lunch/dinner after?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    To Advice 101

    Ok, I have a crush on this girl, but I might not see her anymore. How can I tell her/my parents that I like her? ~Dontknowas***aboutgirls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Rain

    What is rping? What does bbl and gtg mean? How do you make those stars. &star ? What does res mean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Help!

    I like this guy, and i told him last night, and he told me he liked me back. But i have never had a boyfriend. What happens now? ~X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    I need advice

    Were can I go to read good teenage sex stories on a review?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    To advice 101

    I just started a clan. Now what do i do?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    To advice 101

    Please go to ski result 6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    To Advice 101

    The guy from "help me". I answered your question. Also, can we move it to res 2? Please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3